We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Main Street, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BQ, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here one night on business, good, friendly check-in, ample size room, clean and all usual frills. Free leisure facilities including pool, spa pool, sauna and steam room, all good and free to use for residents, steam room wasn't working but no great shakes, dined in the resturant, starter and main course were good quality and presented well and prices about average for a Best Western, bar drinks a little expensive but again, in line with the type of hotel. No complaints and a good, relaxing stay, would use again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    271
    122
    51
    40
See reviews for
116
343
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
menstrie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

stayed here 4 of us while waling the west highland way great staff fantastic leisure facilities room ok breakfast good never ate here but had drinks in the bar pricey but nice and relaxing check in and out very fast

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Arrived just as a coach party were entering hotel, but staff made time to book us in, offering help with bags etc. Room was a bit disappointing, small and a bit tired. Also was on the third floor, no lift and as I am disabled could have been a probkem. Leisure facilities good, bar prices silly at £3.75 for a pint of best which retails at £2.20 in Kirkintilloch just diwn the road.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My sister in law & I stayed overnight at this hotel & it was fab. There was a girls night on which we booked separate. The pool, sauna & jacuzzi was great. The food was excellent & the rooms were great. The staff couldn't have been nicer. I would definetly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We did use Tesco Tokens to book a two night stay so wondered if our room would be poorer quality. The room was actually a nice big corner room and very nicely done out. The only fault with the room were the windows which were a bit draughty. I had a lovely swim in the swimming pool which wasn't very big but very quiet when I was in so not a problem.
When we arrived at the hotel two reception staff were talking and we weren't acknowledged for a while and although we were booked in efficiently we weren't really made to feel welcome. The reception often seemed to be left unattended with phones ringing etc and I couldn't find a bell to ring when I wanted to ask them a question. It was the same when we checked out, no-one asked if we had enjoyed our stay or said have a good journey or anything. I felt some staff training would be helpful. We had the feeling no-one was properly in charge while we were there.
We had a meal on the first night and the food was really good although not generous portions. My husband got the smallest Espresso Coffee we have ever seen and refused to accept it. The waiter came back and took the sugar away saying "You won't be needing this then" The menu didn't really seem to change either so we didn't eat here the second night. The two glasses of wine we had were pretty expensive.
Breakfast was really good with plenty of buffet selections and you could order freshly cooked fried and poached eggs and other things. The breakfast staff were very pleasant.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a lovely relaxing overnight stay with breakfast and use of spa facilities. Reception very friendly on arrival our room was a good size and had everything we needed. We used the spa facilities which were nice enough. We had dinner in the restaurant the food was very good but the service was quite unorganised and slow. The bar is cosy and relaxing and the lounge areas are very nice. Breakfast was excellent there was a good choice of continental and traditional scottish breakfast. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamill, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 night dinner, bed and breakfast stay. Have stayed in the hotel a number of times and good to see that the bedrooms have been refurbished to a good standard and all communal areas are fine with nice big lounge to relax. Only disappointment was dinner on the first night. Quality was very poor and portion sizes small. Service was very slow and a bit disorganised. On the second night we were tempted to eat elsewhere but wanted to give the diner a second chance and it was a little better although the set menu was more or less the same choice as the night before. I recommend the hotel for a short break but please address the evening meal.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa

Address: 22 Main Street, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa Drymen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.