We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Soup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coach House Coffee Shop

Coach House Coffee Shop
Loch Lomond Trading Company Limited, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8NN, Scotland
01436 860341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Luss
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Took a little trip to Luss/Loch Lomond and decided to go here for a wee bit of lunch. A lovely warm welcome, the place was quite busy as it was during the Easter break but we managed to get a table straight away and were served quickly too by lovely waiters. We weren't too hungry so decided to just go for the soup and I'm not a great lover of soup but this had to be the best I have ever tasted which was also a very hearty sized portion. Probably a place tourists will love and has it's own little gift shop too. Pricey but the food is worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    66
    13
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Soup to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I don't know why this place doesn't always get 5 stars as I've eaten here a number of times and the food and staff have always been excellent.

My advice is to go for the homemade soup followed by coffee/tea and a piece of any of the wonderful cakes. Definitely a winning combination!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best cream tea ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Traditional tea room with Scottish decor and waiters in kilts. Serves light lunches, morning coffee and afternoon tea. Not sure if they have cream tea in Scotland, the waiter looked confused when I asked for one, but they had scone with jam and cream on the menu, with pot of tea separate. It was a huge scone, obviously homemade, the jam, raspberry also tasted homemade, plus proper cream, not squirty. All the cakes on offer looked amazing, lemon drizzle, whisky fruit cake. Definitely worth a stop and Luss is very picturesque too. It's also a les routieres establishment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits you in Luss.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We went with our daughter and 14 month old grandson and the waiter quickly brought a highchair, we immediately felt very welcome. When we looked around there were several other families with young children being well catered for. This establishment is situated 2 minutes from "the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond" and 5 minutes from a large public car park and also a few minutes drive from the main road from Glasgow to the north west. There is a good choice on the menu from snacks to full meals with prices you would expect in a tourist hot spot. There was a distinctive Scottish theme without being over the top.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I particularly liked the tartan dishes & the food was so filling & tasty. We had to wait about 20 minutes for a table but it was well worth the wait. Service was very pleasant. There was no dislikes at all.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach House Coffee Shop also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Coach House Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach House Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.