We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best we've stayed in to date.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bank

Save Saved
You added The Old Bank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bank
Manse Road, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UY , Scotland (Formerly Drumfinn Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best we've stayed in to date.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We were visiting relatives in the village with little advance warning. Jenny was marvellous, showing us to a massive double room which was very clean. Breakfast was generous -we didn't eat anything else all day. In fact the only person who doesn't think things are a high enough standard is Jenny herself. Knowing people in the village also gave us an insiders view - and everyone in the village that we spoke to told us we would be well looked after. Jenny deserves this guesthouse to be a success - this is her first season - and we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
30
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here on my Land's End to John O'Groats cycle ride & this was a great B&Bs. Jennie had only taken over the business 6 weeks before I stayed, but she had already made an impact in terms of style & decoration of the place. She was excellent hosts and made me feel very welcome - a cup of tea & biscuits in the lounge when I arrived was much appreciated after a long day's cycling. The room was good, clean & comfortable. Breakfast was very good and there are some great views across to the mountains from the dining room. There are also some interesting features to the property as it used to be a bank. The property is well located with some good eating places nearby and of course the Falls of Dochert, Loch Tay & numerous mountains close by. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beersheba israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Drumfinn is very comfortable. Luckily in the beautiful village of Killin this house can be both centrally located near the breathtaking Falls of Dochert, and also quiet and restful, with its own parking area. The house looks old-style but Jenny,the new owner, has great taste- and cooks tastily too- and the house has been given an internal face-lift; everything seems lighter and softer. The previous owners were great too, which is why i returned- and found Jenny, who is kind, helpful and friendly. Way to go- so go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had a wonderful visit to the Drumfinn Guest House during our walk of the Rob Roy Way. Wonderful hospitality and made our visit to Scotland much more enjoyable. Hope we can visit again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This B&B was great. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast tasty. The location is right across from the Falls of Dochart and it was a great place to start our exploration of the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Fairly dismal room with mould on the bedroom ceiling above the ensuite. Shower needed better cleaning - orange mould in grouting. Breakfast okay but no fresh fruit on first day - just canned fruit. Garden unkempt and steps slippery. Killin itself is beautiful

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I've visited Drumfinn before when the old host ran the place. There hasn't been much change to the place and the hospitality and that really is a good thing.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious, not massive, but it's a guest house and not your own home. Plenty of room for my wife and I to spread out.

Breakfast was excellent, I had the haggis one day but it was too filling so I skipped it for the rest of the trip - but there is enough to keep one going till lunch and beyond.

The hosts were excellent.

I'll be going back again.

Rich

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank

Address: Manse Road, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UY , Scotland (Formerly Drumfinn Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian House, formerly a bank, set in the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park near Loch Tay, Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Old Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bank Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.