We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest, no nonsense value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village to your Saves list
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Honest, no nonsense value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

Yes it is not Gleneagles but then again they didn't charge us £400 per night. We got a 4 night stay for 4 for about £250 in decent accommodation in a fantastic location. In that context I found Drimsynie to be very good.

Lochgoilhead is a really special location although, yes, the rain was never far away. Our accommodation was good, we were in an Eagle lodge and we found it very well equipped and had no quibbles other than the DVD player was dodgy. The housekeeping was of a very good standard.

The pool is fine. It is poorly lit and that doesn't promote a good first impression. There is some maintenace and upgrading required but nothing that a couple of grand would not fix. We ate in their restaurant once and it was good as well. All in all I'm going back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    127
    57
    36
    22
See reviews for
201
77
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Before submitting my review, I read the most recent and have to agree with the majority.
6 of us (adults) and our 2 large dogs stayed in the 3 bed Lapwing lodge for 4 days. I cant complain about the lodge at all. All the rooms were spotlessly clean and we never felt squashed in. 2 rooms had en-suites which was a bonus with 6 of us! Lodge had cooker, fridge & microwave. Take all your food with you before you arrive as we had as the Cost Cutter shop on site is overpriced.
We ate in hotel "Greens" restaurant on our 2nd nite and it couldn't be faulted. All local produce including freshly caught fish, venison & delicious starters. Puddings were a let down though (frozen, not fresh).
3rd nite we got takeaway from hotel and their definition of curry's were ping ping meals. Not to be recommended. 4 of our party used pool facilities, but did say they lacked in hygiene and needed some updating in the changing facilities.
All in all, we had a great time and this site is in an ideal location with some breathtaking views. There are some nice walks about, including a 3km circular one if you have your pet with you.

  • Liked — Stunning surroundings & spacious lodges
  • Disliked — Nothing is for free - charge you for everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I absolutely loved my stay at Drimsynie and Lochgoilhead. I enjoyed all the facilities and leisure areas around Drimsynie. I enjoyed Jumping Jacks play area. The badminton was the best. The night entertainment would get a 10/10 from me because of the amount of fun everybody had. This will be a holiday to remember until the end of my days.

  • Liked — The tidy and well kept rooms
  • Disliked — The amount of bedrooms.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

With a great deal of modernisation, this place could be a gem. The location is gorgeous but its stuck in a 1980's timewarp, from the furnishings in the lodge to the facilities on site. We never bothered with the swimming pool etc, it looked dreadful and we didnt fancy our chances of escaping without some sort of water borne disease. The lodges look good from the outside but once inside are not only shabby but the standard of cleanliness is questionable, we even had to ask for the lodge to be recleaned once we arrived!! The cracked tiles in the bathroom and stained carpets and furnshings really dont make you want to spend much quality time in the lodge. We didnt eat on site, the smell of deep fried food put us off somewhat, however there's a nice restaurant bar in the village called The Shore Inn which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

I' d just like to echo what other visitors have been saying. This park is OK but no better than that. Its really like a 1970s Center Parcs & is very tired & in need of a major refurbishment. The scenery is lovely but the lodges & facilities are just so so. Our Osprey Lodge appeared roomy & comfortable but after living there for 5 days my gripes included hopelessly inadequate fridge facilites for 6 people - food was not kept cold, oven/grill worked intermittently & if you pulled the door open too hard the oven came out of its housing. The put me up bed in the lounge kept collapsing & there was limited hot water after 3 people showered. The worst thing was the swimming pool area. I just felt is was dark & dingy & appeared dirty. The ladies changing room was grubby, the walk up the stairs from the changing room to the pool was dimly lit & the pool area itself was dark. I've been to Center Parcs several times with its light airy pool & exotic plants & the Drimsynie pool just felt like it was stuck in a time warp. I don't want to be too negative but as I type I'm struggling to think of anything really good to say about the place. The best I can manage is so so & we wouldn't hurry back.

  • Liked — Generous en suite in master bedroon
  • Disliked — faulty equipment in lodge, awful pool facilities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

The Drimsynie Estate is, on the whole, well planned and laid out. The golf course is beautifully maintained; the stream at the back of the Lapwings is a reminder of the natural water rivulets that cascade down from the adjacent hill. The golf course and beach walk to Lochgoilhead village is gorgeous.

That said, Drimsynie Estate park has little else going for it, if you're seeking quality accomodation in a park full of facilities for beckoning children, with plenty of space to run around in.

Our Lapwing lodge was located 6 yards from the aformentioned stream. As described in the brochure, the stream was not fenced; however, the drop from ground level at our lodge (no.8) was around 6 feet. In addition to this, the overnight rain meant that by morning, our gentle mountain stream had turned into a raging torrent of water. Suffice it to say, we did not let the kids (1 x 5yrs, 2 x 2yrs) out alone, which caused problems in the lodge because they just wanted to run around on their own.

The lodge itself was very basic, and in need of modernisation. Be prepared to bring remote control batteries, as these had been removed by previous occupants, but not replaced by Drimsynie. The TV stand collapsed when we went anywhere near it; there were countless spiders, moths and bugs all around the top of the lodge walls. The only way of cooling the lodge was to open the windows, and this meant lots of new bug squatters every morning.

The fridge was tiny and impractical for 3 adults and 3 children. Bedroom areas were OK but had nowhere near enough storage space for a weeks-worth of luggage; hence, we had clothes piled up on the dressing table and on the floor of the (one per room, and small) wardrobe.

Hot water seemed to be rationed and by the evening, was non-existant. We got about 3 showers done before it turned cold.

The entertainment centre was pretty limited, when compared to what's on offer at the comparably-priced Haven sites. Almost everything incurred an additional charge. I couldn't even knock a table tennis ball about with a 5 year-old who'd clearly never played before without somebody coming over and asking for £2.75! In the corner, a smart little square was marked out with two toy tractors in, with coin slots advertising rides for £1. Unfortunately, both were broken. The toddlers playbarn had a dangerous footstep which my 2 year old fell down at least twice whilst in there. It also had a dangerous metal carpet bracket which was broken part of the way along, leaving a sharp metal corner sticking out. Thankfully, none of our kids had an injury on it. Overall, the barn was boiling hot with no means of cooling, other than opening a fire escape at the far end. You couldn't spend more than 20 mins without breaking into a sweat just by being in there.

The food was crap. Everything deep fried, and swimming in grease. The beer was good, but pricey - £3.05 for a pint of Kronenberg. Captive audience, clearly.

The grounds were beautiful and well maintained; however, there was no decent sized patch of grass to kick a ball about on, as the grounds were hilly and covered in lodges. The only place was the golf course which clearly couldn;t be used, As such, the football I took never saw the light of day!

All in all, a disapointing experience, and for the money we paid, we expected a whole lot more. Pray you don;t get rain, because if you do, you;ll be bored to tears!

  • Liked — Leaving it!
  • Disliked — Small wardrobes; feeling of cabin fever; bugs; crap equipment; poor lighting; not homely enough
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

We arranged to have a three day break at a two bed lodge which was modern and comfortable and with two kids, had plenty of space and mod cons. Also had en suite bathroom.... Very nice

The site itself is very well maintained and a real credit to the grounds staff. The scenery is fantastic and the drive from the main A road to the site is breathtaking. Nice walks on site also which our kids really enjoyed.

The site also has a small shop and when i went, the guy who runs it was very helpful and pleasant.

All was well until we went to the main hotel itself. I think there must be a regional shortage of light bulbs, because a fair amount were out and with the black decor in the leisure centre cafe/bar it felt like a 70's nightclub. The place was boiling with no a/c and the a number of staff had issues with the english language. The food was greazy spoon fair, fairly pricey and not that great, mostly consisted of chips and anything else that could be fried or grilled.

The staff were not that pleasant and they really looked and acted like they didnt want to be there. The play barn is ok to entertain kids on a rainy day but really hot. They seem to ventilate the place by opening the fire exit and with small kids running about this is really not a good idea in case one wanders out....

When we were there a foreign couple wandered in obviously looking for a nice lunch in such a lovely setting. I was honestly embarrased for them when they looked agast at what was on offer.

Really Really Really needs some work done to upgrade these facilities

My overall view is that i would go back but go no where near the horrible leisure centre......

  • Liked — Spectacular Scenery and Nice Accomodation
  • Disliked — Horrible Leisure Centre
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.