We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Monachyle Mhor
A84, Kingshouse, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PQ, Scotland
(01877) 384622
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $204
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Accessed down a 4 mile single track road, no phone reception and limited wifi - in the most beautiful setting, it makes you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere when actually only an hour or so from the central belt.
The food is amazing, feature rooms are superb and the staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the menu and belter of a wine list.
Its setting allows for some great walking, or just indluging yourself in a beautifully picturesque part of Scotland.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another fab stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned for a 1 night stay in a courtyard room with our 10wk daughter. Fortunately (for the other guests) she was very well behaved! Dinner was the highlight of the trip...the starters and main courses were sensational. Desert was a little bit disappointing as it didn't reach the same level. Our room was lovely and provided enough space to accommodate us plus the numerous bags, etc that's inevitable when travelling with a baby. Breakfast also fanastic n as usual the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. We'll be back soon as it really is a great destination for a short indulgent trip and we love it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A perfect weekend retreat to celebrate our anniversary - arrived early, left the bags at reception, had some glorious hearty warming soup and Mhor bread and headed off to the hills. The weather was kind and after 4 hours or so we returned to check in. The service was just perfect - chilled champagne and flowers (pre-ordered) awaited us in the lovely room, which was hi-tech but homely and so comfortable. Relaxed and perhaps a wee bit tipsy we went for out evening meal. Every course was a revelation - such lovely flavours and attention to detail. The restaurant service was perfect, attentive, but not "in your face" and completely non-pretentious. No hesitation in recommending the restaurant or hotel - it lived up to, and exceeded our expectations. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“just soup - but delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We drove as far as the hotel as the views were magnificent today. Scotland at its best. We weren't very hungry so opted for soup - which came with delicious Mohr homemade bread, butter and chilled tap water - as we wanted. The soup was fantastic, pity we hadn't room for a meal. For tow people - came to £11. No extra charges - very fair.

I saw round some of the rooms - will be coming back for a special weekend

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went there for a significant birthday of my partners. The place is in ideal settings at the end of a long single track road. We arrived on time, and the restaurant where not even put out when we found out the rest of our party where going to be an hour late! The food was excellent, everything was cooked as it should be, tasted delicious and we even had dessert and coffee outside as it was a nice day, I didn't even think it that expensive I really cant fault this establishment at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monachyle Mhor also viewed

Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monachyle Mhor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.