We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem overlooking the Clyde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lethamhill

Lethamhill
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lethamhill to your Saves list
Lethamhill
20 West Dhuhill Drive, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9AW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A real gem overlooking the Clyde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Lethamhill is an amazing house, up a long private drive and with stunning view of the Clyde esturary and the twinkling lights of Greenock after dusk.
Jane was the best host ever - amazing breakfasts in the beautiful dining room along with the other guests on a shared table, which we loved.
There were so many little touches, like the delicious homemade fudge and shortbread in our rooms every day (in fact we have come home with the recipes of both kindly supplied by Jane - we've made the shortbread twice so far and delicious!).
The house was architect designed and is only just around the corner from Charles Rennie Mackintosh's famous Hill House. It's a lovely area with wide roads and avenues of trees - all running up a hill from the little seaside town. We even spotted the famous Waverley paddle steamer chugging out of the port.
Helen has a huge lounge for guests too, overlooking the lovely garden and provides free sherry in there to help yourself to.
Our room was very grand, spotlessly clean and full of dark antique furniture and lovely drapes and wallpaper. The bathroom, in contrast was lovely and ultra modern - beautiful bath, powerful shower and lovely white towels and perfect cotton sheets and down pillows.
We had a lovely stay and were made to feel very welcome. Very much hoping to return, as this is a good spot for visiting all around the region. We went into Glasgow to the new Riverside Museum and into the city as well as visiting Greenock (family history research) and driving up to Ardlui in Loch Lomond one night for dinner. An excellent location. I notice there was a good train service into Glasgow and the station is only a short walk from the house - we would try this next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

what a truly wonderful place to stay, jayne our host could not do enough for us, we stayed 2 nights at £90 a night and it was fantastic value, our room was wonderful and the view was amazing, a truly lovely place to stay and explore scotland.

Room Tip: our room was just wonderful, i would assume there all the same,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed for (the minimum) 2 nights to attend a friend's wedding nearby and would loved to have stayed longer. The B&B is nearly at the top of the hill, keeping out of the less salubrious areas of the town and with good views. Inside, the public areas are filled with various items of memorabilia that constantly pique the curiosity. My favourite was the Rolls Royce radiator in the fireplace. Jane gave us a very personal welcome and we settled in to enjoy the large well appointed and laid out room with lovely views over the water from up on the hill. The bed was large and comfortable. Although we didn't use it, the TV was present but kept pleasingly out of view. DVDs were available to borrow out on the landing. The bathroom was fitted out to the highest standards with a decent shower and full sized metal bath. Some of the best little touches, though, were things like fresh milk in the fridge (again kept out of view) and the homemade shortbread on the tea tray. Breakfast was amazing and almost worth going back for in its own right. Having given our order on the little blackboard, the meal was one of the best I have had, starting from the freshly homemade warm pastries (soda scones one day and scotch pancakes the next) provided at the start. The cooked breakfast was perfectly done. Although we weren't doing much in the locality, Jane answered all our requests for local information, including restaurant recommendations.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was too short by at least half. It is excellent value for money. The quality of the physical aspects is re-inforced by the hospitality and attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Large room with a beautiful view of the Firth of Clyde. The little touches in the room made for an enjoyable experience, especially the homemade fudge and personal fridge (in a trunk!)

Jane's breakfasts were delicious, the perfect start to the day! Made better by homemade scones...

The house was beautifully decorated with age old antiques and nik-naks, and made to look very homely. However, so homely at times we felt like we were intruding...

The area was great for exploring nearby Loch Lomond and great for jumping on the West Highland Railway. We didn't have a car, but we managed to get around easy enough despite this. Just needed to plan in advance for train times and buses etc.

Overall, a wonderful trip and a fantastic b&b! :)

Nick and Lauren

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bookham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Everything you woild expect an da little bit more..., I have no hesitation in recommending Lethamhill...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

This is a wonderful b&b, really well worth its 5 star. We had a warm welcome from Jane, who gave us suggestions about how to spend our days in Loch Lomond area and where to have dinner...and coooked really special breakfast! The house itself is amazing: rich of antiques from rocking horse to gramophone, it's in a residential area of the town. The room was big, and really clean, with a big window and quite big bathroom. We had a big refrigerator in our room and lcd tv with dvd player (there was a selection of dvd in the aisle). The lounge room was really beautiful, big and with a variety of games (monopoly, scarabeo..) and there was sherry and little cakes for guests. Breakfast was excellent with a variety of choice, but, more important, with fresh and genuine food. Salmon was superb and homemade pancakes were fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANTAGE, OXON
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I stayed with a friend, with separate rooms. Mine overlooked the loch and had a huge, comfortable bed with a view across the garden and the water. There were many little touches which were so appreciated, sherry and a warm fire in the visitors' lounge, homemade fruit cake left for us to help ourselves, lots of tea and coffee with fresh milk in my own personal fridge,even binoculars in the bedrooms to enjoy the views better. Breakfast was enhanced by rhubarb smoothies ( home grown) and Jane's baked breads each morning, in addition to the usual bill of fare.
The house is a treasure trove of unusual items, collected over many years, and is well situated for visiting The Hill House, and for Helensburgh Upper station.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lethamhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lethamhill

Address: 20 West Dhuhill Drive, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lethamhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lethamhill Helensburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lethamhill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.