We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a pew” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kip in the Kirk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kip in the Kirk
Save
You added Kip in the Kirk to your Saves list
The Old Church | 11 Stirling Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Room with a pew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with friends in this superb B&B

Francis and Jonnie could not have been more helpful, even took us back to Balamha to collect our cars from the previous nights wedding function

Lovely clean rooms and excellent breakfast, well worth a stay

Thank you

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
22
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We relly enjoyed this place: warm freshly bakes scones upon arrival and very comfy beds. Excellent shower and friendly hosts! We got unbiased recommendations for dinner and good directions for the walk the next day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were a very large group - of adults and young kids - who needed some to stay rather last minute (weather forecast put us off camping) and this place was an absolute find! Immaculate, well equipped, comfortable, welcoming (scones!), spacious and perfect location. Frances was incredibly accommodating and v thoughtful too. A truly memorable stay - and a place to return to many times. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We took both rooms for 3 nights B&B with Frances and Johnny. It was lovely. The standard of accommodation is excellent and we really enjoyed the space and comfort of the lounge and kitchen area. Our 16 and 13 year old children made themselves at home in no time. Breakfast was fabulous - set us up for the whole day. We were really well looked after and both Frances and Johnny were very friendly and made us feel so welcome. We would definitely go back and would highly recommend this fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night as my partner was walking Ben Lomond with friends the next day. We were greeted with fresh coffee & homemade scones, lovely!
We had a double room with private bathroom, both were immaculate. The bed was super comfy, the bedding is supersoft.
Johnny was so welcoming & informative. Even letting me keep the room on a bit longer. Beautiful place to stay with enough pubs & places to eat 2 mins away. Oh breakfast was fab too x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We only stayed for one night at the Kip in the Kirk in lovely Drymen, but we had so much fun!

During the planning of our (short) Schotland trip, Frances already sent us some useful hints for our journey from Edinburgh to Drymen: Stirling Castle, lunch at Courtyard Café, Glengoyne whisky tasting and natural salmon leap near Drymen: the entire day planned with nice stuff. Lovely B&B in an old church, good advise on pubs for dinner, clean and very comfortable room with our own bath room, living room attached with a large kitchen and the best breakfast!

We could borrow a kilt for our walk over Conich hill: that was fun! Frances drove with us to drop our car in Balmaha and brought us back to Drymen with her own car: much better walk from that side over the hill to Balmaha than up and down from Balmaha returning the same way that you go up. Thanks for the hint! Too bad you didn't predict the weather correctly :-P Kidding!

Too bad for the Kip that Drymen is mainly a one-night stop on the WHW, 'cause it's a really nice place with lovely hosts Frances and Jonny. You should spend two nights at least if you have time to spend for a drive around the countryside, a boat-trip on Loch Lomond or just chilling in Drymen and Balmaha.

We loved our stay and if we ever decide to do the entire WHW (which I would love to do!) we will definitely stay at the Kip again! Hope to see you again and thanks for you hospitality!

Best regards!
Pat & Mat from The Netherlands

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you to Frances and Jonny for a really wonderful stay. I predict this place will be winning a Trip Advisor Award some time in the near future, as it is very special.

I would definitely recommend this place. An old church converted to a very warm and modern B&B. The beds were very comfortable, bath room spotless, and there is a sitting room and a kitchen where you can sit and relax and make yourself a cup of tea. Breakfast was also very nice, just what you need to start you off for a days walking.

But the best part is the owners, who not only made us feel very welcome, but also were able to give us lots of tips of where to go, as we were not organised enough to plan anything at all! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kip in the Kirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kip in the Kirk

Address: The Old Church | 11 Stirling Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kip in the Kirk – sleep in the converted Old Church. We have an en suite family room and a double room with private facilities. The large rear hall can accommodate 8 guests in full size bunks, with bed linen, towels and 2 lovely new shower rooms. We will be delighted to welcome you all with tea and homemade scones. Our bunk room is ideally suited to walkers on a budget, families or groups of friends travelling together. A first class continental breakfast will set you up for the day ahead, with freshly prepared items including our next door neighbour’s famous homemade marmalade. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kip In The Kirk Drymen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kip in the Kirk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.