We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village to your Saves list
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Been here several times now staying in the lodges.The lodges are really good and the facilities are excellent you buy a rover pass which allows everyone in your lodge access to the leisure centre - swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym, didn't use the gym but the rest were very good,also gives you access to the kids ball pit and soft play climbing frame badminton table tennis and loads of other stuff to keep kids going.the pass also gets you on to the nine hole golf course although not a golfer the golfers in our group were happy with it.The pass cost £75 for the week for everyone in your lodge(6 of us).would recommend to families especially.Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi John, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted you had another great stay with us and took full advantage of our value for money Rover Pass. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. In the meantime, be sure to Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook to keep up to date with all of our news and special offers. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    139
    64
    38
    24
See reviews for
218
86
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location, easy drive from Glasgow and like many other places in Scotland, truly spectacular landscape! Not yet sure if I'd go back.
We booked a Premier caravan, but when we checked in were given keys to what appeared to be a Comfort Plus. I did return the keys to Reception and was offered to view another caravan. This second one was more like what I had expected from the website, BUT the shower was broken, walls had been punched in and a door was off its hinges and lying on top of the sofa. We returned to reception again and I explained that the caravan seemed to be a Premier van but was clearly in need of repair, we were then made aware that we should never have been offered this van and moved to a third caravan - finally settled. I just wish they had checked us into this one in the first place rather than had all the inconvenience.
We enjoyed the scenery and walks - even in the rain! We didn't really enjoy the facilities on site, no disrespect but just too many kids around for my taste, would have liked to have had a few more options to have space away from so many children.
Finally, food. I really wouldn't advise anyone to eat here. On the one night we did eat here, two plates of food were sent back as the food was cold and my husband didn't finish his fish as there were just too many bones in it.
I might go back but will have different expectations.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi there, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Drimsynie. We're really sorry to read of the issues you experienced upon check-in and the issues with your meals in our restaurant. I understand how inconvenient this must have been, and can only apologise and assure you that your comments will be passed on to ensure these remain isolated incidents. We do hope you'll give us another chance and come back and visit us again in the future. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here twice in recent months and found the lodges to be of a good standard, clean and well equipped in a fantastic/adorable location. However if you plan to use the restaurant located in the hotel think twice as the standard of service is somewhat abysmal. Always made to feel like an inconvenience to the miserable manager (despite the place being very quiet!) and incorrectly over-charged for EVERY meal (some going for a party of 20+) too much of a coincidence if you ask me!! Also found the entertainment poor/annoying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello, thanks for taking the time to review your recent stays with us. We're pleased that you found your accommodation to be of a high standard, but are disappointed to read of the issues which you experienced in our restaurant. I will pass your comments on to the relevant bodies so as to ensure these remain as isolated incidents. Sorry for any inconvenience caused and we hope you'll come back and see us again in the future. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Spent the last week there with a bunch of colleagues. The lodges were great - we had a Lapwing and it was very well kitted out although shame previous users were smokers.

Would not recommend the hotel bar to eat in as whilst the staff are friendly there was not one night in our five day stay when one of us got a wrong bill - always over charging never under. Food is mediocre but I guess ok with a limited menu. The manager comes across as very odd and on one evening took a huge amount of coaxing to move a table for some additional colleagues to join us for dinner - bizarre behaviour when all they wanted to do was buy some food and in exchange give them some money! It is also the only place I've ever eaten where they came round mid meal with the card reader expecting payment mid mouthful - trust issues maybe?!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your feedback of your recent visit. We're glad to see you enjoyed your accommodation, but sorry to hear of the issues you experienced in the restaurant. We pride ourselves on offering our guests excellent customer service and are disappointed to read that on this occasion you did not experience this. I'll make sure your feedback is passed on and I apologise for the inconvenience. We do hope you'll come back and visit us in the future and let us show you that this was an isolated incident. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Kids off school for two "in service" days so we decided to take a long weekend break to Argyllshire (never been before). Party of 5, from 75 years old down to 12, in a 3 bedroom Lapwing lodge.

Beautiful area, lodge location superb looking over a lovely stream just behind. A short (5 minute) walk to the loch from the lodge. Accommodation spotlessly clean, modern and warm - everything had been thought of down to corkscrew and cheese grater. No complaints at all.

The indoor pool was great - we had it more or less to ourselves most days (November visit). The photos don't do it justice, it was really nice and much bigger than they make it look.

Staff were efficient and friendly enough.

If I had to find things to complain about I would say that the reception staff weren't particularly bubbly or welcoming, just efficient - it's been a long season I guess. Also, the walk from reception to lapwing lodge is very dark at night and across the car park and main road in and out, so with kids it's a bit difficult when a car appears and you can't quite work out where it is heading.

Also I was a bit surprised that the pool was not included and there was an extra charge - roughly £2 a day each on a 3 day pass so not a massive expense but one they could just add to the booking cost perhaps?

But I'm working hard to cobble those minor negatives together - we loved the lodge, the Estate and the area. Definitely couldn't give less than 5 out of 5 overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hiya, thanks for your kind review of your visit to Drimsynie! Your comments have been passed on, and we appreciate the feedback. But we're delighted you enjoyed your stay overall and hope you'll be back to see us in the near future. Be sure to Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook so you can be kept up to date on all of our exciting news and special offers. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunblane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

just returned from 4night break, paid for top of the range premier caravan, think we were given a comfort plus, no coffee table, had to use upturned wastebin as table, went to reception to enquire about property standard, but staff were unhelpful, thought this was funny and made comments about at least we had a tv, we have been to lots of holiday parks always in top of range models and this certainly did not compare, pictures on website almost seems like false advertising as nothing resembled the riverside 8 pitch we were in,our other gripe was we asked at reception where the nearest shops were and were advised to go to dunoon or dumbarton but we discovered next day there was a co-op in inverary only 15miles away instead of over 30mls,poor value for the £177 and intend to write to them directly, much better value for money elsewhere and more accurate descriptions/pictures on other holiday park websites

Room Tip: better value available, we,d recommend aucenlarie at castle douglas, also the last 5 or 6mls of road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hiya, thank you for your feedback of your visit. Sorry that our reception team did not assist in a professional manner. We will speak with the reception manager and ensure that it doesn’t happen again. We have many satisfied customers who stay in our premier range caravans (none of which have a coffee table) and I am sorry that it did not suit your requirements. If you return, why not try our one of our comfortable lodges – for a real home from home experience. Thanks again for your comments and we hope you'll give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent 4 days in early October staying in Eagle Comfort Plus lodge. The facilities in the lodge were excellent with spacious lounge area, kitchen and dining area. The upstair bedrooms were well equiped with spacious en suite bathrooms. It also has a shower room / toilet downstars. We were really surprised, better than expected.
Purchased a Rover Pass for £75 which allows free access to all the facilities including golf, indoor bowling, swimming pool, ice skating, mini golf, snooker, badminton, table tennis and soft play area with no additional extras. The weather was great so didn't take full advantage of the Rover Pass, but with 4 adults and an infant it was good value.
The food in the leisure centre was good and at reasonable prices although found the drinks a bit pricey. Entertainment in the evening was limited although it was midweek. The staff were very helpful & friendly especially at reception. Had no problem getting access to the activities, never needed to book.
The scenery looking over the loch and surrounding hills was stunning. It is very peaceful and ideal if you enjoy walking or you just want to chill out. The Lochgoil Hotel is worth a visit with it's log fire and fine food although suggest you take a torch as the path is extremely dark at night.
If you plan to visit from England you will be astounded by the scenery on the road from Glasgow travelling along Loch Lomondside, up the Rest and be Thankful then down the single track road to Lochgoilhead, a treat in itself.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and will return again soon

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi there! Thank for for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted to read that you had such a good time. We're lucky to be surrounded by such spectacular scenery and we're glad you had good weather so as you could take full advantage! With regards to entertainment we have recently employed a new Entertainment Manager so you can expect more entertainment when you visit again in the future, as well as some fantastic nights of themed entertainment which we have lined up for the coming year! Make sure and Like us on Facebook to keep up to date with all of our exciting news. We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.