We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class accommodation! Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loaninghead Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loaninghead Holidays
Loaninghead, Balfron Station, Glasgow, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0SE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Drymen B&B and Inns
Fleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First-class accommodation! Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This gorgeous apartment combined all the comforts of home with the top quality facilities you would expect in a premier hotel. No detail has been overlooked, from the high quality crockery and glassware to the comfortable beds and huge TV! It really offered the best of both worlds and exceeded our expectations. Our host Mabeth was delightful and welcoming and the setting was just gorgeous! We would have no hesitation in returning here or recommending it to friends. A five star experience all round!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Loaninghead
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
Regads Mabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved the convenient yet secluded location of Loaninghead. The rooms are large, clean and perfectly set up. Mabeth gave us a warm welcome and a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning. Everything in Loaninghead was spacious, from the grounds to the dining room and lounge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expections of our guests and give you the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Flew to Scotland 5/16 for my nieces wedding at The Cruin. My sister in law booked us here. We stayed in Apple Cottage and it is 1st class all the way. Lovely and spacious, the beds comfortable (we loved the comforters), bathrooms plentiful (although the master bathroom has the tiniest shower I have ever seen), beautiful scenery. The town is about 3 miles away along the main road but walking there is easy - it's walking home that is a bit difficult. The Buchanan Arms has a great spa/fitness you can use which was excellent as well. For us it was perfect except when we were ready to leave. That's when they came to read the meter and charge us for or power usage. The expense for that week was more than I pay for in a month in the US! In all fairness they probably told my sister in law when she booked it but it would have been nice if it was in the fancy information book in the kitchen or a notice in the mudroom!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We appreciate your feed back very much.
Terms and conditions on website, and sent to every enquiry/ booking. Copy also in the 'fancy folder'
We find a huge variation in guests’ usage of gas. For this reason we feel it is fairer to charge gas ‘at cost’ as an extra at the end of the stay, based on actual recorded measurements of consumption. That way the more economical guests are not subsidising the more extravagant users as so often happens when an ‘all-in rental’ figure is quoted. All-in rentals tend to build in a fuel allowance based on average to high usage. Our system means you only pay for what you use.
Regards Mabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

we had a wonderful week staying in the Stable. My son Daughter in law grandaughter and I found everything finished to a high standard and all we needed to make our stay good. The location was ideal for sightseeing. We would really recommend this accomodation to anyone, sure it would suit all sorts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time re- comments
Regards Mabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My partner & I booked a self catering weekend break at the Bothy. When we arrived Mabeth informed us that as the roof was being repaired we were being upgraded to Apple House, all I can say was wow!! The house is beautiful, well equipped, very high standards, words cannot express what it is like. The cottage is very spacious house ideal for a families but also great for couples. Mabeth is an excellent hostess even putting hotwater bottles in the bed to warm it up for us. The information pack is really useful even to the point of having a weather forecast in it. The village of Drymen is not very far where there is a butcher's shop (steaks were beautiful), convenience store, post office & several places to eat also where the Spa is that you have free use of during your stay, though we didn't get a chance to experience it (maybe next time). Loch Lomond is close & while there try a walk up Conic Hill where the views are breath-taking, be advised it is a very long steep walk but worth it even if you can manage halfway like me but my partner made it to the top & we have some lovely photos. All I can say is thank you Mabeth & I would recommend your accommodation to everyone. Jane & Robert, Livingston West Lothian

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Feed back much appreciated thank you
Mabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is your 3rd time staying in Apple house in Loaninghead, it is well equipment, we travelled as a family, me my husband, 5 yr old, 20 week old baby and my mum and dad and there was pently room for everyone! We went to Go ape which is a 15 min car drive, and then onto Go country for more outdoor activies!!!, there are 2 good takeaway places in Balfron which is about 15 min in the car. The swimming pool is great open for 7am - 10pm, kids are not aloud in after 7.30.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks for your comments.

Mabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Just had a wonderful overnight stay close to the east shore of Loch Lomond,whilst touring with my Canadian cousin and her partner.Loaninghead is the place to be it makes a very good base.Mabeth and Malcolm made all four of us most welcome and told us the places to visit and where to eat too,they sent us to Drymen to see the oldest pub in Scotland, we also dined there too (good food) WE WILL be recommending Loaninghead to all our family and friends as it is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in for a long time. 11/10 not many can beat that!! Keith and Linda of Wakefield West Yorks
Moira and Dave Ontario Canada.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Comments appreciated
Thank you Mabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loaninghead Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loaninghead Holidays

Address: Loaninghead, Balfron Station, Glasgow, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loaninghead a former hunting lodge in the days of the Great Marquis of Montrose. Now a independent farm offering you bed and breakfast, or the freedon of self catering in our quality converted Cottages. Authentic, Peaceful Rural Retreat. Stables Cottage sleeps up to 4 persons, 2 bedrooms, Apple House, sleeps up to 5 persons, 3 bedrooms, Bothy Apartment with its outside staircase once staff accomodation sleeps up to 2 persons, 1 bedroom. Quality furnished, offering you super king sized beds for your comfort.You have the choice of bed and breakfast or self catering accommodation. This is an authentic, traditional redsandstone built house on the edge of Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park yet within easy access Glasgow, Stirling, Edinburgh, Perth, Oban, Ayr. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loaninghead Holidays Drymen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loaninghead Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Loaninghead Holidays to your Saves list