We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Christmas and New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Loch Tay Highland Lodges to your Saves list
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Milton Morenish Estate | Milton Morenish Estate, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas and New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Booked for Christmas and was so lovely extended our stay until after New Year. Great cabin, pet friendly and a brilliant view of the loch. Nice and cosy and spotlessly clean. Will go back again and again.

Room Tip: Give them your requirements and let them match a lodge to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l0chtay, Manager at Loch Tay Highland Lodges, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay over the festive period and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    106
    25
    14
    16
See reviews for
86
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Scotland and needed to accommodate a ten year old boy and a dog. Found the accommodation to be clean, well stocked and very pleasant. The lodge (Golden Mary) had wonderful views of Loch Tay and a great balcony which was wonderful to sit on whether sun or rain due to the extended lodge roof.
Lots of activities to do on site from Archery to Canoeing at an additional cost. Nearest village was Killin which is about 4 miles away..lots of activities to do in Perthshire but expect to travel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Would just like to start by saying that some of these reviews are hillarious. I cant believe some people would go to such a wonderful location and take close up pics of a bit of mould or a doorframe thats a bit outdated?! the website says they are basic (and they are) but you arent paying a fortune and really they are very good value for money. The views are stunning and there are some great places to explore nearby. Perhaps instead of documenting the horrors of a fridge that has seen better days you could just share a bottle of wine underneath the stars?

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had visited here before and stayed in the tepee, which we loved. On this visit the tepee was unavailable so we opted for the woodland log cabin, priced £80 per night. The setting is just gorgeous, and there is a restaurant and bar on site which overlooks Loch Tay. The cabin we stayed in (named Glen Lochy) was lovely- the bedroom had 2 sets of bunk beds but we opted to pull out the sofabed so we could sleep in the same bed. There was a woodburning stove for which complimentary firewood was provided on the first night (£9 for subsequent bundles) and the lovely cosiness and smell was definitely a highlight. The kitchen is well equipped, so all you really need to bring is bedding and towels (although we hadn't as it was an impulse visit, so the lady in reception kindly provided sleeping bags). There is also a TV with some freeview channels. Electricity cards cost £5 and one card should easily last 24hours.
All in all this was a great return visit and we will definitely be back. The village of Killin is a few minutes away by car and has a few nice pubs and restaurants (would recommend the Coach House).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the tepees for two nights, we had the tepee plus at the end of the row of wigwams.

My husband chose here because we were going on a sailing lesson on the Sunday, which worked in perfect.

The check in was easy just had to pick up the key from a box. Map and directions round the site were easy to follow and the grounds were well maintained.

There is a pane on the door which must have been glass at one point which is now wood. From the outside the tepee looks like it needs a paint and freshen up to protet if from the winter.

Inside, electricity is operated by a £1 meter, which was fairly in expensive, we think we went through £6 in two nights and the heating was on most of the time we were in the tepee.

The layout of the tepee had the sofa facing away from the window so we moved it around so that the sofa was looking onto the TV and window.

The sofa bed wasn't that comfy but we slept in the bunk beds on night two and they were a lot better.

The bathroom as freezing unless you left the door open for heat to travel through.
Shower was fine enough, there was hot water.

The kitchen had mould and the fridge/freezer door fell off when you opened it. They did provide another fridge which was situated in the living room area and worked fine. Kitchen also had a kettle/toaster/ microwave which worked perfectly.
They also provided cutlery/ plates/ pots etc.

TV was a wee flat screen which worked fine.

There were some cobwebs and spiders but apart from that it was okay.

Overall - it's an upgrade from camping in winter as its warmer, could be done with some TLC - new furnishings, a good clean and a good paint.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed in this charming, traditional Scottish cottage with a clear view to Loch Tay - beautiful and peaceful. Nearby was Ben Lawers, Killin, and Aberfeldy. Killin Golf Club is a wonderful 9 hole golf club, and one can hire clubs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I recently won a competition for a 2-night stay in a wigwam at Loch Tay Highland Lodges, which we took at the weekend.
It was a fantastic setting, with lots of activities to do on site and loads of places nearby to visit.
We walked around the Birks of Aberfeldy, we went fishing on the Loch and took a boat trip on a rib.
The wigwam was clean and comfortable and good value for money. There are also lots of other accommodation options on-site; lodges, tepees, bell tents, bunk house, etc.
Facilities were very good; camp kitchen, on-site restaurant, clean toilets and showers.
Staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Mo, who really looked after us during our stay.
We will be returning to Loch Tay Highland Lodges in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Tay Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Address: Milton Morenish Estate | Milton Morenish Estate, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Tay Highland Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Tay Highland Hotel Killin
Loch Tay Highland Lodges Killin, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Tay Highland Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.