We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Christmas Eve fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Killin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Killin Hotel to your Saves list
Killin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Christmas Eve fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent, service was a bit less so, as if the staff couldn't wait to be home for Christmas! Good real ales - it ran out after the first round but they asked us if we minded waiting a few minutes until they changed the barrel - good service indeed. Main course was so vast I had to share my sticky toffee pudding - that doesn't happen very often!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    226
    116
    79
    42
See reviews for
78
363
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our visit at the killin hotel, we had four room, two four poster rooms a king room and a double. All were excellent rooms and very welcoming. We had the kingbed room 27. Lovely views over the river and to the front of the hotel. Little sitting area also with a small sofa and a armchair. Tv and bathroom was more than adequate.

On check in, Michael was very helpful couldn't do enough for us! Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.

Our first night we ate at the hotel, a three course dinner, all was very good! The little bar area was perfect for a after dinner drink next to the fire! The second night we ate at a lovely little restaurant called the smiddy. Just along beside the falls of dochart. About a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Its a must in Killin!

Breakfast both mornings was excellent. Lots of choice, cereal, yogurt, porrage, juices, and brown and white toast. Then a full cooked Scottish breakfast.

Overall we had a lovely family break and will return in the summer!

Thanks to the killin hotel

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

It's always the people that make it work. The hotel is a traditional hotel set in a typically beautiful Scottish setting. The amount I paid for the hotel and breakfast was so low I kept double checking it! The manager on reception was very welcoming and it's rare to find anyone these days in the typical hotel chains that can build genuine rapport! He was very welcoming and capable! Breakfast on the morning was another great interaction - lovely full Scottish breakfast, great service.

I make the journey to fort William every year and will be staying at he Killin hotel going forward.

Thank you for making me feel so welcome :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinl, Manager at Killin Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback! we aim to provide the best customer service possible to ensure you feel welcome and at home. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return. Stay tuned to our face book page for exclusive offers in the New Year!

We hope to see you again in the New Year and wish you safe and happy holidays!

Kind Regards,

Sarah and the Killin hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Walking in Killin went into hotel for lunch there were 33 of us the staff were very helpful.The food was of a really good standard with not 1 complaint from any of our group .Michael from the reception kindly let us view some of the hotel rooms as a few of us were thinking of making a weekend visit very pleased with the rooms.We shall be booking for a weekend in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinl, Manager at Killin Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Maureen,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look foward to your return. Stay tuned to our face book page for exclusive offers in the New Year!

We hope to see you again in the New Year and wish you safe and happy holidays!

Kind Regards,

Sarah and the Killin hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the hotel and we were very very pleased with the friendliness of the staff,in particular Andrew the maintenance man, Sarah the receptionist and I think her name was Carol in the kitchen /dining room. Lovely people. We arrived mid week and booked through Groupon I was expecting a side room but Sarah organised Room 19 which overlooked the river and mountains at the side of the hotel and the boat moorings.The room was was warm, clean and very spacious. |The hotel was explored and found within was a large dining room, a small and cosy bar with a real log burning fire , a conservatory overlooking the river/mountains and a small welcome room near the foyer. The bar was a real find as we sat down there for both evenings mixing with the locals and guests alike. Many thanks to Andrew for some great company discussing South Africa and mutual interests.A real gent and wonderful with all the guests.
The hotel is well situated near to local points of interest.mountains and walks .During our stay a very violent storm caused an overnight power cut but the staff were calm, caring and professional. Sarah,in particular was excellent with supplying candles and Sarah ,I do not know how,organised a hot breakfast in the morning.
The hotel is an absolute gem and we intend to go back.Also check out the evening meals : we had the Lamb shank and one of the best pieces of lamb I have ever tasted,well presented,delicious and have your meal in the bar beside the open fire.You are in Scotland !!!
If you want a quiet ,private well cared for stay in the Highlands please visit the Killin Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the side facing the river,very quiet and wonderful views .We were in room 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinl, Manager at Killin Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Mr & Mrs Morton,

I am so glad (despite the obvious weather upset) you enjoyed your stay! We truly appreciate your understanding in hard and unexpected conditions like this. Thank you so much for your kind feedback this will be passed on!

We hope to see you again in the New Year and wish you a safe a happy new year!

Kind Regards,

Sarah and the Killin hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on a stop over trip to the Islands and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
We spent the afternoon sitting outside with a glass of wine ( or two ! ) before having dinner in the lovely Conservatory and another drink in the bar later in the evening.
The food was delicious and an excellent wine list to match.
we had booked 2 rooms - myself in the double with our dog ! Not the largest room in the world and glad I had only the dog to trip over as I tried to get round the bed but didn't pay a lot and wasn't there to sit in a room so not a problem.
My only complaint as such was the two waitresses at breakfast the next morning , whilst we had met one the day before who was absolutely lovely the other who I think may have been local just wasn't pleasant. This has stayed in my mind for a few months since we stayed.
Nothing has put us off though and again have booked one night stop over on the way home for Christmas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerKillin, Owner at Killin Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Fiona.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and your glass(es!) of wine admiring the fabulous views of the Tarmachan mountain range from outside the conservatory.
We look forward to seeing you nearer Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and took the dog which isn't a problem here. As I e mailed the hotel and said I didn't like the room they gave us last time (a Groupon deal) they replied with a good offer of a family room - only 2 of us but no twin rooms available as busy that weekend. On the 3rd floor with lovely views over the river to the hills beyond. Only gripe was the shower room which is very small and grouting is black. The wash hand basin is in the bedroom. The elevator is a quirky feature - very old with metal gates which must be closed properly or it won't work! On a few occasions people didn't close them when they exited so I had to hike up the stairs. But it was quite a feature.The tv froze on a few occasions but we weren't there to watch tv so just ignored it. Both breakfast and dinner were good with nice staff and the conservatory is lovely. Its a lovely location although the village seems to be losing its shops - lots closed down but new blocks of flats springing up. Not much to do there but beautiful walks, drives all around the area. We will probably return next year!

Room Tip: Room 37 3rd floor - front of hotel with lovely views. Take the lift!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerKillin, Owner at Killin Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed the quirky lift and the stunning location. We look forward to welcoming you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Killin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Hotel

Address: Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Killin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killin Hotel Scotland - Loch Tay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.