We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abysmal - Where is the Owner-Manager?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Monachyle Mhor to your Saves list
Monachyle Mhor
Balquhidder, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balquhidder
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Abysmal - Where is the Owner-Manager?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I wrote the first part of this review while we sat at our table waiting for our main course.

I addressed the note to the manager-owner and sent it to reception via email before we finished our meal.

"We arrived today, 5 September 2009, and are still in the process of having dinner. It is now 10:25 PM. Our experience so far at your property has been very unsatisfactory.

We entered the lounge at 8 PM for an 8:30 PM dinner seating. After obtaining some drinks we were twice offered a wine list in the space of an hour. It never arrived.

At 9:35 PM we were seated for dinner. After several attempts to obtain a wine list I went to the bar and ordered a bottle of wine. I ordered the least expensive wine I could find, not due to cost, but since everything about our experience to that point was disappointing.

Our Amuse Boche came before I could get our wine. Our starters came before our wine. I sent them back. We even managed to get some water - eventually.

We have now gotten and eaten our mains. It is 10:30 PM.

The food is very nice but unfortunately our experience leaves us with a very poor opinion of your property.

We are here for another night.

I would like to speak with you and would also hope that the disappointments of this evening are not repeated."

So, where we contacted by the manager-owner. No. This property advertises itself as "family operated". We were told the owner was present. I must conclude he was not interested in the welfare of his customers.

As for the food. Generally it was good. A few of the portions were small. The Amuse Bouche was repetitive. Either a small sorbet or an oyster- both dinners. The soup served between the starter and main is a small demi-tasse.

We stayed in the newer rooms. The rooms were comfortable. The bed was a bit small. It seemed to be short of queen size. The reading lights on the each side of the bed are not separately controllable. Either both are on or off. Weak Wi-Fi in the main building but no reception in the rooms across the courtyard.

Breakfast was unremarkable. A small glass of orange or apple juice. Some menu choices of cereals, plate of berries and a half of a grapefruit. The hot options were pretty much the standards.

No offers or interest in providing any local information from the staff and reception. On our second day they did not even ask when we would like a time for dinner.

Service was much better the second night when there were fewer people dining however by then the failures of the first day and the lack of interest from the owners had pretty much set the tone of our visit.

Our advice. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    59
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
31
246
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We spent 2 nights 3 days here at the end of August. I'd read a lot of the reviews on this site which gave it 5 stars and as a couple who love their food we were really looking forward to getting up there. On the plus side its a beautiful setting right next to a loch. The rooms are very high standard- excellent bathrooms and our room was nice and spacious. I thought the place was slightly let down by the food and service though. Some of the dinner courses were very good but some pretty average, and I thought it was a shame that the hotel doesn't give you the option of sausages for breakfast (why?!).

The staff are all polite but we felt they didn't really go out of their way to help. We asked for local info on walks and activities and they weren't particularly helpful to be honest, especially compared to some of the other places we've stayed in the highlands where they really can't do enough for you and this place didn't feel the same.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We spent 3 great days - and nights - at Monachyle Mhor. The lochside setting is beautiful and the interior of the hotel is delightful: a great mix of old/traditional and modern. We loved the look and the "feel" of the place; a lot of care has gone into it. The staff was great: helpful and efficient. The food was very good and attractively served; at risk of being a bit harsh (and a bit fussy) i would say it's close to, but not quite, Michelin 1-star standard.

Although I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a small, luxury hotel, but without all the fancy facilities like a swimming pool, etc, there are of course a few "negatives" -- and there's no point writing a review which isn't frank and balanced. The negatives were minor but were: slow service at dinner (even allowing for the standard of the food, which isn't conveyor-belt cooking), a waitress who barely spoke English, and (even though I'm a big fan!) almost constant Frank Sinatra music in the bar and nearby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

A fabulous place to stay - the food was superb, the service impeccable. The room was spot on, everything you could want was there for you. The enthusiasm and professionalism if the staff was first rate. As it was a cold February we'd asked for a room you could take a dog in, and had a lovely bedroom/bathroom/sittingroom in the corner of the courtyard. They even tied in cleaning the room so as not to disturb the dog when we at breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindhead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We have just stayed at Monachyle Mhor for two nights on the recomendation of a friend. We couldn't bear to tear ouselves away from Scotland and it was worth the stay blow the cost. The young staff were very helpful efficient and human and took time to talk to us seniors, nothing seemed too much effort, everything was done with a smile and the client's benefit. More than a home away from home as one can take their dogs for a walk if one didn't bring one of their own. An experience to be repeated, the weather was kind too, but it wouldn't have made any difference the peace and quiet topped up our batteries and will be shared with many friends and family. Thank you one and all especially Mark one of the chefs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Imagine our delight at arriving, after traveling a narrow, serpentine road that threatened to be interminable, at this welcoming pink stone farmhouse. Hungry, car-weary and chilled by the damp, we were revived by a cheery greeting from staff, black labs and border collie ; superb soup, slabs of lightly smoked salmon and just-picked salad greens; and the warmth of a coal fire in the bar. A walk of several hours after lunch took us along a series of lochs, and brought our appetite around again. This was more than satisfied by the fresh, ample but simply prepared meal we enjoyed in the glassed-in porch overlooking the majestic scenery we had trodden that afternoon. Our rooms were cozy and well-equipped with opulent baths. Breakfast featured freshly baked bread, eggs lain by the hens we saw strutting on the lawn outside, and that smoked salmon again.
Our only quibble concerns the service. While waitstaff were friendly and solicitous, they could benefit from a bit more training. Most notably, at dinner there was a long gap between the arrival of one of our party's food and when the others were served. Also, waitstaff were not able to recommend an after dinner whiskey. Again, minor, easily remedied reservations about an otherwise splendid hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

This is a laid back place where you can take the dogs for a walk on the hills if you fancy. After building up your appetite you can satisfy it on some of the best food to be found in Scotland. Oh yes and superb views whilst you dine or take breakfast.
Bigger folk might find the smaller rooms a bit on the dinky side.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachyle Mhor

Address: Balquhidder, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balquhidder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balquhidder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Monachyle Mhor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachyle Mhor Hotel Lochearnhead
Monachyle Mhor Callander
Monachyle Mhor Balquhidder, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monachyle Mhor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.