We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to the Highlands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gateway to the Highlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stopped here spontaneously for 2 nights in mid-May on our way from Glasgow to Fort William and did not regret it. The hotel is well-located for hiking the West Highland Way and lots of hikers were staying here. On the super-plus side, the restaurant is excellent! We had a light lunch in the bar area one day and a wonderful dinner in the restaurant the following night. Kudos to the chef! We enjoyed the various lounge areas and the bar, especially after finding the backgammon set in one lounge. The hotel is pleasing overall and we had no complaints, although it is true that the furniture in our room was not impressive on first sight. But everything was totally clean and comfortable, including the bathroom. Good breakfasts and good WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    182
    91
    33
    26
See reviews for
94
289
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern England
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here as a group of nine walking Ben Nevis as part of a 3 Peaks challenge, arriving in the evening and leaving in the early hours of the next morning. We therefore saw very little of the hotel other than our rooms. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for serious Ben Nevis walkers as it is a good hour’s drive from Fort William but it’s got a nice location in a picturesque part of Scotland. It looks like a big old house from the outside and sits very close to the road, which can mean lorries passing in the night and sounding like a helicopter taking off outside your window. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and well equipped. We had one huge gripe with this hotel which accounts for such a low rating. When we checked in we ticked off sandwich options for our take-away breakfast and were told it would be put out for us to collect at 3am. In the morning we were very unimpressed to find they’d forgotten our breakfast and there was no one around to contact. They were aware we were part of a tough challenge and were relying on this meal. It was very poor service and we wouldn’t go back.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front suffer a lot from road noise- the most I've ever heard in a hotel anywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. Please contact me on 01838 300 272 to discuss your recent stay

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

In Crianlarich you have very few hotels to choose from, which is good for this hotel because I think most people would go somewhere elsewhere if you had a choice. Very scruffy and dated hotel.

My room was not dirty but because of the dated furniture and shabby look to it made it feel unclean, this is a very basic hotel and it not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Good Evening
Thank you for your comments, we are currently in the process of upgtading our bedrooms.
If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please contact me on 01838 300 272

Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this hotel in January for 13 April and paid the full amount for DBB. On 11 April we had an email from Best Western hoping we enjoy our trip. On arrival at the hotel around 7pm there were two coaches outside and around 10 people sat in reception with coats on. It transpired that half a coach and 8 individual travellers had no rooms. We were taken to another hotel seven miles away and collected the next morning as we had arrived by train. We were offered coffee and the waiter who served us spilled mine in the saucer and then took the coffee from the tray by putting his fingers under the saucer and thumbs on the rim of the cup - yuk!! We were refunded £50 but this is not what we expected from a Best Western hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday 1st June. We arrived at approx 8.30pm. At this time of evening I wasn't confident about getting a room, but the receptionist advised me they had a kingsize room, which was fine. My husband and I had a great meal in the restaurant. Our room was very nicely decorated, a gigantic bed!!! which may I add was very comfy. The decor was very up to date in the room and the bathroom was nice and clean. We had a room at the main road and we did not have any issues with noise. The staff were all helpful, hard working and polite. We would definately stay here again. People don't take enough time to compliment on what's good, instead they want to complain on review sites but won't actually give feedback to the hotel. If people spent a few minutes speaking to management to try and resolve any problems then maybe just maybe the hotel could try and resolve any problems Compliments to the chefs food was amazing!!!!. Again I would not hesitate to stay here again. Angie McCleary

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Good Evening
Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is almost a boutique venue with lots of charm and quirks upon arrival. Rooms seem to be a little on the bijou side but are well appointed with the usual beverage facilities, tv, alarm clock etc. Staff seem to be helpful and will go out of their way to help. The bar is quite small too but has a fair stock of beers and wine to chose from - very decieving product range given you would struggle to get more than four people sat at the bar. We ate in the lounge bar during the day choosing from what the staff described as the new sandwich menu - wow the pesto lemon chicken sandwich was out of this world - very tasty with little tomato halfs and dressed salad on top. We also ate in the main restaurant in the evening, where service was a little slow and the staff seemed under a lot of pressure (maybe some more staff required). Staff knowledge was lacking wih regard to wines and some menu items. The food itself was of a very good quality with a good range of dishes without being overwhelming in size. All the diners at our table agreed the taste of the food was amazing with the salmon roulade and chicken terrine standing out as real winners. The chicken dish with the creamy sauce was also to die for, it had an oatmeal crumb which was really crunchy :) I would also recommend the cheese board which although expensive was good quality with the nicest blue cheese i'e tasted in a while. The hotel looks a bit tired in places but oozes charm. I would stay again and would recommend stopping here to eat if travelling on the A82 as further up in Tyndrum the quality of food is very hit or miss.

Room Tip: The top floor as you can hear footsteps from above in the middle floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, our chefs are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon

Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We staryed here for 2 nights as a base along the route for the West Highland Way. We booked 3 rooms, when handed the room keys, one of them did not even have a key on it..... Another room for our party had no hot water at all, and the third room had curtains which did not blackout the light & a window which did not open properly, also in this room was a plug in airfreshner to hide something, but that was just as smelly! Traffic & train noise makes it impossible to sleep - on our first night there were repairs to the railway tracks opposite the hotel at 3am that lasted an hour. The dated furniture & room decor is horrendous, my advice - strip the rooms out, look at the Premier Inn & Travelodge formula, no clutter, basic rooms - works as successful brands & people buy into it as they know what to expect!! The food service staff urgently need training as dinner & breakfast was just utter choas, the selection over the 2 days differed. Orange juice on day 2 was a pour yourself orange out of the carton!! It was from a dispenser the previous day.... The F&B manager(it said his title on his badge) on duty showed no leadership & has no finesse to his service skills either. Having said that, the food at dinner was lovely.

All in all, avoid, an expensive hotel for what you get, and certainly not a place for a peaceful sleep. Reminded us of Fawlty Towers!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms get traffic and train noise. Back facing rooms also get train noise. There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Good Evening
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and if you would like to discuss your stay please contact me on 01838 300 272.
Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel

Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.