We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a first class Christmas day luncheon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat House at Cameron House

The Boat House at Cameron House
Cameron House, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8QZ, Scotland
01389755565
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boat House at Cameron House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Balloch
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Had a first class Christmas day luncheon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

From the moment we walked in the door of the Boat House, we felt right at home. The management and staff were first class and nothing was too much trouble for them. We are already thinking of returning next year. Well done

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    88
    70
    51
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague...!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

...unless you like paying top dollar for cold food, in the company of noisy misbehaving brats beating with knives on plates who are controlled neither by indulgent parents nor timid management.

I took my wife there on Saturday for our anniversary dinner. The seared swordfish I chose I had to send back twice - the same piece of fish, note - because it was unseared and cold. This meant we were badly out of sync, and I eventually ate my rechosen and warm sea bream as she stared disconsolately at her half-finished plate of indifferent and cloying gnocchi.

In between I had been informed that the chef considered the swordfish to be perfectly acceptable and at the correct temperature. Another Ramsey wannabe with delusions of grandeur, obviously.

The noisy children were chorus to our misery. We had complained politely and quietly earlier and asked the staff to intervene, but were told by the waitress that although there had been previous complaints the manager did not really want to speak to the parents. The clientele of the lochside lodges at the Cameron House complex have a lot to answer for when it comes to plummeting standards.

For the privilege of having our anniversary dinner ruined we were given 20% discount by the manager.

The Boat House is a joke, a fact confirmed by a friend and former senior manager at Cameron House over drinks the following evening. It used to be a magnificent establishment. Members at the Carrick Spa would wholeheartedly confirm that the whole De Vere management on Loch Lomondside now needs a severe and urgent boot in the haw-maws.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Such a relaxed place to eat & drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ate here a week last Sunday whilst on holiday at the Carrick. This place is so relaxed the food on offer including the Loch Fyne seafood is amazing, the beer & wine quality is what is expected from a De Vere venue not the cheapest but some of the best. We stayed here from early afternoon until about 7pm what a way to spend a Sunday afternoon hic!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great choice for unfussy food at Cameron House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We ate here during a recent stay at Cameron House. Just a short walk from the hotel and set on the edge of the loch, this place is worth considering. Really nicely decorated and the staff were great. The menu has a wide selection including pizza, pasta, seafood and burgers. I had the burger which was really tasty with perfect fat chips! If you are looking for a simple, tasty and well cooked meal, the boathouse is for you!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“relaxing,filling lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

the decor is lovely, like a new england style restaurant, light airy and cosy. We ordered far too much but ate it all as it was lovely. the scallops and chowder served in sourdough bread was great. lovely drinks and oysters also.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House at Cameron House also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to The Boat House at Cameron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House at Cameron House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.