We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killin Highland Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killin Highland Lodges
Aberfeldy Road, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TX , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My friends and I booked Killin Highland Lodges for a 2 night stay in April. There were 8 of us in the Oak Log Cabin.

The service was outstanding and the pictures of the lodge do not do it enough justice. It was lovely. It was a fantastic break away.

Would recommend Killin Highland Lodges for a break for Family, couples and of course friends.

Overall the cabin was clean, comfortable and just what we needed for a break away. Would definatley return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Karly D Thank you for taking the time to report on your breif stay with us. We are delighted that you were so pleased with what we offer and hope to welcome you back on another occasion best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    24
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nothumberland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Would, without hesitation, recommend Killin Highland Lodges to anyone looking for a tranquil, peaceful, getaway. We stayed four nights and visited an arctic wildlife park (the polar bears are amazing), Ben Nevis (have a cable ride) and Loch Katrine. Plenty of places to eat in Killin. The owners, Jim and his son Colin, are super. Nothing is too much effort and they made us feel very welcome. The cabins themselves are gorgeous and immaculately clean. The kitchen is well equipped and beds very comfortable. We stayed in the Alder cabin. Beautiful location and we were lucky enough to still have snow on the peaks.
Very, very happy. We feel rested and relaxed and will definitely be returning. Please visit.....you will not be disappointed !!
Oh and one final thing....Colin's beautiful, chocolate Labrador, Bezy, will leave you wanting one....if you haven't already !!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
MrsH2011 Great to hear that you enjoyed your action packed break with us. There is so much to see and do as you have illustrated We have just fitted new beds and mattresses and clearly they have been appreciated! Our cleaning team will be very pleased at your praise

thank you cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable lodges in a beautiful location for a break in the countryside. Owners are very welcoming and helpful. We had no issues during our stay and would recommend these lodges to anyone. Great value and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Whiskylad So pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself

Hope to see you back sometime in the future

cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay. Fantastic! Colin met us on arrival and was very helpful throughout our stay. Two families shared a four bedroomed cabin. It was spacious and well equipped, it even had a dish washer! The location is excellent for exploring on bike or foot, plenty of munros to climb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Heath 12, Thank you for your very positive comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. The area has many Munros within a 30 minute drive and you obviously enjoyed exploring . Best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Fabulous. 2 families staying in the Oak Lodge. This was exactly what was needed for us. Relaxing, cosy and equiped with everything we needed. We were celebrating a late Christmas (February) and the staff put up a Christmas tree for us..so kind. We have booked up again for next year

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Sandra B We are always delighted to hear that we have exceeded our guests expectations and the "brilliant time" you report suggests that we did with your large party. We look forward to welcoming you again on your return visit in the summer. Best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just returned home after spending 4 days at the lodges to celebrate my sisters 50th & my dads 80th birthday. There were 14 of us and we had a brilliant time, We did'nt arrive until 8.30pm but Jim was still there to greet us and like others before us, he had the lodges nice & warm for our arrival.We visited the Killin Hotel for a celebratory meal for the special occasion which was fab & reasonably priced!!.We look forward to returning in the summer for a long weekend again, although The dochart falls may not look as stunning in the summer months as they did in February. Thanks again Jim!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Sandra B We are delighted that you all enjoyed your few days with us. We look forward to seeing you again when the 90th and 60th birthdays co incide Best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have just returned from spending 4 nights at the Killin Highland Lodges, there was 14 of us spread across an 8 person cabin, a 4 person cabin and a 2 person cabin. We were greeted by Colin, who was very helpful, telling us great places to go for walks with the dog and good local restaurants and pubs. He was very friendly and immediately made us feel relaxed and welcomed. The cabins were all very clean, and suited our needs perfectly. They are great sizes, (we had all 14 of us eating meals in the 8 man cabin), and are very warm and comfortable, with all the necessary appliances and utensils you need. The location is breath taking, with great views across the fields and mountains, it is lovely and quiet yet only minutes away from the local town of Killin. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definately return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Anna R We are pleased that you enjoyed your birthdays party at the lodges and delighted that everything worked out so well d both with us and in the village of Kiillin. We look forward to seeing you all again when you next venture north cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Killin Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Highland Lodges

Address: Aberfeldy Road, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TX , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Killin
Also Known As:
Killin Highland Lodges Scotland - Loch Tay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killin Highland Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Killin Highland Lodges to your Saves list