We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So that was a Scottish welcome?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Goil Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Goil Inn to your Saves list
The Goil Inn
Main Street, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland (Formerly Lochgoilhead Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Lochgoilhead B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So that was a Scottish welcome?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

As an expatriate Scot I called into 'the Goil' hotel along with my wife and 6 friends during a visit to
Lochgoilhead. It was dreich day anyway but the reception we received was equally so. No Scottish beers on offer either in draught or bottle and the food offering was totally inflexible. Outside and in the entrance there was a takeaway offering 'available everyday' but woe betide if you ask for anything from that list for lunch. It seems the takeaway menu is available only in the evening but nowhere doesn't say that. All I wanted was a black pudding with chips - but seemingly "its not allowed during the day" - I understand the chef threw a wobbly when asked to cook it at lunch time even though I was prepared to pay a lunch menu price for it. Also one of our party ordered scampi which wasn't served with tartare sauce even though the 'fresh' haddock was. Again not allowed, everything has to be accounted for.

The food that was served was ok but no more than that. So if you're looking for a real welcome avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yarm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked the place for 1 night and after sampling the food and drink, the friendliness of the staff and the locals, we are booking for a longer period. The room was very clean the view was fabulous there are plenty of things to do there as well as being in some the most spectacular countryside, I would reccomend it to anyone visiting Scotland

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Had lunch here whilst staying at the Drimsynie Lodges with 2 year old and her parents. The food was good but poor choice of ales.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for a Harley Davidson Rally on 15 - 17th June. Only has 5 rooms, Staff friendly, Well stocked bar, Rooms very basic, but shower quite good, Lovley Loch View ( Room 1 ) ( Twin Room ) Breakfast & Meals Excellent. Pricey but good quality. Bar closed at normal pub times. not late for residents. Stunning palce to stay and explore, good for Hill walkers, or marine activities, Brill wee place.

Room Tip: Room 1 over looking Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed last year, hotel has gone downhill, very worn out look. Expensive for a quite bare bedroom. No hairdryer. Very noisy on friday night due to locals being turned out of pub but sitting outside on patio below bedroom until 1.30pm very drunk. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast just cereals and full english - would have liked some grapefruit, yoghurt etc. Meals in pub good value and tasty. Plus side stunning view across loch

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel have stunning views of loch but very noisy at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We decided to have dinner here one night during our recent stay at Drimsynie. The food was fantastic, my partner described her meal as "the best piece of fish she has ever had" Our 14 month old also devoured her fish cakes and broccoli and almost finished the lot even though it was meant for older kids. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will be back for dinner again next time we go to Drimsynie.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Had a great time lovely location, staff where brilliant and nothing was to much trouble. Food was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goil Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goil Inn

Address: Main Street, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland (Formerly Lochgoilhead Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Goil Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goil Inn Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goil Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.