We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large but quaint house with a Personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lethamhill

Lethamhill
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lethamhill to your Saves list
Lethamhill
20 West Dhuhill Drive, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9AW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Large but quaint house with a Personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Large room with a beautiful view of the Firth of Clyde. The little touches in the room made for an enjoyable experience, especially the homemade fudge and personal fridge (in a trunk!)

Jane's breakfasts were delicious, the perfect start to the day! Made better by homemade scones...

The house was beautifully decorated with age old antiques and nik-naks, and made to look very homely. However, so homely at times we felt like we were intruding...

The area was great for exploring nearby Loch Lomond and great for jumping on the West Highland Railway. We didn't have a car, but we managed to get around easy enough despite this. Just needed to plan in advance for train times and buses etc.

Overall, a wonderful trip and a fantastic b&b! :)

Nick and Lauren

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Bookham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Everything you woild expect an da little bit more..., I have no hesitation in recommending Lethamhill...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

This is a wonderful b&b, really well worth its 5 star. We had a warm welcome from Jane, who gave us suggestions about how to spend our days in Loch Lomond area and where to have dinner...and coooked really special breakfast! The house itself is amazing: rich of antiques from rocking horse to gramophone, it's in a residential area of the town. The room was big, and really clean, with a big window and quite big bathroom. We had a big refrigerator in our room and lcd tv with dvd player (there was a selection of dvd in the aisle). The lounge room was really beautiful, big and with a variety of games (monopoly, scarabeo..) and there was sherry and little cakes for guests. Breakfast was excellent with a variety of choice, but, more important, with fresh and genuine food. Salmon was superb and homemade pancakes were fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANTAGE, OXON
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I stayed with a friend, with separate rooms. Mine overlooked the loch and had a huge, comfortable bed with a view across the garden and the water. There were many little touches which were so appreciated, sherry and a warm fire in the visitors' lounge, homemade fruit cake left for us to help ourselves, lots of tea and coffee with fresh milk in my own personal fridge,even binoculars in the bedrooms to enjoy the views better. Breakfast was enhanced by rhubarb smoothies ( home grown) and Jane's baked breads each morning, in addition to the usual bill of fare.
The house is a treasure trove of unusual items, collected over many years, and is well situated for visiting The Hill House, and for Helensburgh Upper station.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This is a wonderful B&B, a beautiful house with lovely interesting antiques throughout and a lounge for guests with sherry and board games if the weather is bad, and a big garden to sit out in if good weather. Lovely quiet setting with parking and everything we could have wanted for our stay. Walking distance to the town centre shops and restaurants and very close to the Hill House National Trust Property. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

A very comfortable and quiet B&B, with a warm and welcoming host.
We used this B&B as a base for a recent trip to Loch Lomond, to go walking up Ben Lomond. The small town of Helensburgh is nice enough, with plenty choice for eating out. This B&B is well located, and served our needs very well. No criticisms at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We visited with friends and had the two front rooms. Both large and equipped with everything we could need. Jane's breakfasts were wonderful-with home baked shortbread and tablet (fudge) on the tea trays. The views over the Clyde and the fact that Helensburgh station is just down the hill, with The Hill House round the corner meant that we were well placed to explore the area. The bathrooms were beautiful and again thought had gone into providing us with all that we could want.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lethamhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lethamhill

Address: 20 West Dhuhill Drive, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lethamhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lethamhill Helensburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lethamhill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.