We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great self catering stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village to your Saves list
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ayrshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great self catering stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We've stayed quite a few times as Drimsynie and found the lodges not really up to scratch and in need of a refurb so the last twice we've been we stayed in one of the Kingfisher caravans which are first class (see pics attached). They are in a beautiful part of the grounds and ours (Kingfisher Park 5) had enclosed patio from the lounge area which was ideal to keep our dog from escaping. Great kitchen facilities, powerful shower and comfy rooms.
We ate at Shore Inn which I can thoroughly recommend (and who also do takeaway stone baked pizzas).
Used the pool this time which I found to be very testing with an eight month old going myself what with two flights of stairs to maneovour whilst carrying baby and inflatable, but clean so that's the main thing.
Hold out if you can until week before you want to go as they tend to slash offer prices (we got 4 nights for £198).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
customerservice03, Head of Marketing at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Hi,
Thanks for writing such a positive review of our caravans. Just to let you know that our lodges are being refurbished for 2012 and we will be having Comfort, Comfort Plus and Premier Lodges with Hot Tubs, so please try them again in the future.
I hope you tried our restaurant too as we have a great meal deal offer and are menus are designed by a top chef, so the quality is great.
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    127
    57
    36
    22
See reviews for
201
77
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend in one of the caravans with three bedrooms. We had previously stayed last year and booked a three bedroom caravan which was very spacious and just took it for granted they were all the same style as this year our daughter was sleeping in a cot but our caravan was smaller. The only place we were able to put up the cot was the dining area which wasn't ideal so if you are booking with a baby double check with reservations the space. The caravans are spotless !

We bought the Rovers Pass again this year which is good value for money as there were six of us we used the swimming pool, golf and soft play area. The soft play / games room could do with a revamp as l was quite suprised the toys were in poor condition especially in the baby area - handles on rockers broken.

The staff in the hotel are friendly and food prices are reasonable and they have a good menu to suit all tastes. One evening we did return to a resturant we visited last year in the villiage The Shore Inn which l would highly recommend the food is excellent although l would say to book in advance for a table as it was busy but well worth taking a 10 minute walk to!

All in all it was a good weekend. We are looking to try the sister caravan park in Dunoon next year for a change.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
customerservice03, Head of Marketing at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Hello,
I'm a bit confused as all our caravans are 32x12ft, some with slightly varying layouts but all the same size. We will be introducing smaller vans from 2012 at competitive price points but at the moment they are the same. Could you write to me at jenny.mccann@argyllholidays.com and let me know what van you stayed in and I'll look into it?
I'm very glad you found the Rover Pass good value and I'm sending someone down to check out the softplay area today.
You will love Hunters Quay. It is absolutely fantastic for families and we are introducing loads of new activities for you and your little one to try for 2012.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed as a family of 4 and were extremely happy when we checked-in. The room was really large, although with no window, which at first was fine but after 3 days is sends you mad!
The Hotel is a typical family run 'caravan resort' with a Hotel bolted-on and is therefore driven towards making money from the large families staying in the Caravans and Lodges. The Hotel exterior is extremely 'shabby' and seriously needs money spent. In fact, all the facilities are 'tired' and need money spending to bring back to an acceptable standard.

The 'additional' activities are extremely expensive, £14 for a family to indoor bowl for an Hr, £6 to play Table Tennis for 1/2Hr. It was clear that the inflated prices were intended to drive you to pay £75 for a 4 day 'Rover pass'. If I were staying in a caravan or Lodge, then this would be fine, but in the hotel, you get swimming and Golf free as part of you stay, so £75 for 2 nights was thought to be a 'Rip Off'. I asked the manager if ther was a discoiunt if staying in the Hotel and for only 2 nights, but it was basically 'tough' it's £75 or nothing!
The Reception staff are friendly, but didn't have the abilty to deal with any issues presented. The Bar and Resturant staff are great, although the majority are cheap Eastern European labour which fits in with the feeling of 'cheapness for maximum profit' which runs through the resort.
The Fun Hall.............! All I can say is agree a bank loan before you travel. Living near the coast in Eastern England, the average price for an arcade game is 50p, many are now 3 games for a £1 in this tough climate, well not here! Everything arcade game is £1, whether it's a new ish game or something 10 years old. Over the 3 days that we stayed, I saw about a dozen people play the arcade games. Surely its not 'Rocket Science' to understand that if you charge 50p, people will use them more and actually instead of them being sat there inactive, they'd be pulling in money. As a parent i'd be happy to give child money to play when you feel they are getting value.
Overall a potentially fantastic resort if they could drop the penny pinching over expensive activities that come as 'extras' at the resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
customerservice03, Head of Marketing at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Hello,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay here. We take all feedback seriously and will work to address the points you raise.
In terms of the hotel exterior, the park is constantly being refurbished. We have seven other locations in Argyll as well, so you can imagine that it's a full-time job.
The Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village is in line for a major refurbishment for the 2012 season so I hope you will come back next year and have a look.
The Rover Pass is great value for money, even for a 2 night stay it works out at less than £10 per person for your group. You sound like you were here to try all our activities which is great, so this would have been the best option for you all round.
Our valued staff come from all locations around the world and we are very happy to have such a polite and hard-working team. We value them just the same as our staff from the local area and they are not hired for financial reasons.
The arcade is an optional extra which some people choose to visit and others choose to stay away from. Our machines are priced comparitively to other resorts and are much cheaper than theme parks for example.
Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I had e-mailed the estate on the tues looking for any available vacancies for the next fri-mon for any kind of accomodation for myself and my husband we were offered a 3 bedroom lapwing lodge at a great price,which was spotlessly clean and had everything you could need it looked out onto the river and was centrally situated for all the ameniates. The food in the Rob Roy bar was lovely and portions were generous, both lunches and Dinners. The staff were really cheerful and helpfull. Entertainment was good too The duo on the Saturday night made for good listening. We found the bar prices really reasonable comparing to some holiday estates. the village of lochgoilhead was lovely too, we ate in the Shore Inn one night the food was good there too. The scenery around the estate and the village was excellent and the whole place had a calming feel to it I would recommend it highly. The only negative thing I would say is that there was a lovely small adults only bar which never seemed to be opened as it was only myself and my husband we would have used it if it was but we still had a lovely weekend and would love to come back..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The lodge was excellent, views were breathtaking. You do need a reliable car and a good driver to get you there. We had a fabulous time, yes we would go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just returned from a trip to Drimsynie House Hotel, although the hotel is a bit dated, it is full of character, everything was first class our room (room no 5) was great with a four poster bed and looked out over the loch, food was great with plenty to choose from, the location was brilliant and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definately recommend this hotel and would definately return.

Room Tip: Would recommend room number 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We have just got back from a short break (4 nights) from Drimsynie. I booked through Hoseasons as they were slightly cheaper than Argyll Holidays.

Our party included my mum and father in law, my husband, me and two children aged 5 and 1.

We had an Eagle Lodge and it was brill; very spacious, comfortable and clean. There was e plenty of space between each lodge and beautiful views. The only criticism I have of the lodge is that it could have done with a stairgate at the bottom of the stairs and a gate on the veranda to make it baby/toddler-friendly.

The leisure facilities were great and as my review title suggests, there really was something for everyone. We purchased a rover pass at £75. We did ice skating, swimming, golf, mini golf, snooker, bowls and the children enjoyed the soft play area.

I found the staff very professional, especially the Reception staff. Most of them were young but extremely professional and friendly - a real credit to the hotel I thought. Check in was brill. Having had a really bad experience at Haven Holidays we were a bit apprenhensive about this holiday but we needn't have worried.

I would recommend this holiday for families, especially families that enjoy doing lots of activities together.

We ate at Rob Roy cafe most nights. The food was really good but we did have to wait a while for the food to come.

The one thing that I felt could do with a revamp was the soft play are for the toddlers. Quite a few of the toys were broken and the ball pit smelt really mouldy/musty. Also, a lot of the gaming machines were out of order.

Overall a great time had by all. We would be happy to return to this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
customerservice03, Head of Marketing at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village. The Eagle Lodges are great accommodation.
We currently have cots and high chairs for rent but not stairgates. This is something I will look into for the 2012 season.
I will pass on your comments to our reception staff, who will be pleased with such positive feedback.
The softplay area is something we will be looking at for 2012, so bear with us and try it again next year. It's an area that suffers greatly from wear and tear as you can imagine!
We hope your children had the chance to enjoy our kids discos with Rusty the Red Squirrel. We'll be doing lots more kids activities next year, so please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.