We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Decisions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mixed Decisions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed with our two young boys, 5 & 1 as there was a tour staying the same time, we felt less of a priority prior to them, we stayed in a spacious room but on arrival it was cold and smelly and not very clean, I'd like to point out that the high and low dusting could be done a lot more frequently, as I'm pregnant the dust etc affected me quite abit. The staff we're wonderful particularly one girl who I regret not asking for her name but had short hair and glasses on, she took the time to come talk to us and involved our boys and made them chuckle a lot, also Pamela & Wayne on breakfast times couldn't of done enough, Jason on the other hand a very abrupt attitude, heeing and hawing at our boys running around, and touching things as much as he saw we we're telling them off, asking for sauce and cutlery, we had to find him to ask what the soup was and he rushed us to order and my husband doesn't enjoy being referred to as "pal" and when I had told him we joined the tables I got "aye no danger pal" not the kind of dialect I would suspect from staff also would it kill him to smile he looks like he'd rather be elsewhere, he really did make us feel like a hindrance and very uneasy, only on that matter we remain to have mixed decisions on our stay but the hotel itself was beautiful we loved the stuffed animals and the rest of the staff, the location to was lovely so many views and things to look at.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, We use all comments and feedback as a tool to improve the service we offer.
We hope to welcome you again soon

Kind Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    183
    91
    33
    26
See reviews for
95
289
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here 16-18 Feb on a bed and breakfast deal. Good choice of food on first morning then it went array the second as they seemed to run out of food. The evening meals were a bit on the pricey side but I couldn't fault the quality. Our 1st night thrre was a wedding on, so chaos abounded but the next day was peaceful and relaxing. Excellent location for touring the Highlands and locks. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for you kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Rooms:
Nice and spacious room, bathroom cold and in need of a good bleach, heating not on all the time so room was cold a lot.

Restaurant:
Food was good, and well presented, slight delays but was soon rectified. Breakfast was okay and ran superbly, by the two named below and two others we don't have names for, a older lady with redish hair in black and pink trainers which we didn't like seeing, and a man who was loud and abit obnoxious who was disappearing more than he was working.

Staff:
Most of The staff we saw were great but the two main individuals we saw every day and stood out from the rest were Mandy and Wayne, they communicated well with each guest aswell as us always made time to chat and have a joke with everyone aswell as keeping on top of everything, they made it look so easy just watching them, they were definitely in there element, then we found out as we were leaving that they both had just started two days before, and we had thought they had been there for years, they made us feel welcome greeting us every day asking us how our day was even suggesting drinks or foods or things to do or places to go but what made it for us was when they shook our hands and told us it was a pleasure meeting us and they hope to see us again in the future, an to have a safe journey home, we will most definitely be back again and we hope to see these two happy workers amongst the others.

One minor issue was the prices, it seemed abit much for a pint of tennants and a small glass of wine, and also the stuffed animals were very creepy especially when they are in a cold darkish hall type room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for you kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend on a Groupon deal. The negatives first - the water in the room we had was scalding hot (there was a warning notice up), the shower had no real power behind it, the room we were in was really hot, even with the heating turned off. The hotel is on a main road and not far from a rail track, so fairly constant noise meaning you couldn't have the window open at night to cool the room down if you're a light sleeper. The decor in the function room is a bit dated, with a weird looking stuffed fox beside the window! However, the positives far outweigh the negatives. The hotel was very easy to find, there's ample parking, its set amongst stunning scenery, the room was very comfortable, the food was fantastic - I can highly recommend one of the "grown up" hot chocolates! The staff were incredibly friendly and professional, and I got the impression that nothing would have been a problem for them if you had needed to ask anything - if only staff at all hotels were like this! We will definitely stay again - just hope the weather is a bit better next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for you kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I have driven past this hotel on my way north many times over the years but I never considered stopping off and going inside. However, one evening as I was driving from Glasgow to Fort William it started to snow quite heavily and when I got to Crianlarich I decided get off the road and continue my journey in the morning. As the hotel is on the main road north, I booked in for the night. What a pleasant surprise! The staff were helpful and friendly and obviously used to weary drivers looking for a bed for the night. I was given a large, clean, pleasantly furnished double room with breakfast for £40! - which is exceptionally good value in comparison to many more expensive hotels I have stayed in. The hotel has a cosy bar area, attractive conservatory style dining room and relaxing lounge and reception areas. Breakfast was well organised and the hot and cold buffet was fresh and plentiful. A good place to bear in mind as an overnight stop or as a central location for touring the wider area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Morning
Thank you for you kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We loved the hotel,the bed was bigger than our house lol.nice and warm hotel,friendly staff,would definitely recommend.the food was very nice,we took our dog TY and there were no issues what so ever,this hotel is a good stop for near by walks or car trips ,if ever go back to Scotland this hotel will be on our list.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
]Good Morning

Thank you for you kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Like a previous reviewer we used a Groupon voucher and it may have been because the hotel was quiet, but our room was of a high standard & also the breakfast was cooked to order rather than buffet . So no complaints on that score, though my partner was disappointed with his evening meal .
Without exception the staff were friendly & helpful & give a great impression of Scottish hospitality
However I'm only giving it 4 stars because of the bar prices - £11 for a bottle of Magners & a glass of wine !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for you kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel

Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.