We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excape from the rat race” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigbuie Guest House

Craigbuie Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigbuie Guest House
Save
You added Craigbuie Guest House to your Saves list
Main Street | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
stockport
1 review
“Excape from the rat race”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

This was our second visit to Craigbuie and on both occasions we had the most fantastic time. We had travel problems this year and did not arrive at the guest house until 10.30 p.m. but Vic and Sue gave us a fantastic welcome. The room was excellent with a lovely view. Everything was provided that you could possibly need. Breakfast was excellent, served by Vic and cooked by Sue. They were always happy to chat to us. One of our party was ill this year and Vic and Sue sorted out a doctor for him and even took him to the surgery. I would recommend that you visit this guest house. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed here for two nights during a driving holiday of Scotland. The owners were friendly and helpful and have done a lot of work in providing information for their guests e.g. local eatery guides and menus, upcoming weather forecasts, local history etc. The pearl barley kedgeree is highly recommended. Killin itself is a very pretty village, (shut your eyes on the way past the ugly primary school in the middle of town) with several lovely walks of varying difficulty. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We were in Killin to get married.
Relatives flew in from all over the world and Vic & Sue were outstanding, even entertaining late night visitors with jet lag!
I have stayed an many 5 star hotels in my travels...but nothing can equal this particular hotel.
If you ask anything of these 2, have no fear..it will be done.
My son and brother- in- law were in 2 other hotels in Killin and wished they had a similar hotel atmosphere and hospitality to the Craigbuie.
I also know that other guests presnt at the time we were there were delighted.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Arrive 30 mins early not welcome to say the least,allowed in got back found note under door shift car,car was parked in space,down for breakfast not a good moring menu thrown down, decided to leave owner very rude to my wife ,had to forcably had him money and said they would sue me for not staying 2nights wanted extra money.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicsetter, owner at Craigbuie Guest House, responded to this review, June 8, 2009
I was sorry that the reviewer had to report the facts incorrectly. They did turn up early and despite this we did let them in to the room. I was unable to see them to ask them to park the car considerately despite the signe asking them to park at right angels to the house so left a note requesting them to move the car. Breakfast was very busy and the only omission on my part was to not say good morning. The menu was not thrown down, that is just a plain lie. After breakfast the wife said they were leaving because I had not said good morning! I pointed out that they had booked 2 nights and signed a card to that effect and so had entered into a contract for 2 nights. Her husband then forced the 1 night payment on me and told me to sue him if I wanted the rest of the money, the opposite of the lie he has written.

We have decided not to pursue the matter and they will not be welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Vic and Sue are warm and welcoming. Their location is great - it's a 19th century house on the end of the main street in Killin. This is within a block and a half of the Falls of Dochart, a beautiful rambling rapids in the center of town. Also within walking distance are several shops and dining options. nearby are a couple site not to miss, like Finlarig Castle Ruins. Within driving distance of Stirling, Callander, even the Trossachs and Loch Lomond.

Vic recommended the Old Flax Mill Carvery for dinner one night, and it was fantastic! You can get up to three courses - cold appetizers (pick and choose a little of each, if you wish), hot carvery meats (including local game), and homemade desserts. Everything was fantastic, including the highland cow in whiskey sauce.

The place was clean, spacious, and the upstairs rooms were all newly renovated. The shower is spacious. One bed in the family room leaned a little, but I fixed that with a blanket under the mattress on one side. There is a bit of a hike upstairs (three stories up) but it was worth it. Breakfasts were standard, and tasty.

  • Liked — Great location, great value
  • Disliked — Three flights of stairs - the last flight has narrower and steeper steps, but we managed.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Vic and Sue have a beautiful ancient stone 3 story home. The room we stayed in was beautiful with sky lites looking out over Killin mountains, newly remodeled room fit for a king. The Scottish breakfast was excellent with a very special meal made by Sue with Vic's request. With out any dought we got very special treatment. You wouldn't get this kind of treatment with the best Hotel in Scotland. Vic is a joker and likes to make you laugh. They made us feel like family with special treats that I should not go into. Ask Vic about his pictures, precious stone picking and 20 year old Scotch single malt. They both are very inteligent and helped with historical questions and our surname research. A great old partial castle still stands with in a short walk with a guided tour by Vic, recounting the be heading pit and hanging tree. I would recommend them even if you have to go out of your way. They will make it worth the effort.

  • Liked — New room decorations
  • Disliked — three stories up
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

Fantastic B&B with newly decorated and kitted rooms. Beds were warm and cosy and the breakfast was great! Staff were friendly and went out of their way to make the stay comfortable. Great access to mountains, Killin life and walks round the loch. Will definitly come back here again!

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — No evening meal
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigbuie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigbuie Guest House

Address: Main Street | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigbuie Guest House is located on Main Street in Killin, Perthshire between the famous Falls of Dochart and Loch Tay and surrounded on three sides by heather clad mountains and on the fourth side by the Loch itself. This large Victorian house in Killin Perthshire, built in 1884 for the Breadalbane Estate Factor, with its eight comfortable bedrooms, provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation and freshly cooked Scottish Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigbuie Guest House Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigbuie Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.