We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Luss Visitor Centre & Restaurant

Luss Visitor Centre & Restaurant
Luss car park | Luss Car Park, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
01436 860229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 7 Restaurants in Luss
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Our cafe, 'Purdies' is a family run business which started 6 years ago after an accident left my father Gavin disabled! Mother of 4 Denice Purdie has had to support the family and soon turned to the skills acquired from her grandmother, herbalist, Sadie Cunningham. Soon Purdies was created. Starting at home Denice had created Scotland's first organic, body products company here in Argyll. Now a national award winning company, as well as gaining Denice the title of "Scottish entrepreneur of the year" with shops expanding to Oban, Inveraray, Dunoon and an online site www.Purdies.Org which also service's some of Scotland's top rated hotels. Denice has worked closely with her sons and passed down many of her family recipes and skills in both plants and food. Antonio, only 24 years of age, now runs the restaurant here in one of the West of Scotland's busiest tourist destinations. He is passionate about food and goes to great lengths to source only the freshest of ingredients but that's not enough! He looks for a quality which resembles his family ethos, a pride in quality, attention to detail, local production and a care for the surrounding area, companies who employ locals so they can sustain a living close to their own family ties. It was this ethos which won his mother so much credit and to which Antonio is proud to retain.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Last Tuesday we were going cycling to Tarbet and needed change for the car park, when we asked if they could give us change we were informed that we need to buy something, we explained that we had already bought a coffee and were sitting outside but the still refused to give us change. Terrible customer service, definitely not welcoming.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadenice, Owner at Luss Visitor Centre & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Carol,
I am so sorry you feel let down by us, we do have a policy not to open the Epos till unless during a transaction, this is for management security. So the staff would have not have been in a position to assist you here with change, that said we do often try to give change when we can. The problem is we dont always have very much change to offer as we are right beside the car park our change is depleted very fast with stranded customers needing to get change. The nearest Bank is 10 miles away, and we only get 1 visit per week with the Mobile Bank. Again i do apologise if you have felt let down by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    0
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thoroughly relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Have been a few times in various circumstances and have enjoyed great service to go with my tea and cake. Staff clearly have a good understanding of when and if people want to be chatted to or not. So whether you're after a quiet cuppa or a wee bit of a chat with a beautiful view, definitely worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbartonshire, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I live fairly close to Luss so I tend to visit the village regularly all year round for a walk and to admire the beautiful Loch Lomond. My Mum and I hadn't been into Purdie's before so decided to try it out a few weeks ago. Service was very friendly and there was a nice relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant. We didn't have a full lunch, just a slice of cake and a coffee but we very much enjoyed our experience and will recommend to others. There was plenty of space for us to sit with a pushchair too so I would definitely recommend this as a suitable restaurant for families.

Only slight negative was the lack of menu choices on offer if we had been visiting for a full lunch - we feel the other cafes in Luss are currently offering a much wider range of small/large dishes but perhaps the menu will increase once the busy summer tourist season starts?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best cakes in loch lomond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great coffee and home made cakes to die for, friendly man serving. Went with my coac tour, tried myself before recommending. Will definitely visit again

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Lancs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The waiter asked for our order before we sat down. We asked for a menu but were told they were only serving soup and basic sandwiches and cake. We ordered chicken and rice soup. The waiter brought us two bowls of what looked and tasted like warm water and rice. I had one small piece of chicken in my bowl. It was served with supermarket sliced brown bread. It was disgusting! We couldn't eat it. When we spoke to the waitress she apologised and asked if there was anything else she could get us but they weren't serving anything else hot so we left very disappointed and hungry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luss Visitor Centre & Restaurant also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Luss Visitor Centre & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luss Visitor Centre & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.