We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a lot to it at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium

Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium
Ben Lomond Way | Drumkinnon Tower, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park g838ql, Scotland
+44 1389 721500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 11 things to do in Balloch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SEA LIFE Loch Lomond Aquarium is just 30 minutes from Glasgow, situated on the stunning Loch Lomond Shores. Explore an amazing underwater world and take a fascinating journey from the Loch Lomond shores to the ocean depths through 7 themed zones, including our Tropical Ocean Tunnel. Get up close to over 5000 creatures, including Scotland's only Giant Green Sea Turtle, the largest collection of sharks in Scotland and our playful family of otters. Find out how it feels to touch a starfish, crab and other creatures living in our interactive rockpool then head to our Observation Deck for unrivalled views of Loch Lomond, or relax in our welcoming cafe. With fun talks, animal feeds, special events and our quiz trail, there's plenty for everyone to enjoy at SEA LIFE Loch Lomond. The aquarium offers great fun for all the family, whatever the weather!
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“not a lot to it at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We managed to get around this place in 15mins. For the price that is very disappointing! Not a lot at all. Impressive building but I wouldn't be spending that amount of money going back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Kreo, it upsets us to read reviews like this when you have been in and out within 20 minutes. Our talks alone last for 20 minutes and we have regular ones of these (7 to be precise) throughout the day. Our conservation film in the cinema that is currently playing lasts longer than 20 minutes. It really does upset us that the effort we put in to make the customers experience as immersive as interesting as possible isn't fully utilised. We have over 30 displays with over 1000 marine creatures, and those who take the time to learn about them, and read/watch the information really do have amazing visits. Hopefully you will get the chance to visit us in the future and spend the time making the most of everything we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    97
    85
    46
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

quality has seriously slipped and offers no value for money therefore offers little to tempt families and children

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It is from constructive comments in which we can continually improve which is what we aim to continually do. Unfortunately as nothing was ellaborated on, I'm not really in a great position to comment. It is disheartening to hear that you feel we do not offer value for money. We have many promotional vouchers out there, including prebooking online and saving 30%. Those who spend a couple of minutes prior to their vist to take advantage of an offer often rate us as excellent value for money. We try to offer as much as we can to entice families including 7 different talks and feeding demonstrations throughout the day, different conservation films in our IMAX cinema, quiz trails for children and a kids activity area. If you have any constructive suggestions on what would improve your visit, we would love to hear about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointing and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

it was just not very enticing for my 8yr old grand daughter who just wanted to rush through which seemed like a waste of money

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Louise, many thanks for your review. It is from comments that we can continually improve our offering. We are sorry that your granddaughter wanted to rush through. One of the things we have is a quiz trail which if the child decides to do it is very entertaining and educational where they can spend time at the different areas. We have many different talks and feeds throughout the day, including different films being shown in our IMAX cinema. Being from Balloch it is such a shame that you have never taken up the offer with the local newspaper to receive a low price local residents pass. I hope you will take us up on the offer next time so you can visit as many times as you want for one very low price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good value at the reduced rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Being in a coach party, we got in at nearly £10 off regular admission. If I'd paid full price, I would have been disappointed with the value for money. It was, nevertheless, interesting and the cafe on the top floor gave nice views over the lake and was cheaper and less crowded than other places around Lomond Shores.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review. We hope that you enjoyed your coach trip. Indeed it is quite a tranquil cafe, and certainly offers the best views by far on Loch Lomond Shores and the local. area. If you are ever back in the area, please do pop by again to see us. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely crap, the worst sea life centre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Absolutely crap, the worst sea life centre i've ever been to, even worst than those in 3rd world country.

Waste of money & time, it will take the most only 30 mins before you find yourself bored with nothing else to see or do. It has only 1 floor of aquarium, second floor boring documentary cinema & a third floor which is only a viewing balcony.

Insincere management & service, you will felt cheated. I feel compel to give this review so that other don't fall prey to this outrageous crap.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Rob, it is very disheartening to read your recent review comparing us to be 'worse than a third world aquarium'. That is a very shocking comparison and would love to hear your reasonings!
Indeed after 30 minutes you would find yourself bored if you were not taking full advantage of the offering. We have 7 different talks and feeding demonstrations on throughout the day where you get to learn a lot more about the creatures we have here at SEA LIFE Loch Lomond. People's perspective of our documentary vary and we are sorry you find it boring, however conservation is something which we hold very close to our hearts, and we want to get that message across to people. The customers who visit us who want to learn about the work we do, and fully embrace learning about all of out creatures always return time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.