We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quirky, thoughtful and vegan/veggie friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mulberry Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mulberry Lodge
Gartness Road | By Drymen, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0DW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Drymen B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, quirky, thoughtful and vegan/veggie friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed with Yvonne for a night mainly as a staging point for a good walk but also as a treat and it was more than we could have hope for. The decor made the place feel a bit luxurious but Yvonne was really practical and friendly too.

We were able to ask a bit about local knowledge and peruse photo books, while sitting on the upstairs chaise lounge and the wood burner was well stoked in the eve.

My girlfriend is vegan and Yvonne bought us soya milk specially (which she gave us when we left) and stole her husbands cinnamon bagels for us after discovering they were vegan!

Great place. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDrymen, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Rohan and Rosa Thank you for your review which is very much appreciated. I hope that all went well with Rosa's exams and wish you both the very best. Yvonne & David (who sacrificed his bagels!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
61
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Possibly - my partner and I stayed at Yvonne's lodge at the end of our first leg of the West highland Way. The first thing you'll notice is that it has the PERFECT location, right on the WHW and only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre.

Next, the lodge itself is a stunningly cozy place to relax in after your travel. We plopped ourselves on a massive couch and watched the Olympics while reading some of their massive reference books and taking in their incredible interior design. Seriously, for a B&B it's pretty incredible.

Waking up the next day and you'll probably visit the thing I was most blown away by - the colossal downstairs bathroom: a standalone bathtub, thick fur rug, heated floor, two massive sinks that could double as bathtubs, victorian jester masks on the wall and a shower the size of a four-poster are just some of the highlights. I was impressed.

Plus, Yvonne makes the best breakfast you'll recieve on all of the WHW. And she wont let you leave until you're absolutely stuffed!

Seriously, just stay here. It becomes the bechmark by which all subsequent B&Bs will be judged.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDrymen, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
What can I say but thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It is great to get such fab feedback from my guests. I wish you a very Happy New Year and hope you had a good Christmas. Take care and we may see you again in 2013. Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here on our first night walking the West Highland Way - the route pretty much runs past the front door.

Our room was newly decorated with a very comfortable bed. It had good views to farm fields behind where we could watch cows being fed. There was a deck area but it was too cold for us to sit out!

Breakfast was great – probably the best we had the whole week, especially the huge sausage and thickly cut bacon. It sets you up for a good days walk!

The pubs of Drymen are a 5-10 minute walk. Make sure you take a torch as there are no street lights on the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDrymen, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Mulberry Lodge and that you appreciated the Scottish breakfast. You certainly need a good start in the morning especially when it is very cold. I am so sorry that I forgot to mention that there were torches on the hall table for your use, but obviously you got back in one piece. Take care and have a great Christmas. Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhausen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We started in Drymen for the West Highland Way. The Mulberry Lodge is near the village Drymen, just a few minutes walk to the local pub. Located directly along the route it is perfectly located next to a small stream. The old gate lodge is amazingly renovated and furnished. We were warmly welcomed. Our room had a nice view to the garden with a private terrace. The bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast, was the best we ever had in a B&B. It was hard to leave this lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDrymen, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I am so pleased that you chose to stay in Mulberry Lodge for your first night's stay while walking the WHW. I hope you had a great adventure, the weather was not too bad and you took home lots of good Scottish memories. Take care Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our first night of walking the west highland way. We stayed in the ensuite, and everything was very clean and comfortable. Our clothes were soaking wet after walking in the rain for several hours, so we were really glad to see some radiators around the room to dry our things on, and Yvonne was also nice enough to let us use her dryer. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. All in all, the room was great value for our money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDrymen, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing Mulberry Lodge. I hope you had a brilliant holiday and that the rain did not continue for too long! Kind regards Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Used this excellent B&B for our first two nights while walking the West Highland Way. This is great place to stay with a very friendly welcome, very nice rooms including a great sitting room for guests and some more than useful local advice. What a great place to begin the WHW - and so convenient for an evening walk into Drymen.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDrymen, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your great review. David and I were delighted that you were able to experience the Salmon Leap in all it's glory and had a fantastic holiday. Take care Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for one night in early August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely, clean and well presented, the owner was very friendly and a lovely peaceful setting. Great location for a walk into town that night where there was a good choice for food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDrymen, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your great review. I hope you had an excellent holiday and that the weather was kind. Take care Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mulberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry Lodge

Address: Gartness Road | By Drymen, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Mulberry Lodge, B & B, The West Highland Way, Drymen, Loch Lomond" - Welcome to our 19th-century lodge. Mulberry Lodge is a delightful old lodge house built in 1888 which still retains its character and period features. Enjoy the peace and tranquil location of Mulberry Lodge which sits on its own overlooking fields surrounded by wooded areas in the peaceful and beautiful environs of Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mulberry Lodge Drymen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulberry Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mulberry Lodge to your Saves list