We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village to your Saves list
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

After such a good stay when we were here in may we decided on a last minute get away on the 10th aug ! Managed to get a 4 poster room and to our surprise it was the same room as last time ( rm4 ) room was still the same and the views were just as we remembered !! Left our bags in the room and headed for a swim, not many hotels offer the facilities that drimsynie does !! As a guest you get free use of the pool which is a bonus, love the jakuzzi so hot but brilliant to unwind :-) steam room wasn't working but I prefer the sauna which is 1 of the best I've been in with mood lighting !!! After an hour or so we were both relaxed and feeling good. Had a meal in the Rob Roy which was lovely as usual with big portions !!! We were well looked after throughout our stay again from the well mannered bar staff to the girls serving the food and the girls who looked after us at breakfast which I have to say was a tasty treat !! Don't understand why people moan about this place they must be really really fussy !!!!! Stunning views with plenty of good facilities to keep adults or kids occupied !! As I said in my last review can't wait till the 12th sep and our next visit staying this time in an eagle hot tub lodge !! Cheers again to all the staff :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

I thank you again for your positive feedback as we strive to offer to all of our guests very high standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Drimsynie Estate holiday Village and in the mean while if there is anything which you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 44 1301 703 344 or reception@drimsynie.co.uk

Many thanks

Awaiz Adil
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    127
    57
    36
    22
See reviews for
201
77
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in an Osprey Premier lodge for 2 nights. The lodge was lovely, it had a stunning view and was situated next to the hotel/leisure facilities and the children's outdoor play area. The lodge was clean and well equipped. I agree with other comments that the swimming pool should be included in the holiday cost, although only being there for 2 nights it didn't really affect us. My daughter and husband did the snorkelling course and pool access was included with that. The food in the Rob Roy Restaurant was your average pub food but nice enough. I agree with other comments that all you can smell is cooking oil, perhaps something could be done regarding the ventilation. The site itself was well laid out and well kept. I would certainly recommend it for a relaxing break in a stunning part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

I have made a note of all your comments including your concern with ventilation and I can assure you that we are looking into this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Drimsynie Estate holiday Village and in the mean while if there is anything which you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 44 1301 703344 or reception@drimsynie.co.uk

Many thanks

Awaiz Adil
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in osprey 17, views are stunning and lodge is lovely although a bit tired in places and cleaning standards in bathrooms are not great. The drains smell awful. . The decking area is unsafe and is badly in need of repair. The double bed is SO uncomfortable, it is all lumps and bumps and makes for the worst sleep you will ever experience. The mattress is covered in stains, its disgusting. Paying over £650 the least I expect is a comfortable and clean bed. Because we were taking my daughter and two grandchildren on a weeks break I paid an extra £140 for the Rover pass which I think is a huge waste of money as you have to pay extra for every activity that is on site. Usually when you pay to stay in accommodation which has pool facility the pool is free but not here! Soft play area is good for children under eight but nothing much for over eights to do on Rover pass. The children's entertainment staff who run the get lively programme are very good,kids love them. The play area is full of gaming machines which should be in an adult only area. Some staff are friendly but a lot of them were grumpy and ignored guests. Food is very average and smells of old vegetable oil ! Shop advertised open 8 to 8 in welcome pack but it closed at 5pm every night. In my opinion what is a beautiful site and location is being ruined by greed. Every single thing is money money and more money and I agree with a previous comment that it feels like a boozy poor man's butlins with extortionate costs. It is very disappointing and my family and I won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Head of Marketing at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village.
I am disappointed to read, that we were not able to meet your expectations.
Our leisure facilities are enjoyed by many guests and we feel that the Rover Pass offers great value for money as it allows continual use of crazy golf, badminton, table tennis, golf, snooker, bowling (and of course swimming).
We are focused on improving the guest experience and aim to make every stay at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village a great one, we will therefore investigate each of your points carefully.
I hope that we can welcome you back to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Lisa Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just got back from staying in one of the lodges, to be fair it was very clean and tidy, however I do feel like being treated like a naughty child ! £20 deposit for towels £30 deposit for room keys then you have to buy a rover pass its constantly plus this plus that from the minute you arrive. As it was busy I don't feel you should pay all that money to be over crowded in a swimming pool.
It really felt like poor mans Butlins in the centre of the resort full of boozed up parents ignoring their children and smokers everywhere.
If you really love a drink all day long and feel happy letting your children run riot this really is the holiday for you.

We won't be back

Room Tip: Go somewhere else or go in school term time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Maureen, thanks for your review of Drimsynie Estate, and sorry that you were disappointed by the visit. Unfortunately we have had to request deposits for towels, room keys and remote controls, as items were being stolen/ misplaced or broken. This is highlighted on our website though, and the majority of the time the full deposit is returned with no issues. We have a decent sized swimming pool, which is rarely overcrowded but occasionally when weather is poor, it gets busier than normal. We encourage parents to stay with their children at all times, and keep smoking to designated areas; unfortunately this isn't always possible to enforce. Sorry to hear that you won't be returning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My other half and I decided to try and book a late small break for ourselves and our 2 year old. The staff were very helpful and accomodating in finding us something to suit our needs. We had previously stayed in one of the osprey lodges which were great but had booked into the hotel as short notice. The hotel room had plenty of room for the 3 of us and was comfy enough with everything we needed. The facillities on site meant there was plenty for us to do and our 2 year old loved the discos/entertainment at night. The staff were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed and always made a fuss of our wee one. we ate in the bar area and the food was good although there wasnt as much choice on the menu as we would have liked. Overall we really enjoyed our small break in lovely surroundings and all the staff really helped with that. will definately be back again.

Room Tip: If staying more than 2 or 3 nights would recommend a lodge or caravan but if only staying a night or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate; we're delighted you enjoyed your stay! Unfortunately due to kitchen size and demand, we have a slightly reduced menu during peak periods to ensure faster service, though we are renovating later this year. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

we stayed in an eagle comfort for a week at the end of july. the lodge was large enough and had everything we would need for our holiday there. the scenery around the area was breathtaking. all the staff were really friendly that we talked to, especially the big built chap who served our meal who's name I didn't take. the staff were quick and efficient with everything that we asked of them. the park all in all is really well kept, the golf course is a neat little 9 holer, the pool area was well maintained, the food is served hot and on time. maybe there could be a wider range of selections on the menu. the bar prices I suppose were slightly above average eg. Guinness £4.30 a pint and the costcutter shop trading a wee bit at over inflated prices. we'd love to come back here someday. don't forget to take your mozzy repellent if you go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Drimsynie Estate, and glad you enjoyed your time here. Our prices are comparable to that of similar establishments, but understand it can be quite pricey sometimes if you're buying for a whole family. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is set in a fantsatic location, surrounded by stunning scenery and natural beauty. It feels like a remote Highland spot although only 90 mins drive from Glasgow City Centre. The facilities are family freindly, the staff are excellent - polite,friendly and hardworking, nothing was a problem for them. The food was of high standard and every meal arrived hot and freshly prepared. The room was clean (I think) and beds were comfortable. So, where is the 'but'....well, many (not all) family parties seemend to be there to get drunk and let the kids run wild which is sad as there is so much more to do than sit around in your best clothes getting drunk in such a beautiful place. The Scottish drinking culture is quite frankly, repulsive and we are setting our children a bad example for their own future. Oh, and the family room had no windows, so unable to enjoy the early morning view of the Loch - that really was disappointing. Please make sure you check if you want a room with a window!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi there, thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate. We will pass on your excellent comments about the staff; we do focus a lot on customer service so this compliment is much appreciated. Our rooms are advertised visibly on the website on whether they have a window or not, so suspect you have possibly booked through a third-party, who we are constantly making aware of these issued. We don't encourage adults to leave their children, and we also encourage responsible drinking, but unfortunately this problem is outwith our control. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.