We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Highland Way stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Tree Inn to your Saves list
Oak Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Street, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Balmaha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“West Highland Way stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in adjacent self contained cottage accommodation. Modern fresh interior with powerful shower with underfloor heating in bathroom. I suspect the earplugs were for the wildlife during the night - foxes, owls, chickens the lot - but it was good to listen to. Great self serve breakfast all food and service in bar/restaurant was great. Also free WiFi in both the main hotel bar and the cottage. In terms of the areas that could be better - we received a poor welcome at Reception, we understood the waiting list process for dinner but other people that didn't know about it and came in and sat down were made feel stupid and asked to move, the restaurant and bar area was very warm and humid lacking ventilation and finally the prices and availability of sandwiches in the shop attached was expensive and poor.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    235
    89
    22
    19
See reviews for
97
390
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my son as our first stop on the West Highland Way. It is ideally sited as you come down from Conic Hill, walk through the car park, cross the main road and there it is. The receptionist was friendly and explained that we would be staying in a room in one of their cottages just up the street, rather than in the hotel itself.
The room we had was an upstairs room and had an en-suite with bath and electric shower. The room was very clean and well finished with a TV and tea and coffee facilities. The twin beds were comfy and thankfully we didn't need to use the supplied ear plugs as there was no noise to bother us.
At night we ate in the Hotel Bar and the service again was good and friendly. The open wood burning fire was very welcoming. The food we had was prepared quickly and was good although very slightly expensive. Breakfast was again in the main hotel and was a hot buffet with cereals and fruit juices also available.
Thankfully we had dry weather and we didn't need any drying facilities so I can't comment on them.
There is general shop attached to the hotel where you can obtain a packed lunch deal if required. This is also where you find the cash machine, although you are charged for withdrawing money here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed one night as part of a party cycling the West Highland Way. Ideally situated for this. Very busy, obviously popular inn. Rooms were spotless and comfortable but we were a bit concerned when we saw the ear plugs at the side of the beds! The walls were thin , but we all had a good nights sleep. The restaurant was very busy , we found the food only average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here with a voucher, we were in the Inn itself not one of the cottages. Couldn't complain for the price I paid however I wouldn't return. The walls are really thin - nothing can be done about that but I barely slept for listening to next doors argument/tv/door slamming/...making up. The food was nice and it was lovely to sit and have a drink there - the drive on the way up was also nice. If passing for food it's definitely worth a stop but I can't recommend an overnight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just spent yet another great weekend at the Oak Tree Inn, weather could have been better, though that is out of their control, but if we couldn't get out in our boats we just stayed Inn. There is always a warm welcome here, lovely clean accommodation and great food. Can't wait to go back and see what's new.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Bought the deal via itison and upgraded to a room in one of the cottages as we required space for a travel cot for our baby.

Overall the stay was excellent. The cottage was clean, modern and warm with tea and coffee and a nice flat screen TV. The en suite was also huge, with under floor heating- lush!

We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the food was great. Reasonably priced and the service really good. My husband tried some of their own ales and was very impressed.

Breakfast was again very good, with a great choice. The waitress again, friendly and attentive.

The only issue we would raise was the fact that we had to bring our own travel cot which was a bit of an inconvenience as we already have so much when travelling with a baby. It would be nice if, like most places, the oak tree inn had some of their own to provide guests. They do cater for babies as they have high chairs and large baby changing facilities on site. We would go back if this was to change!


  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We came across this place by chance whilst on our honeymoon. We had intended to stop for a bite to eat and a quick look at the loch and to use the free wifi to look for some accomodation for that night (the final night of our trip). We had intended to travel on towards Edinburgh but the Inn was so pleasant that we decided to ask if they had a room for us. Despite asking for a standard room we were allocated a room with king size bed and living room overlooking the loch.
The location was idyllic and when we returned later for Dinner the food was supurb. We were even gifted a bottle of wine (I think this was because it was our honeymoon)
I cannot compliment the Oak Tree enough. We loved this place so much I am certain we will return for our wedding anniversary if not sooner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Address: Main Street, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Tree Inn consists of accommodation in rooms above the inn and in a series of on-site cottages. There is also a restaurant and bar, coffee shop & ice cream parlour and village shop. The Oak Tree is in Balmaha, a beautiful loch side village in Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Balmaha
Oak Tree Inn Balmaha, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.