We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Killin Hotel to your Saves list
Killin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great value, great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

£39 for 2 people B&B in an en-suite room on a Saturday night in Killin? Excellent! Breakfast was pretty good and very filling (cereals, fruit, yoghurt, fry up, toast, jams and lots of teas). There are a number of people complaining about the décor but our room was pretty modern (see pic!) and it was warm too, the en-suite wasn't quite as nice and was very small but for £39 what do you expect - hot water came out the tap/shower so we were happy! Room was up a few flights of stairs (small and old fashioned lift optional!) through a couple of doors with window looking out onto hills. Wall mounted TV in room. There's a real fire in the bar and the table beside it can be booked for drinks/dinner/breakfast.

Gripes:
You could hear a mechanical noise coming from below the room at night, I don't think this was ye olde lift as you could hear the different noise that it made when you were beside the lift.

The bar is a bit expensive but then £39 for room...(there are also a number of other pubs/hotels within walking distance).

The car park is at the front (good!) but it was a bit tight due to someone with a big car parking badly and taking up 2 - 3 spaces >:O (But obviously this wasn't the hotel's fault).

Overall I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Not a room tip but there is a table in front of the real fire in the bar which can be booked for dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    226
    116
    79
    42
See reviews for
78
363
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay.
Staff are fantastic,
Service great
The food is out of this world I should have said so at the time.
We had the 4 poster room very pretty
Nice little village for a short break, we took our dog and there are lots of walks to enjoy
Thanks to everyone

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here after getting a laterooms deal for £39 b&b for 2!!. Knew the hotel from previous visits to killin but hadnt stayed there. Nice new conservatory overlooking river, friendly welcoming staff, cosy open fire in bar, great breakfast were all the plus points. The downside as had already been mentioned is the tired looking interior, especially the stairs and corridors. Surely wouldne take too much to freshen up to rate this hotel even higher. Our room over looked river, was small but clean and comfy. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eads, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I spent 10 days here in September. The hotel was the small established kind of place we prefer over the modern sites - I can stay at modern places when I travel in the U.S. We used the hotel location as a base to travel south to Glasgow and north to Inverness with shopping in Pitlochry and trip to the west coast near Oban. The room was clean and warm with all the amenities you need. The food was plentiful and we never had a bad meal (Steve liked the bar/beer of course). I can't say enough about how friendly the staff was. Traveling for us is all about the people you meet. I would definitely stay at the Killin Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Visited the Killin hotel yet again on Saturday night.....
Phoned the hotel direct and got a room £10 less than late rooms....result!!
The hotel is getting better, brand new windows, conservatory etc. Bar was its usual sociable self.
This is not a 4* spa resort....it is a comfortable, pleasant scottish hotel with good food, reasonable drink prices and a bar well stocked with single malts.
If you don't like the Killin Hotel it's probably because you are used to plastic shoeboxes by hilton..........

Room Tip: New annex rooms are highly reccommended.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Yorks
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I feel a little uncomfortable rating our recent experience at the Killin Hotel because we literally paid nothing for our rooms. However, this was the offer so I wasn't anticipating 4* luxury. We arrived to a very warm welcome but it was apparent immediately that this hotel is run down and needs a lot of attention. Obviously a lot of money has been spent on the lovely conservatory but not a lot on the decor/facilities in general. This is a big old property, run on a shoestring but it would be a pity to see it close down. We had a very nice meal on our first night, plenty of it and reasonably well cooked and presented though a little over-priced. Spoilt I fear by the drunk owner at the bar (well on the floor actually) later in the evening. What a pity his behaviour and that of his friends let the place down. However, we did our best to ignore them so our break wasn't spoilt. Breakfast was ample and again well presented. Our second night was uneventful and we left after the two nights having enjoyed our visit but I doubt I would stay again. The rooms are shabby and chilly though they have everything the traveller requires and more. The corridors/stairs etc are really scruffy and hostel-like but I think work might have been ongoing there - well they certainly had the builders working outside my son's room. The staff here are lovely and in the main couldn't do enough, particularly the girl from Ilkley who was a credit to the hotel (sorry I didn't get your name). We are NOT complaining, particularly as the offer was so fantastic, but I'd love to come back knowing the management/owner had begun to love the place and give it some TLC.

Room Tip: I would check out the room on arrival before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This looked as if it had been a lovely hotel in the 1960's but has fallen into disrepair. I can see others have taken photos similiar to our experience. The rooms were very shabby and in desperate need of repair. We were there for 2 nights. In our first room the bed was broken and in the end we slept on the floor as it was more comfortable! The shower room was tiny and the floor was moldy. In the second room we could not have a shower as there was no water coming out of it and took about 30mins to run a bath 4inches deep! However, the bedding was clean and the staff were very helpful. We got this on a deal and would have been very upset if we had paid £180 instead. Luckily we saw the Fault Towers style humour of it! Killin is LOVELY though and the local pub down the road was excellent!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Hotel

Address: Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Killin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killin Hotel Scotland - Loch Tay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.