We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge of Lochay Hotel

Bridge of Lochay Hotel
Aberfeldy Road | Bridge of Lochay, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TS, Scotland
01567 820 272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Killin
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fresh local produced prepared and presented with care and served by friendly, hospitable local staff in a traditional family run Scottish Inn.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

While staying at another hotel we wanted to try a different eating experience and everything about our choice was right. From the very warm welcome to the restaurent and the welcoming log fire to a good choice of food at a reasonable price, this was a choice we were pleased to make.
I would be happy to try their accomodation next time such was the friendliness of this hotel and the real quality of service and food we found on this visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decent food, a great location but fully priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The food at this gastro pub was excellent & the service was friendly & attentive. They have a good menu with plenty of choices. They serve a well kept pint of real ale for those that may be interested. Their menu prices have increased quite a bit relative to those shown on their web site & in my view they are fully priced but no doubt the splendid location adjacent to Killin golf course is a factor here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengarry, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Food was lovely, service great, lovely spot, nice atmosphere, would definitely go back again. Loved it

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“More than a pub meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I ate here once during a weekend stay at another Killin hotel.

What we liked;
Professional and attentive, friendly service with no attempt to rush us. Amongst the other diners, there was a party with a small child and another with a dog, and all were made welcome.
Clearly quality ingredients are used, this was the best steak my husband had during our stay.

Know before you go;
It was relatively early when we arrived (7-ish). We hadn't booked and there was a table available for us without having to wait, but all the other tables were taken so it would seem advisable to book.
From the outside, the building looks like a pub but the inside is definitely more like a restaurant. Don't expect pub-style meals or prices; we noticed others being taken by suprise on this.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We Went Back for Seconds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

So okay it was a different night but what we couldn't fathom was why this place is not busier. We have stayed at the Caravan site on several occasions and only ventured left into the village. Friday evening 8pm table for 2. Salmon starter for the hubby and baked camembert, freshly baked bread and main courses of chicken and a most excellent piece of cod. Absolutely fabulous so we went back on Sunday evening to try out the fillet of beef which was the tastiest we've had in a very long while. Around £40 per couple for 2 courses isn't too much to pay for good service and good food in pleasant surroundings. We will be turning right out of the caravan site more often during subsequent visits.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridge of Lochay Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Bridge of Lochay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge of Lochay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.