We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and Beautiful people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochearn House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lochearn House to your Saves list
Lochearn House
Lochearnhead | perthshire, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8NR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Lochearnhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pennslyvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and Beautiful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Lochearn House and we could not have been more pleased! The rooms were very cozy and beautiful and our hosts were delightful. Matthew and Dianne went out of their way to make sure our stay was all we could ask for. They gave you suggestions for day trips and/or places to eat. Matthew is also an incredible cook!!! Breakfast every morning was a treat. We even had a dinner and although it is usually served in early evening we had car trouble and didn't make it "home" until 9pm. Matthew still cooked us dinner, and it was delicious, even though he had to be up early the next morning. The service is second to none and it was very much appreciated! I hope we have a chance to visit again!
Thank you Matt and Di, you made our vacation very special!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the weekend and I can honestly say, it is the best guest house we have stayed in. Matthew and Dianne are a lovely people, made us very welcome; and the minute you walk through the front door there is such a lovely ambience about the property. Very well appointed and the bedrooms are so comfortable. We had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable, attention to detail is very evident throughout.

Breakfast on Sunday morning was a joy. We all had full Scottish breakfast, and there were plates of scones and cupcakes to finish off if you still had room for more. Matthew gave us a little tour of Dianne's workshop where she does the patchwork quilting. Absolutely amazing.

We will definitely return to Lochearn Guest House, thank you so much Matthew & Dianne.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the house have a nice view and are not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this B&B on one of their special 3 night packages with evening meal. We really couldn't find fault with anything - the room (Room 2) was spacious and with a separate small area leading through to the very spacious and well appointed en suite bathroom. Although the property is near the road we didn't hear any traffic noise as the windows are triple glazed and the road is probably quiet at night anyway. But as others have mentioned what makes this guest house exceptional is the food - Matthew is a superb chef and we were treated to food that was perfect in every way - wonderful venison and fish dishes and the accompanying vegetables were always interesting and varied - not just the usual frozen peas and carrots! There is always a choice of starter, main course and dessert followed by cheese and biscuits and tea or coffee. The breakfasts were equally special with a wonderful full Scottish breakfast if you wanted it. Lochearnhead is well situated to go in many different directions with wonderful hill walking if that is what you enjoy doing. Matthew and Diane are wonderful hosts, always cheerful and welcoming. As another reviewer mentioned it's probably a good idea to pick up some wine at a supermarket before arriving - we did and didn't have to look in the local store as a result. I think as one other reviewer mentioned the only problem with staying here is that it makes anywhere else seem second best! A German couple who were staying for 2 nights who had been across Scotland commented that nowhere else had had food anything lke Lochearn House!

Room Tip: Room 2 was very good - we didn't see the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a night while on a walking trip based on the tripadviser reviews. Matthew and Diane were wonderful hosts and really gave us a lovely friendly welcome. Guests have the use of the front of the house with a lovely dining area and a lounge area with super soft sofas. The food was excellent - we would thoroughly recommend the evening meal. A perfect breakfast too. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed here in early January and athough the weather for the journey was awful the welcome at Lochearn House was warm. On arrival we were given tea and homemade pineapple cake(delicious!) and asked to choose our evening meal. The acccommodation was excellent with a generous sized room incorporating a large ensuite and very comfortable bed. The B&B has been very well planned with a lounge and dining area for guests. Everything is immaculate and clean. Matthew and Diane could not have been more helpful. Matthew's cooking skills are outstanding-our venison starter and pheasant breast main course were absolutely delicious. The full Scottish breakfast was cooked to order, piping hot and a great start to the day. The B&B is well situated and provides easy acces to the Trossachs and beyond. All the experience that Matthew and Dianne have had in the hospitality industry has been very well utilised in developing Lochearn House. Although technically a B&B it is more akin to a very good quality country house hotel in its atmosphere and attention to detail. Our stay was an absolute delight.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We arrived wet and cold from cycling: lovely bathrooom, nicely appointed bedroom and after a hot shower, Matthew brought up some carrot cake to go with the tea! We had a good 3- course dinner in the house; perhaps my only quibble was that the cost of £25 per head seemed a little steep - but this was clear in advance. Our tip would be to buy wine for your meal before arriving in Lochearnhead - the shop does not stock it and the pub only stocks over-priced nasty stuff!
The house has a big selection of DVDs and some board games in the event of typical Scottish drizzle (of which we had plenty).

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms - the ones at the front are lighter but closer to the (not very busy) road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We had a fabulous stay with Matthew and Dianne. Their B&B is first class – spacious, clean and warm. The welcome is really warm and welcoming. The food is spectacularly good – cooked breakfast was full of flavour and prepared perfectly. The dinners were really great – very tasty local food, beautifully cooked and served attentively and professionally.

We stayed for 4 nights to do some cycling – making the most of the Callendar to Killin section of National Cycle Route 7. This is virtually all off-road, tarmac paths and forest trails – mostly along the line of the old Callendar to Oban railway.

We also took the steam boat along Loch Katrine with our bikes and then cycled back around the lake – 14 miles (another smooth, tarmac path with virtually no traffic – as it is a private service road).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lochearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochearn House

Address: Lochearnhead | perthshire, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, friendly, comfortable 4 star bed and breakfast with many extras. Reasonably priced and located in the Trossachs and Loch Lomond National Park, which is a truly stunning and quite beautiful natural area.Ideal central base for all the central areas. Also known as the Gateway to the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Lochearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochearn House Lochearnhead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochearn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.