We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooper!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mira Mare

Mira Mare
82 West Clyde Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8BB, Scotland
01436 673766
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sooper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had forgotten how good the food is. We had Tornedos Rossini (him) and veal (her) and it was beautiful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    16
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Belissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I went here the other night with my mum as a little treat as we both love italian food. This restaurant is an absoloute gem and as other reviews have said from the outside it looks unasuming and is easily overlooked by
the other fancy looking restaurants dotted along the promanade. We had the spaghetti bolognese and carbonara which were both to die for along with the house red which complemented the bolognese perfectly. The owners were very friendly and chatty especially the owner/chef Phillipo who perodicaly left the kitchen to ask us what we thought of our meal. Yes the decor is abit dated but its the food that does the talking and we will definately be going back. Ciao!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“valentine Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

what a great meal. The atmosphere was romantic ,selection of menu was delicious and the added bonus of receiving a red rose from philippo just made the evening special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Family Run Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a lovely little restaurant on the seafront in Helensburgh. This is a family run Italian restaurant. The owners Filippo and Linda and their team are passionate about the food they serve and the service they provide. Very welcoming and friendly. The Chef even comes out to the table to ensure you are happy with the meal!
Whilst it doesn't look much from the outside the food and ambience are excellent.
Set meal prices are also available.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“MMMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Amazing. You know when you're in a lovely restaurant when you're on holiday and the service, food and wine are all amazing? And you wish that you could get such good food at home...well NOW you can - here!!!

I've never received such a warm welcome in a restaurant and the food!

You MUST go here. MUST. :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mira Mare also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Mira Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mira Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.