We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dumbain Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dumbain Farm
Save
You added Dumbain Farm to your Saves list
Balloch, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G838DS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Balloch B&B and Inns
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

3rd visit to Dumbain. The best things you could say is truly a home from home. Sheila is very attentive but not pushy or over bearing in the slightest. Stayed in the converted barn where you are provided with your self catering B&B requirements. Great for 2 adults and 2 kids (12 and 9). Peacefull and relaxing. Balloch is also a very nice place, walks along the Loch and through the park are a great way to unwind and Glasgow on the door step if you need a "City fix".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful warm welcome from Shellie and her husband. Beautiful accommodation. Personally 5* all the way. SO impressed with the first five minutes that we have already decided to book for next year. Yes you have to go trough an estate to get here but it's worth it! A pleasent walk (about 40mins - 1 hour) to the Loch where there are a selection of shops and restaurants.
The host could not do enough to make our stay magical and just can't recomend enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was in great condition and it was amusing to see sheep grazing right outside our room in the morning. Sheila was very friendly and her breakfast was delicious, high quality and had a lot of varieties. Sheila left us some shortbread for tea and even packed us some to eat on the road the day of our departure. The only downside was there was no internet access.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our second and third visits to Dumbain. Three nights on way to Inverness and one on way back home. As usual everything one could wish for.Sheila makes you feel so welcome its like returning to visit friends. See you next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was booked as a stop over between arriving at Glasgow Airport and getting to Oban for the ferry to the Outer Hebrides. It turned out to be a lovely way to start the holiday and would definately stay again if in the area.
Interesting arrival through an estate made me start questioning myself, but then we arrived at the farm to a very warm welcome. The room was lovely spacious and light.
Sheila was very welcoming and on learning that we had only snacked on the plane offered us tea and toast before we retired to our room.
Breakfast was lovely, with lovely fresh fruit and high qulity produce. Really enjoyed and was sad to leave and move on. Would recommend to anybody heading Loch Lomond way.

Room Tip: Make the most of breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was our third stay here and still as immaculate as ever. Sheila made us very welcome and made our stay pleasant Cant wait to go back. Our eighty year old mother didnt want to go homexx We have twice stayed in the granary(stables) and once in the bed and breakfast and found both and absolute pleasure. Balloch itself has many places to eat and just to sit at the shores and partake in a coffee makes you feel relaxed. Everytime we have stayed we have had a lovely welcome and you cant beat the shortbread scotch pancakes and cluty dumpling for my birthday which sheila provided. It was even a pleasure to meet the farm cats Candy and Treacle for the first time. The rooms were welcoming and very clean as were the bathrooms and kitchen The only complaint is that the beds are too comfy !!! We will certainly be travelling from here in wales to Balloch for the fourth time in the near future and know that we will have a factastic time in Balloch Thank you to Sheila and her husband for our wonderful stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed for short break and have no complaints at all. Had booked a double room but on arrival we were offered the stable as it was available for no extra cost which was a nice touch and the stable was lovely. Very clean and a fresh continental breakfast provided every day. Would recommend and will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dumbain Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumbain Farm

Address: Balloch, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G838DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accommodation is offered in the simple and stylish conversion of the farm outbuildings. Situated in Balloch at the foot of Loch Lomond in a quiet peaceful location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dumbain Farm Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumbain Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.