We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gowanlea Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gowanlea Guest House to your Saves list
Gowanlea Guest House
Drymen Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Balloch B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Many thanks for an excellent stay in Balloch Andrea - as the others have said, a warm welcome, good room, great breakfast (porridge highly recommended) and good location too. Some noise from the other rooms, but otherwise a good night's sleep and quiet location whilst handy for the restaurants etc. We stayed for 4 nights (one day for a wedding) and found plenty to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
81
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Excellent guest house, friendly people. Rooms well kept, beds very comfortable and en-suites lovely and clean. Plenty of car parking space. Highly recommend you stay here, lots of choice at breakfast and it was delicious!

Room Tip: all room were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night as stopover warm welcome no problems clean rooms and bathrooms lots of attention to detail excellent breakfast can't fault it and only short walk into town for food drink but quiet location

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very nice B&B, friendly, welcoming owner, lovely and spacious rooms with plenty of storage, very comfortable bed, clean bathroom (though if you're a big person don't go for Room 2, not much room in the shower, Room 1 has a shower over the bath). Breakfast was ok, a huge choice but the pancakes were crepes and the bacon not crispy.
Situated just 15 mins walk from the pubs so nice and quiet, 5 minute walk to the supermarket, a minute from the beautiful, huge park - great place to walk the dog, go for a bike ride or just a stroll and only a couple of minutes drive to pubs, restaurants and Loch Lomond cruises.

Room Tip: If you're a big person, don't take Room 2, pretty small shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is an excellent Bed and Breakfast. The rooms were very spacious and well decorated, the landlady very friendly and the breakfast was perfect. We stayed as a family and my teenage sons thought it was wonderful. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome during our short one night stay. The room was very comfortable and we were given fabulous recommendations for local walks and food. The breakfast choice was brilliant and by far the best breakfast we had during our whole trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We went to this guesthouse based in the reviews in tripadvisor and we were not disappointed! Offered thea when we arrived. We3 had a nice family room with one double and one single bed. The bathroom was very nice (good shower and immaculate). Breakfast with lots of options so when staying more then one day you can order something else everyday. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse if your staying in Balloch. The location is a little bit away from the center but still within good walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gowanlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowanlea Guest House

Address: Drymen Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowanlea welcomes you to stay and enjoy the surrounding of Loch Lomond. We offer a large selection of breakfast choices from the traditional cooked to smoked salmon and my favourite pancakes, syrup and bacon. Gowanlea accepts pets on prior notice and we're happy to accommodate where we can; we look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gowanlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gowanlea Guest House Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gowanlea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.