We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Rest

The Village Rest
Pier Road | Alderdale Cottage, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8NY, Scotland
+44 1436 860220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Luss
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Bakery, Scottish, Bistro, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Great food in a great location - that is what The Village Rest is all about. Always comfortable and friendly, you can be assured of a great time whether you're just in for a cup of coffee and a cake, or a large meal.Our varied and well balanced menu changes regularly and is in season and the food always fresh. We aspire to serve delicious homemade dishes with locally sourced produce. Our atmosphere is relaxed with an eclectic interior. The Village Rest is casual enough for lunch or tea, and yet formal enough for special occasions.In the perfect village of Luss, The Village Rest is ideally placed for enjoying Loch Lomond and the scenery of the national park. Arguably Scotland's most beautiful loch, Loch Lomond is also one of the largest. There is huge variety too, between the gentle sweeping farmland of the southern edge to the rugged highland shores of the north. Luss is positioned on the edge of the Highlands and has great views across to the islands and mountains of Loch Lomond.Luss is connected to central Scotland by the A82, a good quality fast road, with driving times of less than an hour from central Glasgow.
Aberfoyle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We came here for Mothers Day lunch. The restaurant and staff were very welcoming. We had the two course menu, the choices were either starter and main course, or main course and dessert. There was plenty options on the menu to suit all tastes. The food was fresh, well cooked and nicely presented. The lemon meringue cheesecake was gorgeous!!!.
The restaurant had been refurbished since we had last visited, to a high standard. They have put in some booths, which give a degree of privacy.
The staff are efficient,polite and friendly.
We will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    98
    38
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Thought this was a wee traditional pub we where going into. Once we got over the surprise of seing a bueatiful cosy wee restaurant., we sat down and ordered. The service was prompt and very polite. Given some good advice from the menu. The food itself was delicious. The haggis pakora with spiced onions for a starter is a must. Reasonably priced, with good sized portions. Would definately recommend this wee place if you are in the area

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great scones pity about the latte !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was my first visit in over four years. The home baking, particularly the scones were so very tasty but the coffee! Requested two decaf lattes which were cold and undrinakable as they were sooooo strong. Returned them and asked for fresh ones which I noticed were made with instant coffee, don't have a problem with that. However, I would suggest that staff take lessons in how to prepare and make a latte.

Also, at £9.80 a bit pricy, as these are prices I would expect to pay in a city centre coffee shop

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food. Family & dog friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Worth the visit for the Cullen Skink, a lovely smoked fish soup.
Didn't find many places on our trip that would let dogs in, so that was a big thumbs up when we needed warming up on a cold winters day.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 255 cities Reviews in 255 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“An Excellent Place for Lunch when visiting Loch Lomond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The day we visited Loch Lomond the weather was anything but inviting, so a nice lunch in pleasant surroundings would make up for it. Our hosts knew the Village Rest and it was a good choice, with a big bowl of soup, ham or egg rolls, rounded off with gigantic scones (best shared between two). Not cheap, but inviting with its young kilted head waiter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Rest also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Village Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.