We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cakes galore!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhill Deli & Cafe

Riverhill Deli & Cafe
64 Sinclair Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh g84 6tp, Scotland
01436 677575
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 48 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 01436 677 575
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cakes galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Visited this cafe whilst in Helensburgh as seen it recommend on Tripadvisor and it didn't disappoint.
We had 2 hot drinks and 2 scones totalling £9.30 (great value for how yummy it was). Lovely atmosphere and the selection of cakes were amazing, too many to choose from (not that that's a bad thing) the staff were all polite and friendly offering a quick service.
Didn't buy anything from the deli, however it looked great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    24
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very good coffee & buns. Friendly staff. Limited number of tables though, so book ahead to avoid disappointment.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Leaves the rest standing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

As a local and a regular patron of Riverhill I feel compelled (and qualified) to review this fabulous place. Helensburgh is replete with mediocre coffee shops, you'll never go hungry, but this is the first one in my 15 years of living in the vicinity that's really got its act togther. The coffee is first class and the menu is bursting with inventive tasty surprises as well as wonderfully executed standards. The origin of the produce is local and auhentic and having spoken with the head chef on one or two occassions, he is enthusiastic and genuine. You can buy everything to eat off site as well. I needed help with a vegetarian dish for a special occassion and he rustled up a 'cheat' for me, based on my preferences instead of the usual boring veggie concoctions I can manage. The service is lovely, the staff are busy but friendly and very nice to small children. My 2 1/2 year old twins are always made very welcome. The prices reflect the quality, it's not bargain basement - go to subway down the road if you want that - but you won't be disappointed. Oh and there are papers and free wifi.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Sadly i can't say that i had such a pleasant experience here, tables are really close together (we went during the day time not sure if the set up is different for eve)so wasn't very comfortable. Expensive for what you get, don't get me wrong the food was good but in comparison to the places around Helensburgh (and there are loads to choose from when it comes to local homely or a topuch of something different)- average. sadly the bit that stands out is the sense of being rushed,and poor if surely service. Shame!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeUK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“world class (style) cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great coffee ('proper' long black and flat white)...excellent salad...amazing carrot cake...top notch service - world. One of the best cafe's outside Oz...(and for a London centric Brit, that is saying something).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverhill Deli & Cafe also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Riverhill Deli & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhill Deli & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.