We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar

La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar
33 West Clyde Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh, Scotland
+44 1436 268518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Price range: $14 - $31
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: La Barca Spanish Tapas And Wine Bar is officially Scotland's Best Mediterranean Restaurant. The team beat stiff competition from restaurants in Glasgow, Edinburgh and Inverness to lift the prestigious award in May 2014. This award winning restaurant offers a vibrant, authentic taste of Spain in luxurious, colourful and cosy surroundings. La Barca boasts a boat shaped bar, beautiful harbour scene mural and a generously stocked feature wine cellar.Relax in the luxurious surroundings and enjoy delicious tapas and paellas prepared by Spanish chefs and served by friendly, attentive staff. La Barca opened after a six figure sum refurbishment and is the sister restaurant to the town's highly reputable Riverbank Bar and Restaurant nearby.Run by the same husband and wife team. They costly added Garth Bar & Grill in Helensburgh to their Culinary stable.Not just a place to eat, La Barca is perfect for a glass of wine, cocktail or coffee. Food served daily from 12noon to 10pm with 3 tapas from £9.95. Hasta Luego x
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just like Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

If you closed your eyes and it was a bit warmer outside you could be on your holidays in Spain.

Food excellent
Service great
Choice was amazing

Just a shame about my Spanish.

Try the new scallop dish on the menu. You'll want more!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    96
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Avoid Saturday Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I agree with all the other reviews - the food is great, the staff are obliging and the restaurant itself is really nice. But, and its a big BUT, when I went there with friends on a Saturday evening in March it was terribly overcrowded. I thought there were just far too many people jammed in where ever a table could fit and the noise level was off the scale. It was extremely difficult to have a conversation with the 3 other people on my small table and I did not enjoy my evening. I will still go to La Barca again, especially for lunch, but never again on a Saturday night

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reliving visit to Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Went for lunch as had just returned from short break in Spain. It is a lovely restaurant, service and decor are superb, also the Tapas is lovely. Really enjoyed it and would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Helensburgh

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tapa restaurant brilliantly managed & staffed by Spaniards, what more could you want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Well worth a visit, we go on a monthly basis & we've never been let down.The choice of Tapas is good & varied, A choice of authentic wines & beers add to the overall ambience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Good food with great staff and great atmosphere I have never had a bad night out here.
The tapas are tasty if a little pricey but I would still recommend and will still be back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.