We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inversnaid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inversnaid Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inversnaid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inversnaid Hotel
Save
You added Inversnaid Hotel to your Saves list
Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Bedford, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Inversnaid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at The Inversnaid Hotel in Feb/March 2013 as part of a Lochs & Glens coach holiday.

Before travelling I had read some of the Trip Advisor reviews, particularly the negative ones.
Having experienced the hotel first hand it seems that most of the individuals making those comments had missed the point.
The Inversnaid Hotel is owned and operated by Lochs & Glens Coach Holidays.
The hotel is really set up for customers on their coach tours, in particular the meal times.
The breakfasts and evening meals are timed specifically for the coach tourists.
When the coaches are out during the day the hotel is virtually empty, staff do attempt to cater for passing walkers but they are not the hotel's raison d'être.

We had travelled with Lochs & Glens in the past and chose the Inversnaid Hotel as the result of the personal recommendations of other visitors.
We were not let down. The hotel is completely charming, situated in a beautiful secluded location on the shore of Loch Lomond.
The exterior of the building had been recently re-painted.
The hotel's interior is decorated in typical Lochs & Glens style, with tartan curtains and carpets throughout. It is warm clean and welcoming. During the evening the hotel lobby was warmed by two open fires.
The staff, mainly European migrant workers, were all very efficient and pleasant.
The meals were good. When we stayed they were in different sittings according to the various coaches.
Our room, 240 was spacious and modern. It was on the second floor overlooking the adjacent Arklet Falls.
The icing on the cake for me was the daily journey in the hotel launch, across the loch to the coaches which were parked at Inverulglas.

Would we we stay again? Definitely!
But we'd also like to try some of Lochs & Glens other hotels, notably The Highland Hotel in Fort William and the new Ardgartan Hotel on Loch Long.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    104
    29
    20
    27
See reviews for
46
180
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Travelled to this comfortable hotel with Lochs & Glens, accompanied by a couple who had been on 2 previous trips with this company and enjoyed them. The coach trip although lasting 12 hours was not daunting, and plenty of breaks, about every 2...3hrs, for toilet visits and refreshments did break up the journey. Many thanks to Chris, the driver, who made the whole experience very enjoyable, he is very knowledgeable, pointing out interesting things and places along the way. On arrival we were allocated rooms, and our cases bought to the rooms very promptly. The rooms are warm, comfortable, TV, tea & coffe making facilities, and a good size bathroom. The food in the restaurant was always hot, and more could be requested if required, always about 4 choices, so something to suit everyone. Thanks to all the staff for their attention, politeness, nothing was too much trouble. Evening entertainment was good, dancing, bingo and quizzes, or a quiet room for games, reading etc. The entrance room made it for me with two roaring log fires, either end of the large room with armchairs and sofas. All in all a great 5 day break, looking forward to another holiday next year. Thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: Although we did not have a view over the Loch, you are only in the room to change, shower and sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here whilst walking the West Highland Way. having seen previous poor and terrible reviews from other walkers i was slightly on guard and only stayed here as it was our only option as we we slightly out of season. I have to say I was nothing other than pleasantly suprised from the moment we walked in. the reception was warm informative and nothing was a problem, he even offered to help us with our packs to the room. The room was clean, well equiped and comfortable, the only let down was the shower which seemed to have 2 settings, Nuclear inferno or artic breeze but after a good 30mins of fiddling with it we eventualy got it to bearably boiling ( im sure if we had informed reception they would have done somthing about it, but cant drop to many points as we didnt ) . The food was basic but good, we had the same as the coach parties that were staying and couldnt fault it ( the homemade lentil pate was great ). They had an entertainer in the bar whom was talented and funny which was arranged clearly for the coach parties but they had no problem with us joining in. Cooked Breakfast portions were small but well cooked, im sure they were geared for the main client base which is understandable, however it was fine for me as i was walking 14 miles that day and didnt want to overfill.to sum up i was pleastently suprised given the hotels bad reviews from fellow walkers and i will stay or eat here again

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are great, we didnt ask for one but got one anyway, the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the evening & were greeted with a warm welcome, our cases were
brought to our room within 15mins. The room was very small for a twin room, the bathroom was
very modern & well lit.
The only down side was the tv which had loose controls which we had to keep adjusting to make
sure it worked.
The staff were very polite & helpful, the meals seemed small but with 3 courses at breakfast &
evening meals I was never hungry
The hotel it situated on the banks of Loch Lomond & the scenery is out of the world, we crossed the loch by boat to & from the hotel each day which added to the fun.
Yes we will be going again & would like to try all the Lochs & Glens Hotels

Room Tip: Front of hotel have rooms overlooking Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at this Lochs & Glens hotel in 2012 and visited again this year by boat after a trip on Loch Lomond.The staf were very welcoming and it was great to visit again.I took more views and video of the wonderful waterfall alongside the hotel.I will definately visit again one year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lochs and Glens own their own hotels in Scotland ,and frequently run coach trips from various parts of the country to each of them.
Inversnaid is one of them and situated on Loch Lomond. The hotel sits at the bottom of the only road down to it,and the coach takes approx 45 minutes to travel the 16 miles from Aberfoyle down the single track road. They have their own small boat that transports guests across the loch(taking just 10 minutes) to the waiting coaches in readiness for the days excursion.
Inversnaid is a large hotel with rooms on 3 levels. It has a spacious dining area capable of seating three coach parties in one sitting. Rooms vary in size,but ours was spacious,with a doubkle bed, en suite ,TV (few channels) and a glorious view overlooking the Loch.
Food was of excellent quality (choice of starter,main course and sweet). Tea/Cofee served afterwards where you can relax in a choice of seating areas including a function room where entertainment was nightly. Entertainment was not really to our taste on two nights,but we found a quite room where there was a fair choice of board games to play.
Overall,it was excellent value for money and the days out included the opportunity to visit Glasgow,Stirling Callendar and the trossachs. The destination of the trips vary throughout the year and are included in the price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the loch or waterfall for great views. There is a small lift for the first and second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Location is excellent for walks and views but the access road is something else.
Food basic but wholesome and a reasonable choice, you won't go hungary. Service first class, pleasant staff and always there. Bar prices a welcome surprise. Obviously geared for booked coach parties, the B&B price would not be a bargain

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inversnaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inversnaid Hotel

Address: Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Inversnaid
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Inversnaid Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inversnaid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.