We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmaha Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balmaha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balmaha Bunkhouse
Save
You added Balmaha Bunkhouse to your Saves list
Balmaha House | G63 Ojq, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Great relaxing stay.
Lovely friendly welcoming by debbie and will be returning very soon. Thanks again for everything.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
20
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enid, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Bob was a superb host at the Balmaha Bunkhouse. We arrived after our first day of hiking 21 miles on the West Highland Way. Bob greeted us with a warm welcoming smile. The bunkhouse is cozy, has a nice common area where we engaged in great conversation with Bob and another guest, David (a teacher from London). Breakfast was self-catering, but was a great start to another 21 mile hike for us. When I told Bob that we didn't have accommodation for the next night, he gladly offered to call the Drover's Inn for me and I was able to reserve our next night's room. Bottom line: if you are passing through Balmaha, STAY HERE, you won't be disappointed. CHEERS!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Balmaha Bunkhouse was a welcome break at the end of a very long day of Hiking. It was my Second stop along the West Highland Way. With such an accommodating staff and welcoming environment, it was no doubt the most enjoyable. The staff work hard to perfect every detail and, make the overall experience one to remember. Although it is a mile uphill from the Balmaha stop on the West Highland way, the staff is easy to contact and will come pick you up VERY quickly. Overall highly recommended and an amazing price for what your receive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

A friend and I had rented the roost for one night after walking (20 miles of) the West Highland Way (£25 each), which is a self-catering unit close to the other dorms and rooms. We had a bit of a disasterous day of walking and were completely soaked through and in low spirits. Not only did Bob raise our spirits with his friendly personality, he was kind enough to wash and dry our clothes (without charge!). The roost has everything you mights need, and we were also able to dry various items in the conservatory attached to the roost. It was so comfortable and just what we needed after the terrible day. We are very grateful to you, Bob.

Later in the trip we ended up sharing a room with a German girl who had also stayed here the week before. Her walking partner had become injured and Bob helped with the arrangements to get her back to Germany and even drove her to the pharmacy. After all this, he even refused their tip!

If you stay here, it's well worth getting the roost just to have your own space to chill out. Further, you know you are in the good hands of someone who genuinely wants to help you on your way and make your stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Get the roost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

we stayed here 2 nights and mrs redley couldnt have made us more welcome cup of tea as soon as we arrived place is spotless with everything you need great for the west highland way or for a base to tackle ben lommond prices very good for area we will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband myself and our dog stayed in a double room in the bunkhouse.It was spotless and really comfortable.The owner Bob was really helpful and there is a lovely communal sitting room and kitchen.A good stop on the west highland way and amazing views.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Great setting and good quality bunkhouse accommodation. Bob (owner) could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmaha Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmaha Bunkhouse

Address: Balmaha House | G63 Ojq, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the picturesque shores of Loch Lomond and some 5 minutes paddling to the first of many islands, you can explore castles,ancient graveyards(including the burial place of Rob Roys' cousin), local wildlife including deer,capercaillies and even wallabies,altogether making some of the most beautiful landscape in the world. Balmaha House Bunkhouse & Canoe Hire is ideal for Family get together s, Stag, Hen nights Business away days and Corporate team building events a great place to base yourself and your group in order to explore the wider area or for training events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmaha Bunkhouse Hotel Balmaha
Balmaha Bunkhouse Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmaha Bunkhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.