We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great staff, great food and great snow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Sco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great price, great staff, great food and great snow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Yet another good experience for us with the hotel at the weekend.

We decided late on Friday night that we would head for Glencoe, too late to book a room.
Got there, had breakfast ourselves because of a sleep in and got talking to the manager who we had met the previous week. He made room for us on the shuttle (all 4 of us) even though we were not guests at the time because they had some free space. Offered to pay for the trip but offer was declined.

We ended up booking in for the 4 of us to have dinner at night partly because of the good service as well as the great food!

On top of all that, after dinner the bar manager asked if we'd mind moving to the sofas by the fire as they had another party of four coming in. No problem at all, we were done anyway and we were happy to help out given the rest of the day.
For moving we were given a round of drinks as a thank you!

This is our second experience of the hotel having stayed there last week and our friends first time after having driven past so many times on the way North.

For anyone traveling, or even anyone reasonably local (like we are) I'd absolutely recommend giving the hotel a try.

Confirmation - I aint linked to the hotel in any way! :-) Just had such good experiences with their services (and more importantly people) that I thought it deserved to be brought up.

Skier Special:

Available from December 2009 until April 2010 DBL/TWIN Room only £40 Bed & Breakfast

Single Room only £25 Bed & Breakfast Ski tickets and passes available from the hotel and a free shuttle to and from the ski resort.

Late check out on day of departure so you can have a shower and be relaxed for your journey home.

Note: Lift tickets can also be purchased at the hotel so saves queuing when you get there.

------------------------------------------

Gary

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Thank you for your very kind review,my team are delighted with your comments as they constantly strive to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.The snow has been fantastic this year and may it long continue.Its a fantastic boost to scottish skiing.
I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    183
    91
    33
    26
See reviews for
95
289
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Me and 5 friends stay over at the hotel between Friday and Saturday of the 19th & 20thof February and all had a fantastic stay with the skiers package (dont know how they do it for the money they charge). Lovely reception staff, pleasant room, breakfast was fantastic on both days with plenty of staff on hand to assist and provide a very warm service, minibus transfer to Glencoe was nice and relaxing which gives you a chance to get ready for skiing whilst someone else drives, driver of the minibus is a blether but funnt with it, evening meal on the Saturday was very nice but we left it a wee bit late to book our table(8pm) so by the time our main meal was being enjoyed the evenings entertainment started up which was a bit on the loud side if your underneath the speakers, so al conversation was killed until we finished our meal and retired to the lounge area. Superb hotel so dont drive past it at the junction because your looking at road signs go in. Looking forward to arranging another trip in March. Happy first birthday when it comes.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Great praise indeed and thank you for your kind wishes,we are truly thankful to you for taking the time to write your review.I am so pleased all was to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back in march.Regards Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

All the staff were helpful nothing was too much trouble, the room was tidy and spacious, this hotel does cater for all mountain & adventure activity's but is positioned to be close to all amenities yet set in a little idillic village, for a pieceful nights sleep
good points' location , helpful staff , great lounge/bar
bad points ; how could there be , talk about value for money

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a peaceful nights sleep,no doubt it is the mountain air that seems to act as a sedative.your comments are most valuable to my team so thank you for taking the time to let me know.
Kind Regards Nigel Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

we booked on the 'skiers special' rate, £40 B&B. This proved to be excellent value. The room was comfortable, with nice toiletries (TV channels a bit hit and miss, but it is in the highlands!) Evening meals are served in the lovely relaxed lounge, heated by log burning stoves. Breakfast was excellent, great fresh fruit salad, and wondeful kippers.
We will definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review,i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay,apologies for the experience with the tv channels but it sounds like the kippers made up for it!I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.Regards Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

This is a little gem of a hotel. We stayed here on a last minute cheapy and got a great b+b deal. Rooms are nice (although shower not as hot as i would have liked) and spacious. Their bar area/dining room is lovely and has got a really nice cosy feel about it, although I do feel that they could make better use of the space in the middle of the floor with other tables and chairs. Food was lovely and very reasonable, it was very busy and we had to wait for a wee while, but the head waiter did inform us of that and we were not bothered in the slightest as the atmosphere was lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel and will look at staying again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Thank you for review,my apologies for the shower,it is always important to receive constructive feedback in order that we can constantly improve our guests services.I was pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.My team will be delighted with your comments.Nigel Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Just returned from a couple of days Skiing in Glencoe, we stayed at this Hotel and had a fab time, so glad we booked here to stay as it was excellent!
From the minute we arrived to our departure I could not have found any downfalls and I am a very fussy person, the Hotel was very welcoming and in a perfect location for walking , skiing etc.
just minutes from Loch Lomond and a nice drive to Glencoe ski area,( lots of Deer and other wildlife & beautiful scenery to view on route)...
We had booked a basic room for the ski deal ....a great deal it was too..our room was cosy and clean, the bathroom although basic was clean and all you needed was there for you.
This Hotel provided transport to the ski area which was absolutely brilliant, Jerry the driver was so friendly and nothing was a problem to him... absoloute top guy! but that goes for all the staff at the Crianlarich Hotel as they were all so nice and friendly, not sickly friendly like some are but genuinely friendly and warm, this is a real credit to the Crianlarich Hotel, we were looked after very well and the food is good too... oh! and a toasty warm boot and ski room too store your gear after a days skiing...fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciated the scottish hospitality.I agree jerry is a top man and he is delighted that someone has finally recognised this fact.All your kind comments will mean alot to my team who take great pride in their work.I hope you visit us again soon.Nigel Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I can really recommend this hotel. On my arrival I was treated with much respect and made to feel welcome (not just a number) as you get in some hotels. The staff were friendly, helpful and very courteous at all times. The food was excellent, and the dining room had a very relaxing atmosphere. My room was clean and tidy with tea/coffee making facilities supplied in my room plus biscuits to enjoy after a long days drive. All in all, a VERY pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Thank you so much for your encouraging review,i am delighted that you felt at home during your stay with us.My team will be delighted with your review of the service and hospitality.I look forward to welcoming you back to crianlarich in the future.
Kind Regards Nigel Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel

Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.