We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gowanlea Guest House

Save Saved
You added Gowanlea Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gowanlea Guest House
Drymen Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Balloch B&B and Inns
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“over night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Visited balloch 1wkend had an overnight stay real friendly welcome from the minute we arrived til we left on the Sunday the hostesses were very helpful when it ,came for us to find somewhere local to have our dinner didnt go far as it was pouring with rain in all a good nights stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
74
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Comfortable, cozy room, superb breakfast! We arrived late and had no trouble at all finding the B&B as it was a very easy drive from the Glasgow airport. Although we were only there one night it would have made a great base for a several-day stay as there is so much to see and do in the area. Lovely hosts, excellent value!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Andrea was very accommodating in letting me check in early as I had to get ready to go to a wedding. I received a very warm welcome and was shown to a lovely room which was clean and well furnished with a comfortable bed, a wardrobe and a dressing table. The bathroom was also spacious and very clean. Breakfast was fabulous and I had trouble choosing what to have as the menu is very varied and everything sounds so appealing! I would have no hesitation in recommending Gowanlea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My partner and I were looking to come over from Fife to Loch Lomond for a weekend and after checking trip advisor we decided to book the Gowanlea...and I'm so glad we did!! This is a brilliant B&B with Andrea and John being the perfect hosts, from the minute we arrived til we left we felt special. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable and I have to agree with the other reviews that the en suite was 5 star. The breakfast in the morning did not disappoint, I don't normally have breakfast but I had to make an exception for this and opted for full works...a special mention has to go to the delicious black pudding and the creamiest scrambled eggs ever! The location is great too as we were in walking distance to a few nice restaurants and pubs and also to the Loch Lomond Shores House of Frasers, which I loved!! There is also the chance to take a boat trip around the loch a couple of times a day, although I'm not sure if they still run in the winter. All in all we had a lovely stay in a great B&B at a fab location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room Was clean and comfortable, the heating in the bedroom Was good too! Good homemade breakfast with a wide range of choice. The host wasn't really helpful tough, I asked her several advices and she gave me none, luckily there Was a tourist point not far from there with some really nice people Who gave us all the help and advices we needed!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Absolutely brilliant, the rooms here are just perfect, you could not do better in a 5* star hotel!!! the cleanest and nicest guest house we have stayed in ~ and Andrea is the perfect host. A beautiful lounge for the guests too! The breakfast is to die for, (you have a great choice) ~ but opt for the 'full' !!!! Lots of places around for dinner and a few drinks too. The people here are so friendly and nice, it's a pleasure to think of returning.

Room Tip: It is so nice and quite, you are guaranteed of a good nights sleep anyway!! No need to ask for any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

From knocking on the door to leaving, this is one of the best, and friendliest guest houses we have stayed in. The rooms were spotless, very comfortable, decor excellent, en suite could not be bettered even in a 5star hotel. Breakfast was superb, you must have the full scottish,you leave very full but worth it. Hosts Andrea and John were very helpful. Overall a brilliant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gowanlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowanlea Guest House

Address: Drymen Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowanlea welcomes you to stay and enjoy the surrounding of Loch Lomond. We offer a large selection of breakfast choices from the traditional cooked to smoked salmon and my favourite pancakes, syrup and bacon. Gowanlea accepts pets on prior notice and we're happy to accommodate where we can; we look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gowanlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gowanlea Guest House Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gowanlea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.