We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suie Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crianlarich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suie Lodge Hotel
Save
You added Suie Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Glendochart | Near, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Crianlarich B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights with my 2 Jack Russells in this family run hotel. The owners could not have been more accommodating or welcoming, towards me and my four legged friends. Lots of places say that they will accommodate pets but they are often not particularly enthusiastic about it and impose so many restrictions that you end up wishing you had not stayed there. Not the case here. Nothing was too much trouble. They even provided a basin of salt water to sooth my aching feet after my endeavours on various Munros. The family that own this hotel have succeeded in creating a lovely relaxed and homely atmosphere which is often sadly missing from so many establishments.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuieLodge, Owner at Suie Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for such a great review, it was lovely to meet you, Minnie and Riley and glad that you all had a good time staying with us. Hope the camping went okay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
13
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on day 3 of the West Highland Way which ended in Bridge of Orchy, 20miles away.

The manager in Bridge of Orchy and Suie Lodge could not have done more to make us welcome along the Way as they organised transporting us between the two hotels, supplied us with tea en route and kept the kitchen open to feed us at Suie Lodge!

The owner and her mother waited on us hand and foot, taking our bags in, hanging up our wet clothing and giving me a basin to soak my poorly feet!

Breakfast was fantastic with the whole selection (porridge, cooked breakfast, cereals) on offer and plenty of good quality tea coffee and toast.

I would most highly recommend this hotel for a wee Scottish break!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuieLodge, Owner at Suie Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We always try to make our guests feel at home and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Comfortable accomodation and very friendly staff but the stay was let down by the very poor food. The vegetable lasgane had literally no vegetables or sauce in it. The meat dish we had was very chewy. As for breakfast...it's a long time since I've seen tinned tomatoes on a menu!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuieLodge, Owner at Suie Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, the title of which could be viewed as incredibly detrimental and more than having a problem with tinned tomatoes.
We are glad to hear that you found the accommodation comfortable but equally disappointed that you did not find your meals up to our usual high standard. It would have been more reasonable to bring it to our attention at the time when something could have been done about it rather than learning about it a little over a month later on a review site.
As for the tinned tomatoes at breakfast....well unfortunately you can't please all of the people all of the time but had you asked a fresh tomato would have been provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been staying here on my Scottish munro bagging trips for the last 5 years and cannot speak recommend it highly enough! You will always find a very warm welcome,so much so that after all this time coming I feel like part of the family.I enjoy my stay so much that I have no problems in using Suie Lodge as a base and driving out upto 2 hrs to do my Munro bagging.Nothing is too much trouble for the guys to improve your stay,wether it's using the drying room,advice on local matters,warm soapy water plus sponge to clean a muddy dog etc.Can't wait to get back.Once you've stayed here you may find yourself hooked!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My second stay here and the welcome was even better second time round! Excellent food, very friendly staff and first-hand advice from the local mountain rescue team about a climb I was doing the next day!
I was introduced to "Bellhaven Scottish Black", a more than adequate substitute for Guinness and the bar was exceptionally well stocked with some excellent malts and wonderful advice to accompany them!
Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuieLodge, Owner at Suie Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, it is always nice to know that we are getting it right. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times on my way to the highlands. The staff are great, friendly and obliging, good for a chatter about the area. Food nothing extravagant but good sound choice in the evening and the breakfast sets you up for the day. The bar is very well stocked with Scotlands finest! Take an after dinner walk along the disused railway.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We have used this hotel on a few occasions and would not hesitate to recommend this lovely family run hotel. A very warm, welcoming and homely atmosphere always greets you upon arrival And nothing is to much trouble.. Fantastic food and relaxing environment. Will be definitely going again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suie Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suie Lodge Hotel

Address: Glendochart | Near, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying in an area of outstanding natural beauty approximately 8 miles from Crianlarich and 7 miles from Killin on the A85, the Suie Lodge Hotel is a former hunting lodge built in 1760, situated in attractive 5 acre grounds. Family run it offers a warm welcome, good home cooked meals and a well stocked bar. Open all year it is has full central heating and during the winter months you can warm yourself in front of the open fire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suie Lodge Hotel Crianlarich, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suie Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.