We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, Average Hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crianlarich Hostel

Save Saved
You added Crianlarich Hostel to your Saves list
Crianlarich Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crianlarich Hostel
Station Road, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Average Hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here on the third night of the West Highland Way. When we arrived we had to wait about 10 minutes for anyone to show up at the front desk so that we could check in. When the lady finally came to the window she was rude and unwelcoming. Other than that the facilities were alright..not a memorable place to stay but does the job.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
3
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I regularly stay in Scottish Youth Hostels but staying in this one was by far my worst experience. Firstly, the staff aren't helpful and stood around gossiping with each other while customers were waiting to be served. Secondly, I was told the dorms were single sex so my girlfriend and I (having booked 2 months in advance) were put into separate rooms, which wasn't a problem and was expected. However, I was later joined in my dorm by 3 Asian men and one Asian woman. One of the men passed out and began snoring while the other two took turns at getting into bed with the female. The next day we left the hostel at 10.30 am, when the it closes for cleaning, and on our return all of our food, on our labelled shelf, had vanished (most of it was alcohol with some cheaper items such as tea bags and baked beans). I asked at the front desk and the woman had a look at what had been collected by staff earlier that day and of course only the beans and tea bags were found - I assume the alcohol was taken for personal consumption. I was also told this was unusual and food normally remains in the cupboards for months so maybe the staff were just thirsty the day I stayed. Aside from that, the place was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quimper, France
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

What can I say? I met my partner (Andrew) at Crianlarich Hostel... I know it's not fair to say that but I had stayed there on several times before and always thought it was just great even though I don't like the village itself... Rooms are large enough, kitchen is spacious and well furbished, sitting-room is just wonderful... And Fiona is the best warden of SYHA, if I may dare to say...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Very comfortable hostel with helpful warden. Comfortable bed, and my dorm had a wash basin in it. Good communal areas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Not having stayed at a youth hostel for some years, I was favourably impressed with Crianlarich. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The cooking facilities were good and much needed boot and clothes drying rooms were available.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Having just stayed in the hostel last week i felt compelled to pass on information about th hostel.

First stop the room, it was big and clean if a little devoi of decoration, but it served well as a functional private room for two people and you don't need anything more.

The shower facilities were very good. There was a sperate mens and womens shower/toilet room which contained about 4 stalls and 3 showers each. These were clean and effective with nothing extra. There was also a disabled toilet at the entrance and a seperate shower room which was very good indeed e.g. loads of room and powerful spray!!

Noise levels were ok with a mostly older clientel However i imagine at busy times it might get a little noisey and even when we were there a family of asian tourists were a little inconsiderate to be shouting and slamming doors at midnight when there were so many early morning walkers there. Not the hostels fault and would probably happen anywhere.

Location was very good indeed especially if you are coming on the train as it is about 20m from the station. Car is also equally handy with ample parking and only a minor detour from the main road.

Common area facilities were this hostels strong point. The kithcn was hig and very well equipped with about 10 different stoves and plenty of surface area. The eating area was capacious and comfortable with a friendly and inclusive vibe as well as allowing for some anonmyiy if you wanted it. The lounge area was excellent and very cosy indeed, with a television and some games, including the excellent family fortunes lol!!

I loved this hostel and would make an excellent base for walkers and those passing through. I will return and with a smile on my face.

  • Liked — kitchen and common areas
  • Disliked — room was basic
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crianlarich Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crianlarich Hostel

Address: Station Road, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty lodging in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Crianlarich Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crianlarich Hostel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crianlarich Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.