We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luib Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Luib Hotel to your Saves list
Luib Hotel
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   A85 between Killin and Crianlarich | Glen Dochart, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“superb stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great welcome from a lovely couple who own and run the Luib Hotel. I expect if you rate a place on the make of trouser press and demand a selection of at least three different types of olive with your Martini, then it may not hit the heights. However, in terms of value, welcome, comfort and fun, the Luib Hotel is a winner. Some of the decor could be said to be 'interesting', but I would prefer that to bland and corporate. We had a great time and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    33
    6
    2
    9
See reviews for
24
76
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Dreary, dark and not what we had imagined from the reviews. Coming straight into the bar where what could have been a very welcoming area was again dark and dreary. a huge fireplace full with logs should have been lit and the inital entry so different. We were quickly shown our room by the barman and the journey to the room was silent and the surroundings and decor very poor - the feeling of 'oh no this is not going to be good' setting in. The room had modern wallpaper which was very out of place with the very tired old room. Basic and a bed for the night if you are tired and stuck for somewhere to go maybe.

The location is wonderful as is the whole area but this didn't blind us - the owners should really make more of an effort if they want to be in the hotel trade as i think what could be a characterful old inn has been stripped of this and lets Scotland tourism down, however they are not the only ones.

Deciding that having arrived at 5pm, it was too early to eat and we could definitely not have contemplated spending time in the room so we decided to head out to Crianlarich. We never went back! We booked into the Best Western Crianlarich and from entering the hotel it was like night and day, fabulous views and how a hotel should be- and was actually cheaper than the Luib using booking.com. We paid £60 for room and breakfast at the Luib, I think £35 would be more acceptable.

I know this review is long but i think i had to explain our experience for the review. it's our opinion and i can't judge the other 'reviews' showing on tripadvisor for this hotel, but please think carefully before you book.

Room Tip: Sorry, I couldn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuibHotel, Owner at Luib Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We were very disappointed to read your review of your experience at our hotel, of which we are very proud.

We regret that you deemed it necessary to post the comments that you did instead of telling us about them after you were shown your room. We accept that all of us are free to express our opinions but we should proffer those opinions safe in the knowledge that they are based on absolute facts and not made with some malice aforethought.

Please read the other reviews posted regarding the night when you were supposed to have stayed here and you will see that the fire was burning, everything was cosy and not dark and dreary. (being a listed building we are unable to install panorama windows or skylights, buildings that date back to the 17th century had few and small windows to retain warmth in the winter months).When you arrived there were guests and locals enjoying the bar area, the barman, who is also the owner, noticed that you felt uncomfortable in the presence of other guests and therefore escorted you immediately to your room. All guests are told when shown to their room that if they have any problems or wishes that they should immediately contact the barman or his partner, we are sure you can imagine how surprised we and the other guests were to see you marching speechlessly out of the hotel. As you only took the room key and not the front door key with you we waited till the early hours of the next morning for you to return, we tried to call you on your mobile but this was not being answered.

As you will recall, this is not a bothy but a family run business which has been in existence for over 300 years. Our business prides itself in having a good reputation which is very important to ensure the continuance of the business. Comments based on the business are always welcome; such allows us to cater for the changing needs of our guests. Comments based on supposed shortcomings and exaggerated circumstances achieve little purpose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Coll, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just back from the 'Indian Night'. Although we live locally we had never been before. Very nice old world highland hotel in a fantastic setting amongst snow laden mountains, The bar/dining room was cosy with an inviting coal fire and a relaxing atmosphere. We were made most welcome by the owner and had a lovely meal in comfortable surroundings. My father-in-law worked in India for five years and was well impressed with the standard of the Luibs Indian food. £39 for three including drinks was very reasonable indeed. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have spent a week enjoying the great hospitality and warm welcome of James and Nelly! The rooms are clean and warm, the food is spectacular (recommend the home-made soups, lasagne and curry night, mmmmm!) and the warm cosy evenings in the bar/restaurant are perfect (hearty log fire, great company, fabulous range of whiskies.....)! This lovely hotel really is a wee hidden gem in the highlands! A perfect base to the southern highlands, whether walking, munro-bagging or just passing through- don't miss it, enjoy!!

Would recommend this friendly family run hotel- will definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First of all a big 'thank you' to James and Nelly for making us feel so welcome and looking after us so well. After just one night we feel we've made two new friends. We were on a 530 mile journey to Glendale on the Isle of Skye and chose the Luib to break our journey. We're so glad we did! It was -3 outside but we were warm and comfortable, loved the food and slept very well. Service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We really enjoyed the chance to relax, enjoy a read and a couple of crosswords by the fire, dine well and sample the malt. Breakfast was a real treat and set us up for the long slog to Skye. We will certainly be coming back - the chance to stay at the Luib Hotel is going to be a major factor in choosing our next holiday destination in the Highlands.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A small family run Hotel in an ideal central Highland location with old style hospitality, great food and drink and a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere. A great place to chill out and unwind but in an excellent location for 'Munro bagging' (Ben Lawers , Ben More et al), or the West Highland Way.

Room Tip: No lift for wheelchair users as it is an old Drovers Inn but the stairs are easy to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Coming from Edinburgh me and my girlfriend just fancied a night away in the middle of nowhere out in the country and came across this hotel on booking.com . after checking the reviews on here it was a no-brainer. Just arrived back today so stayed early February. The place did live up to past reviews. Really is a nice wee country B&B. The owners were so friendly nothing any trouble whatsoever. After reading the reviews of the food I had high expectations and was not disapointed definatley some of the best food I have had anywhere. Smoked Haddock with Mashed tatties in leek sauce was unreal. And the full fry up in the morning was proper class! Hats off to the chef! It was only us and another 2 folk staying in hotel for the night due to it being winter but all we wanted was to chill away from everything anyway. The room was really nice and shower/bathroom very nice too. The bar really does have a nice country feel to it and we'll definatley be back later in the warmer months for a longer visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luib Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luib Hotel

Address: A85 between Killin and Crianlarich | Glen Dochart, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luib Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small friendly hotel in the beautiful Trossachs area, full of character and charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luib Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luib Hotel Crianlarich, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luib Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.