We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Day: Could not tell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Oak Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak Tree Inn
Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Balmaha B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Busy Day: Could not tell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Myself and 7 Friends went for some dinner after a hard day's playing. Service could not have been better, considering how busy they were, our waitress ( sorry, I have no idea her name) was top notch! There was a small spill of some of our drinks, which was corrected immediatley, with a smile and some quick whit - which was very appropriate!
The food was excellant and as always, a joyful environment.
THANKS

Room Tip: They dont take bookings, but just say to them you will be coming with a big group of folk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    183
    68
    18
    14
See reviews for
73
299
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The location is amazing but when my wife and I ordered the 'original oak tree' burger the meat tasted terrible. The quality seemed as if it had come from frozen and not as they claim 'selected from local portions' unless balmaha has a branch of Iceland I don't know about! It let itself down l.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Our one night stop in Balmaha was really nice surprise! We were accomodated in one of the bungalow with en suite room. Funny enough the bathroom was nearly bigger then the room itself. So you could nearly feel lost there. But the memory mattress in the bed was just amazing! So far our best sleep in our Scottish trip. Food for dinner was delicious and chocolate fudge cake heavenly tasty. Breakfast buffet offers traditional Scottish breakfast. Only minus is the Internet connection, there was no wifi signal at all in the bungalow.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopped at Bay Cottage on the WHW and called in for evening meal preceded by some decent local beers. My brother had an enormous burger and chips and I had steak pie. All very good although have to say that at 5 restaurants in 5 days the steak pie was always a stwe with a puff pastry lid which is not a pie in my book. This was the only one I tried and it was decent enough when the dry lid soaked up some gravy. Would recommend - good location, value and service

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first stop on West Highland Way. We stayed in the bunkhouse here for 4 people with en suite. I don't remember the room number but bunkbeds are fine, sheets were freshly cleaned however bathroom was tiny. With stiff limbs from first 21 miles of WHW, moving around the tiny bathroom was a tad annoying and hot!

Had dinner in Inn - I've been a couple of times before and was great. However seemed to be a bit unlucky this time as after 45 minutes we still didn't have our dinners. Complained and eventually fed by 1.5 hours - seemed a long wait as bar was not really busy but the staff were good in explaining why it had happened (they've got a glitch in some electronic system and no charge for starters). Big portions although don't order the 'specials' macaroni - felt like it was scattered with old bacon from their breakfast service...

Sleep wasn't good here as bunkhouse walls are paper thin. Fortunately our drunken neighbours heard us moaning about the racket they were making and after that we all slept.

Breakfast - one of best of the West Highland Way. Proper porridge and good fry up. Let me tell you, you should have a good breakfast on Day 2 particularly if you planning on getting to Inverarnan!

Room Tip: Beware the paper thin walls of bunkhouse, bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at Bay Cottage B&B over the road. Visited Oak Tree Inn for a late afternoon meal. Excellent quality fare and very attentive and helpful service - especially to accommodate a dairy-free diet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are 2 adults 2 kids age 10 & 12, booked a family room and got a huge two bedroomed cottage which was lovely. We were 100 yards away from pub/restaurant so this may be a problem for people with small children who need to go to bed early. We arrived quite late at 8.30pm and did not require dinner which is just as well as they finish serving at 9 and the place was packed. We did want a drink at the bar which was very hot and had to wait a short time for a table. I think if you wanted a relaxing evening you would need to get there early to bag a space.

The rooms were lovely with coffee/tea facility and loads of space. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: The lodges are lovely if you don't mind not being in the main hotel building. Only 100 yards awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Address: Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Balmaha
Oak Tree Inn Balmaha, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.