We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend with amazing views :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Loch Tay Highland Lodges to your Saves list
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Milton Morenish Estate | Milton Morenish Estate, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clydebank, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend with amazing views :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just spent a long weekend staying at one of the lodges with my husband and dog. The location is amazing with picturesque views. The lodges were well equipped having everything we needed and the weather we got made it even better. Great place to take a dog. The beaches were clean, food from the boathouse restaurant was lovely and the Angus burger was very tasty!! Could be doing with a shop on site though. Can't wait to go back for a week at new year 2013/14.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l0chtay, Manager at Loch Tay Highland Lodges, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for all your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you at New Year which is already booking up fast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    106
    25
    14
    16
See reviews for
86
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at belle tents here on itison deal and defo worth it. Pity the chef had upped and left as was looking forward to trying on site marina restaurant. Tent was great for what we paid and made better by the fantastic weather. Good facilities with new shower block and campers kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed for 2 nights in the "Bute" Wigwam on 11th and 12th of July. Didn't really know what to expect as never stayed in a wigwam before but was pleasantly surprised. The Wigwam was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and spacious. comes with a TV, Fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave and a heater which would probably be good in the colder months however it was very hot during our stay and the wigwam definitely kept the heat! Each wigwam has its own fire pit which was great for keeping the midgies away in the evening. We even managed to blag some free firewood the first night from the grounds keeper!

The shower/ toilet block was spotless too and a stones throw away from the wigwam area. Was pleased to see there were no meters in the showers, or in the wigwam itself as some other sites charged for the electricity/ heating etc. The campers kitchen was well stocked and great for preparing food for the BBQs.

on our first night we went for a few drinks to the Bistro at the marina. it was extremely expensive (especially if drinking spirits) although the staff were lovely and pleasant. unfortunately the chef was off so we couldnt order any food which is a bit of a downside as if youve had a few drinks and fancied a bite to eat the local town is a 5 minute drive away. the second night we bought some food/drink from the local co-op and sat at the picnic bench at the wigwam.

We had a fantastic few days and are already planning our next visit. Would definitely recommend staying in the wigwams.

Room Tip: Take plenty of Midgie repellent/ citronella candles Take cutlery and crockery if going in the summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Decided to take my family away for a break and couldn't of chosen a better location, woodland cabin so modern and clean, because the weather so warm didn't need fire however can just imagine what it be like in winter be lovely n cosy. All the staff extremely helpful, Joe the guy on boat he made us feel so welcome, ever so friendly, the cleaners were always so happy n talkative too considering the heat they worked in.. only thing the young blonde girl in reception a bit of smile wouldn't of hurt as if she couldn't be bothered.. Restaurant wasn't open this week however lovely cold beer sitting looking across loch from bar was good.. Children had fun times playing at play ground and the puting. Definitely will be returning again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We rented a chalet (called SixPenny Bay) and were very very impressed with the standard of it and its location. The bedrooms were a bit tight but the lounge size made up for it. Just what we wanted, a scenic view over Loch Tay, nearby river for our grandson to play in, a nature walk on Ben Lawers (make sure you go up the nature walk and down the easier mountain path - our 4 year old did it 3 times, on separate days).

The disappointment was the restaurant - see the separate reviews - but there was a very good restaurant on the next site.

Criticism in these reviews of the surface of the approach road has obviously worked as it now has a splendid new surface.

I believe WiFi is available if you pay for it, but as the signal did not appear to reach our chalet I did not pursue it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at loch tay highland resort in 2012 and come back again in 2013 as it was so good.

This time rather than staying in the lodges we upgraded to the ivy tree cottage which sits in the middle of the whole complex and in my opinion the best location.

The cottage looks small from the outside but is much larger on the inside. There were 5 of us staying and plenty of room for us all.

The cottage has everything you need from a holiday and is very clean.

There is plenty to do locally and throughout the week we went golfing at killin golf club, fishing on loch tay and caught a 17 pound salmon (see pic) and also the the highland games in kenmore which was a new experience for us all.

The pub on site is also very good to sit and chat with other holiday makers and locals and they make you feel welcome.

We will be back again in 2014!!

Room Tip: Choose the ivy tree cottage, it is in best location and perfect for a great holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

As a first tentative dip in to the world of camping with my 3 year old twins we booked a belle tent for two nights mid week with an itison deal so for us the price was great. From the first staff responded quickly to my booking enquiry and we had no problem securing one of the two date options we asked for. We arrived around 430 in the afternoon on a day when it had been raining constantly so was great to receive a friendly welcome and find our tent was right next to the car park (though furthest away from kitchen and toilets) so unpacking on my own with the kids was relatively straightforward and the tent was lovely and spacious with several bean bags and mattresses which made it feel very cosy right away. We also had a cool box and supply of firewood for the firepit. Campers kitchen and new toilet and shower block were only a few minutes walk away (and having toilet trained 3 years old tens we spent a lot of time at the toilets!). Both were well maintained with great facilities and cleaning staff member Jacqeline who we met on several occasions was very friendly and helpful in spite of my children asking endless questions and trampling her freshly mopped floor at 7am! Views were amazing and lots to do locally just short drives in either direction though for us the onus was on seeing how kids cooed with light nights and early starts. There were several other families staying in the tents while we were there and I found it a very friendly and relaxed environment to allow my kids the freedom to run around with other boys and girls. All in all a very successful dip in the world of camping and I feel we were lucky as I'm sure not all sites are maintained to such a high standard. Staff, facilities and views are a real credit to Loch Tay Highland Lodges. Only down side is no dogs in the tents as we would love to bring ours next time. That said we would definitely like to visit again.but may have to consider more expensive and different experience of lodge accommodation to accommodate the dogs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Tay Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Address: Milton Morenish Estate | Milton Morenish Estate, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Tay Highland Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Tay Highland Hotel Killin
Loch Tay Highland Lodges Killin, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Tay Highland Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.