We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dumbain Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dumbain Farm
Save Saved
You added Dumbain Farm to your Saves list
Balloch, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G838DS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Balloch B&B and Inns
Burnley, Lancashire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Still fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Following our visit last year on our way from Lancashire up to the West Coast, we decided to stop again at Dunbain on our way to Mull. Not one to stop at the same place usually more than once, I decided to make an exception with Dunbain. And we will probably do so again and again on our way North. Eventually one day we will stop longer and explore Loch Lomond!

When booking, only the Stables was available. This is a self contained apartment with a kitchenette, double bed and sofa/telly downstairs and then a mezzanine floor with two single beds upstairs. Great for a family or anyone looking for a bit more privacy. We were told that we would get a continental breakfast instead of cooked. Initially I was disappointed at the time of booking, because I fondly remembered Sheila's delicious Scottish breakfast. However the Stables was perfect for me, my husband and our 8 month old baby. Firstly we could rest knowing that being up early wouldn't been disturbing other guests. Whilst it is attached to the house, it is a good distance from all the other rooms. We could also have an early breakfast in the comfort of our room, again without disturbing others... Or our hosts! We had plenty of bread for toast, milk, cereal, fruit, juice and yoghurts.

As ever, the decor is lovely, rooms spotlessly clean and I'm pleased to report that the shower in the Stables is brilliant! It was £80 per night for 2 (and a half) people which I thought was good value. If you are a family of 4 sharing then it is excellent value.

Thanks once again.

Room Tip: Stables is fab, especially for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MADRID
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed one night in our way to highlands. Good location, easy to find, extremely peaceful, great room (the Stable) for a family.

You must realize that it is a self service breakfast, no cooked scottish breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayed here loads of times, cannot fault the place you always get a warm welcome with a lovely tray of drink and home made shortbread, Is it the coffee or a long days work and driving that knocks me out within ten minutes ? I don't know.
A wonderful breakfast greets you in the morning, the fruit platter is too appealing it always seems a shame to spoil such a work of art ah well someone has to do it !.
Sheila and George are a lovely couple running a top knotch establishment.
Long live dumpling times too !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

3rd visit to Dumbain. The best things you could say is truly a home from home. Sheila is very attentive but not pushy or over bearing in the slightest. Stayed in the converted barn where you are provided with your self catering B&B requirements. Great for 2 adults and 2 kids (12 and 9). Peacefull and relaxing. Balloch is also a very nice place, walks along the Loch and through the park are a great way to unwind and Glasgow on the door step if you need a "City fix".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful warm welcome from Shellie and her husband. Beautiful accommodation. Personally 5* all the way. SO impressed with the first five minutes that we have already decided to book for next year. Yes you have to go trough an estate to get here but it's worth it! A pleasent walk (about 40mins - 1 hour) to the Loch where there are a selection of shops and restaurants.
The host could not do enough to make our stay magical and just can't recomend enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was in great condition and it was amusing to see sheep grazing right outside our room in the morning. Sheila was very friendly and her breakfast was delicious, high quality and had a lot of varieties. Sheila left us some shortbread for tea and even packed us some to eat on the road the day of our departure. The only downside was there was no internet access.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our second and third visits to Dumbain. Three nights on way to Inverness and one on way back home. As usual everything one could wish for.Sheila makes you feel so welcome its like returning to visit friends. See you next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dumbain Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumbain Farm

Address: Balloch, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G838DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accommodation is offered in the simple and stylish conversion of the farm outbuildings. Situated in Balloch at the foot of Loch Lomond in a quiet peaceful location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dumbain Farm Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumbain Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;