We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“onenighter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“onenighter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our premier room was very comfortable with mountain views
Price very competitive better value than a city hotel
Food was first class
Log Fires nice lounges
Colonsay ales excellent
Handy for main routes, Citylink buses and great railway journeys from local station

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Good Evening
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    183
    91
    33
    26
See reviews for
95
289
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

on our way up to fort William we stopped off for a break and bit to eat. we both opted for sandwiches and they were delicious. a nice side salad and some chips finished off the meal

both were well filled and very nice !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Good Morning
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you again enjoyed your visit with us.
Hope we will see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place was really rather good. I don't know why I was surprised, maybe because I have passed this junction dozens of times without giving the hotel a thought. Indeed, until a few years ago, if I am not mistaken, this was a 'Highland Heritage' coach tours only place, but is now under the branding of Best Western. It was just fine. Walking in like we did, we paid the 'rack rate' of £99 for a double and our pal paid £89 for a twin with single occupancy. This is a bit steep for a BW 3*, but the lady at reception was so nice, we bought it (there are much cheaper deals on the internet, and we met people in the pub who got a weekend break for about the same price we paid). We also bought dinner in the restaurant for our pal to soften the blow of being stung for a twin. The food was excellent. As we left, a family came into the restaurant, but they were soon to be found looking very happy and well cared for in the somewhat cheaper Rod and Reel, a very basic scottish style pub where we went for a pint later. Conclusion: just because you drive past The Crianlarich Hotel every time you go to the highlands, don't rule it out, its very good, but do book ahead to get the better deal.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the road - rooms at the front are noisy and you will get no sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Good Morning
Thank you for your kind comments, we use all feedback received to enable us to improve our guest experience.
The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here twice, the first was with a "groupon" offer, the second(the following year) was with an email from the hotel with a special offer.

First time we stayed we have a lovely front facing room looking over the hills and the little village, second time was a back facing room with several noisey trains and not much view at all.

The food was, for the most part, great. The buffet breakfast was great. For dinner, the menu was full of seasonal local food. Only problems we had was very fatty pork belly and stovies which was just a stew and other guests commented the same that it was not actual stovies.

The hotel itself is lovely, staff were great, clean rooms, nice decor, plenty of parking and easy reach of Glen Coe/Oban/Fort William.

Room Tip: Front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Good Evening
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We use all feedback to enable us to improve our guest experience.
We will be launching our new menu soon and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skye
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The nearby Riverside B&B recommended this hotel and we we're not disappointed, what a lovely meal I had with 3 friends. The menu was traditional, I chose soup with haddock which resembled a whale. I recommend and would return here for a meal whilst passing anytime, good traditional well priced quality food, nicely served.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Good morning
Thank you for taking the time to leave a your comments, We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Joan peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here last week for 1 night. Emma who checks you in is lovely and even when things go wrong nothing seems to faze her. The upstairs double room was good although the room desperately need some sort of air condtioning as the room was stuffy even after we left the window open while we had dinner. You can't really leave the window all night as you overlook the main road and the railway line is also near by. Our evening meal was very good ( i see they have had bad reports ) Both courses were good and the friendly spanish waitress was very friendly.
At breakfast we felt so sorry for the 2 staff who had to seat people, clear tables, replenish food, dishes etc. They struggled but always with a smile and did the best they could. The food when it was available was tasty but you need more then 2 people working a busy Saturday morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Good morning

Thank you for your comments, we value all guest feed back as it allows us to improve our guest experience.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed one night in family room. Reception very friendly and helpful as are staff in general, but things went down hill from there. Evening meal and restaurant simply not up to the right standards and my wife and I had bad stomachs after eating the chicken dish. As family room is on the road elevation it was very noisy. Due to age of the hotel there is no ventilation so if the room gets too hot, as it did, then you have to open the window and the traffic noise doesn't die down till after 3 in the morning, I can vouch for this due to bad stomach. Breakfast in the morning was chaotic, cereal box bin overflowing, milk was warm by time we got down, had to ask for breakfast bowls and teapot, and teapot was stained when it came. On checking out I wasn't asked about how it was as I think they know they've got some work to do. The staff are lovely but it just seems like they're fighting a losing battle. Best Western, sort this place out. It's in a top spot and the building's got character but it's being let down by the execution.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Good morning
Thank you for your comments, we are disappointed that your stay didn't meet your expectations, if you would like to discuss them further please contact me on 01838300272

Regards
Joan peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel

Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.