We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best b&b I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Manse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gartmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Manse
Save
You added The Old Manse to your Saves list
Gartmore | Near Aberfoyle, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Gartmore B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best b&b I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Jo and Anthony welcomed us like old friends and that is exactly how we felt during our stay. They made us feel completely at home in their beautiful house which is packed with beautiful pictures, books and furniture. The views were stunning and everything was done to ensure that our stay was unforgettable. Both Jo and Anthony are by knowledgable about the local area and even found us a local place to go on a Segway Safari. We can't thank them enough for their kindness and hospitality- stay there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I've been to quite a lot of B&B's around Scotland, but this is the one I'll definitely do my best to come back to!
The house is very spacious and the room (ours was a double) is pretty big too and decorated with lovely touches. There are plenty of books around the house and little things here and there that make it feel like home rather than a hotel.
But best of all are the hosts! Jo and Anthony amazed us in how easily they created this "home away from home" atmsphere. When we came back from a full day of activities, walking, exploring etc (and an unfortunate small car accident) it was so lovely to share a glass of wine with some nibbles with them sitting at a fireplace and having a great chat!
Breakfasts were great as well. Jo is a really good cook and the producs are really fresh: homebaked bread, eggs that were laid only a few hours ago... We were having breakfast with them and had really interesting conversations. It's so much better than being served at your table in a hotel dining room!
They were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area too and gave us some really good advice.
All in all, it was a very relaxing weekend and I want to thank Jo and Anthony very much!

Room Tip: Double room has an en-suite, the twin room doesn't, but the bathroom for the twin room is privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We arrived at Jo and Anthony's house earlier than planned and we were straight away welcomed by Anthony who came to take our luggage in our car and welcomed us in his beautiful house. Jo arrived very quickly with some flowers to put in our room. how sweet! They invited us to have tea with them in the conservatory which was just so charming! We had great discussions during a couple of hours and then they booked a very good restaurant for us in Kippen.
Just a word about the area: Gartmore and the area around is really beautiful! This part of Scotland is really to be visited, quite wild and very quiet.
Back to our hosts! Jo and Anthony have what I call a TRUE B&B! They have understood that having guests means also sharing moments with people, beeing always there to answer questions or even just lend us a map!
The house is beautifully decorated, a very cosy athmosphere, you feel like you're a guest in someone's home. Our bedroom (twin) was clean, very comfortable, and the bathroom too. A lot of small details make your night just the perfect one (light on in the room and shutters closed when we came back from the restaurant, heating in the bathroom for our towels, etc.).
Breakfast was delicious, with a wonderful home-made strawberry jam cooked the night before (the smell in the house was amazing!!), and Jo had breakfast with us which was just a very nice moment.
We were sad to leave the house, and espacially Jo and Anthony who are adorable people that you really want to keep in touch with. We will definitively, if we have the chance, come back and stay longer than one night!
Jo and Anthony: thanks for your warm welcome that ended our great week in Scotland!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This lovely home is the perfect place to unwind and relax.Jo's cooking is fantastic and Anthony is the perfect host, nothing seems too much hassle. We have stayed twice and it is so peaceful and conducive to great night's sleep.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butzbach, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

A beautiful old house and very charming hosts! Our room had a wonderful view and the most gorgeous bathroom I have ever seen.

Toast in the morning was a little crumbly but the best on our 14 days trip through Scotland. (Jo: I told you I will mention the toast... ;-))) )

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We've stayed twice in this lovely old manse of great character set in an unspoilt peaceful village. A great place to explore the Trossachs and lots of good places to eat in surrounding area. There's a guaranteed warm welcome from Jo and her family. Jo's an excellent cook and provides amazing breakfasts in conservatory with great vistas. The photos do justice to this wonderful b&b.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We loved this place so much we’ve now visited three times. It’s everything we were looking for in a B&B, a beautiful Scottish country home, close to all our favourite lochs and mountains, and only 1 hours drive from Glasgow.
It dates from the 19th Century and it has a sense of grandeur, having once been the home of a minister, then the Forester's loving family home, and now, a luxurious retreat for travellers, with a relaxed and warm atmosphere.
The rooms are spacious, uncluttered and very tastefully furnished, with proper beds - iron bed frames and good quality mattresses (no penny pinching here like some B&Bs). The en suite was the most spacious ensuite I’ve ever seen, with an original roll top bath – complete with a hilarious looking antique plug!
The lounge is never without a generously burning fire, with sofas you will find it hard pushed to remove yourself from. Jo Weld Forester has expertly woven antique authenticity with modern design and furnishings.
It’s full of odd and fascinating little features. An eclectic collection of books, art, drawings and even a stuffed red throated diver with a story to tell. And the stories! If you visit you must ask about “Mr Giddy”, the horse they once owned. It’s the most charming, remarkable - and true - story of unconditional love I have ever heard.
The views are beautiful and literally stretch for miles, interrupted only by the Campsie fells. You can wander around the large gardens and see what they’re growing in their vegetable patches, you’ll probably be eating the contents.
Breakfast is generous, home-made bread served warm, home-made jams, kippers, eggs, muesli and fresh fruit - and everything cooked carefully to your personal preference.
You receive the warmest of welcomes from Anthony and Jo Weld Forester. They are a fascinating couple, and so are their guests – people from the most interesting walks of life pass through, and every time we have visited it’s been educating, entertaining and memorable.
It’s located on the edge of Gartmore village, a delightful place, so it enjoys a very peaceful location. No traffic noises, no light pollution, just the sounds of birds, and guests enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse

Address: Gartmore | Near Aberfoyle, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gartmore
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Gartmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Manse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.