We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE RELAXING STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gartmore House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gartmore House to your Saves list
Gartmore House
GARTMORE 1, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Gartmore B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NICE RELAXING STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

OK the building is a bit tired, but that apart we had a lovely weekend stay. The bedroom was spacious and clean. Staff very friendly and the meals were good value as part of the itison deal. Complimentary bottle of wine went down a treat. We managed to survive without a television!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
17
62
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I booked this via itison and was so looking forward to staying , as location is excellent . Unfortunately this place is so in need if tlc . If it was not for the fact with had booked it via itison , we would definetly just have left and looked for somewhere else ! . The whole place needs mega upgrading . We had a dingy twin room , with a half window overlooking fire escape , which did not help . Window left open and full if flies !! . Getting a drink from the cupboard bar was a laugh ! . The food which they said was a high point , was no more than below par pub grub. The open log fire , was lovely at night but the couches in the drawing room , had legs falling off them . Breakfast a dried out buffet . In all , we left feeling sad for the staff and the building which needs so much money piled in to it . They are doing activity centre clients now , and is a charity , so that is the client base they are adapting too .
Sorry I would have loved to rave about this place , but you leave feeling disappointed .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went on an itison deal and thoroughly enjoyed this place. The room we had was enormous with four beds not the most up to date decor but scrupulously clean. Food was excellent particularly considering the price. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place, if you want a getaway in peace and quiet with no tv in the room this is it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and i came to the gartmore for her birthday and we loved it, we had a big room and our view over the gardens were lovely... in the morning as we woke the only thing we heard was the distant sheep in the fields which was just so relaxing

We walked into gartmore from the house in 10 mins which was lovely because we had lunch there which wasnt over expensive

The only downfall we did have was there was no tv in the bedroom, my friend and i usually have dinner, a few drinks and then settle into our room to watch some tv before falling asleep but without the tv we just really went into bed had a few words then said good night , i did miss that little comfort of a tv, even if it was just for the evening news or some music in the background, but others may not see that as a problem

Overall we loved our overnight stay and i will be returning with my husband in the near future

Room Tip: Ask for the family room if its available because we got that and there was only 2 of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wow - amazing. Don't be put off by the outside, the inside more than overshadows it. What a beautiful interior. Room was huge and so clean and comfy. Staff went out of their way to make you welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Above and beyond what you would expect. If you can, book a room here - you won't be disappointed. Beauty grounds grounds to go wandering.

Room Tip: Ask for room 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have read previous reviews and quite frankly stunned by negative comments,we stayed combining our 21st wedding anniversary & my birthday on an itison deal £69 between 2 for a 3 course dinner with tea & coffee & bed & breakfast with bottle of wine in room, I have been on a number of these deals and wasn't expecting too much for such a bargain price but but this is the best place I have ever stayed just charming,stunning views,tranquil setting,perfect meal courses served with perfect timing,was offered ice water first with meal rather than being prompted to buy drinks & then given drinks menu which I was amazed to see the prices were cheaper than any other hotels or our local pubs which actually encouraged us to have after dinner drinks sit relax & socialize with some other guests till the wee small hours big thanks to the lovely night porter for his patience & good humour,the breakfast was buffet style Full Scottish & delicious, the best black pudding I have ever had,we found every single staff member pleasant, helpful & professional,building a little worn on the outside which gives masses of character which I personally find charming,room & en suite very clean & attention paid to small touches of comfort, before we arrived my husband was a little miffed there were no tv's in this hotel but once we arrived first thing he said was "why would you ever want a tv with views like this" lay on the lawn with our complimentary bottle of wine after dinner watching a herd of dear & looking at Stirling castle & the Wallace monument in the distance as the sun went down, have fallen in love with this place.We would be more than willing to pay full amount to return here & will be back without a doubt. Don't change a thing please!!! 10 out of 10.
P.S. I have very high standards in case my judgement is questioned........just ask my husband.lol.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the lawns.Although windows did open If staying in extremely hot weather take a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as part of an itison deal. £ 69 for dinner, bed and breakfast for two people which was great value.
It's an old building slowly being refurbished according to the hotel which ia a regiatered charity so it was no surprise it is in need of repairs which are ongoing.

I didn't see any problems with cleanliness as suggested by others here and our room was immaculate with great views.
Food was good and service excellent also, all the staff were courteous and helpfull.

It's a quiet location which is the attraction of it and look forward to returning sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gartmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartmore House

Address: GARTMORE 1, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gartmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gartmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartmore House Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gartmore House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.