We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcoming Retreat With An Amazing Cosy Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coach House Hotel to your Saves list
Coach House Hotel
Lochay Rd, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TN, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm Welcoming Retreat With An Amazing Cosy Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I found this quaint hotel after a friend recommended this great hotel as a quiet retreat for my fiancée and I for our first get away together. After arriving in Killin and having never been before this small village just looks amazing. Gorgeous views of the rolling Scottish mountains and all the peace and tranquillity that you could ever desire from a weekend break away from the busy hustle of the modern city life. The owners were fantastic, welcoming and friendly with a warm welcome upon arriving at the hotel. They also helped with all our enquiries about local amenities which proved invaluable having no idea where to visit. We were able to enjoy visually stunning tranquil walks during the day, soaking up the views and taking life at a slower pace was very welcome. At night we enjoyed live folk music on the owners recommendation which was amazing and in the fantastic cosy surroundings of the log fire burning away. Everyone in this amazing little gem of a location was wonderfully welcoming. The hotel was clean, warm and so quiet upon returning from the relaxing night of live entertainment it was a joy to get back to our room which was like home from home. It was indeed a break away and also an experience that I doubt you could enjoy anywhere else. So much so it was my location of choice on Christmas day of 2012 to propose to my beautiful fiancée and in such wonderful surroundings it truly was a magical moment to be forever remembered. Both Killin and The Coach House Hotel will forever remain a sentimental and first choice retreat location for us both.

Room Tip: I would advise anyone going to book the Dochart room with its large bed and en suite it is fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a night away at the Coach House. We made a very last minute booking and were lucky enough to get a cancellation. It is a beautiful old house that has been very tastefully decorated and was spotlessly clean throughout.The dining room afforded views over the river at the front of the house and Ben Lawers to the side. It was large, light and airy. The residents lounge had plenty seating with a large library of books and DVDs that you could borrow. Our room, the Lyon, was to the side of the house, overlooking Killin village. A well furnished, good sized, en-suite room on the first floor. At the rear of the house, was a small bar, popular with locals as well as guests. There was access to the bar area from the hotel for guests. Bar meals were very good and arrived on the table piping hot. There was a good selection of whisky on offer, as well as various beers. The family that run the hotel and bar were lovely and made you feel very welcome - from the initial phone booking with the friendly young lady, who also met us at the front door to Robbie who showed us to our room and then remembered we were residents when we later went down to the bar. My husband ordered a pint of Belhaven and Robbie offered him a small glass of another Belhaven beer to taste. Again a very nice gesture. Our stay was rounded off with a tasty Scottish breakfast. Our only comment, and this is based purely on personal taste, was we found our mattress to be a little too firm and unforgiving for us. However, that in no way detracted from the enjoyment of our all too brief stay. We have already recommended the Coach House to other members of the family. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just back from three days at hotel, didn't want to leave ! If you worried about the bad reviews don't. Come with a open mind, and you Will leave a very happy relaxed person. Lovely clean room, friendly service and the food is to die for ! We found it on groupon and we most certainly got value for money.excellent location so peaceful no noise at all we Will be back for sure. Only one blip our tv didn't work when we got there and it still didn't work when we left! But hey we didn't come to sit watching tv we can do that at home.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Coach House during our holidays in Scotland. We have booked it on booking.com getting quite good deal. The hosts were very friendly. We had a room on the top floor with big and bright bathroom. Whole house was very clean. Breakfast was a decent full English. And that what we wanted! On top of it, at the rear of the house was a pub with very good whiskey. We were first time to Scotland and needed introduction to this drink from the locals. We spent lovely evening that night-our first night to Scotland. Next day after breakfast we had a nice walk recommended by our host. Came back to the BnB, took our car and hit the road to the north.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our first time visiting killin and it was a beautiful little place -- the falls of dochart is a sight to see and lots of lovely little shops. The hotel was lovely and all the staff very friendly - the food was great and our room was lovely and very clean -- we had a great view of the river - the band at night were fantastic - the boos brothers - we enjoyed them so much we bought their cd. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: we were in the Lomond - right at the top - lovely bed and nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We went on a last minute basis, my daughter had already booked in & we decided to join them. We had the Lomond room on the top floor, which was very well laid out given the quirky shape. Comfy bed, good shower, excellent breakfast, what more can you ask. There is live music on a Saturday night, which is one of the reasons we booked here. The band we thought were playing had cancelled, but replacements had been found & we had a good night regardless. Would definitely return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had the Dochart room with the amazing four poster bed and double aspect windows with stunning views over the hills and the river. The whirlpool bath was fantastic, very luxurious. The food is excellent, we had both breakfast and dinner, lovely home cooked food, clear plates and full bellies all round! The lounge bar is great and the live music was very very good, definitely plan ypur trip for a friday or saturday as the music is worth it. The family who run the hotel provide an excellent, first class service and are both friendly and professional. We only stayed one night but will be booking to come back again soon, excellent hotel and fantastic place to visit!

Room Tip: If youre looking for luxury, definitely opt for the Dochart room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Address: Lochay Rd, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.