We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time 'Caravanners' - Thumbs Up!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lomond Woods Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lomond Woods Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Tullichewan, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8QP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First Time 'Caravanners' - Thumbs Up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This short break was booked only a week or so before our arrival. Travelled with my wife and three young children and we'd never stayed together in a caravan before - we were just as excited as the kids, ... but just hid it better!
We received a warm welcome & useful information from reception. Upon entering our static caravan 'The Leven', we were very impressed. It looked almost brand new and was certainly maintained well. The heating had been switched on in advance of our arrival (February visit after all !), and the small basket of coffees / teas was a nice touch.
Never needed to use the washrooms on site as we had our own in the caravan - so can't comment there. Kids outdoor playground was basic, but better than nothing - (that's an observation not a criticism). Games Room for the kids was also basic. The first machine (air hockey) we put money into swallowed the coins but nothing happened - checked it was switched on etc, and then noticed a sign on the wall 'disclaiming ownership' of the machines to an outside contractor & absolving the campsite of any complaints. I'm guessing a few folk have lost coins here. Small point & I raised it when I checked out, but I doubt anything will change.
I feel a bit guilty complaining about the machines in the games room when we had such a good time. One other suggestion for the management though - it appeared the only waste bins were near the reception - which is some walk from some of the caravans - we were surprised that waste bins weren't situated more regularly across the site.
As I state in most reviews, in my mind it all comes down to "Would I go back?" The answer, without hesitation is a resounding Yes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Lomond Woods Holiday Park.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your first experience as a family on a caravan holiday.

We are sorry to hear you had an issue with one of the games in the games room. We would of certainly been able to give you your money back if the game was faulty and we would of also made sure an out of order sign was put on until we could get it fixed.

We do only have one main bin point on the park. We do this to encourage our customers to recylce and it prevents large bin trucks entering the park.

Customer feedback is very important and we appreciate all your comments.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    10
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Friendly welcome by receptionist, cabin warm and clean with extras to take us through our 4 night stay i.e. dish wash and wash machine tabs, tea, coffee, sugar and milk sachets. Shower was easy to use and hot, beds very comfortable, excellent value for money!! Would highly recommend eating at the Lochside and Princess Rose Cantonese...both within an easy 15minute walk. Only reason for giving a 4 instead of a 5 was a slight smell in bathroom, I think it was the musty smell of the shower curtain, around the taps needed a good clean with a toothbrush along with the pine soap dish, toothbrush holder and toilet roll holder. Harsh hole by the first two speeding humps on the way in that you should be aware of. This might be my standards but I have to stress that this did not take away from our experience at all!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lomond Woods.

We are delighted that you found our staff welcoming and the lodge very comfortable.

We continually strive to provide a high standard of cleanliness and are sorry to hear that you had a few issues in the bathroom. However, we certainly take your comments on board and will look into these.

Overall we are glad to hear that you had a good experience and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just back from a weekend break at lomond woods which was fabulous despite the wet weather. Chalet was extremely spacious, comfortable and well equipped. All staff we talked to were very welcoming and helpful.
We were worried there wouldn't be much to do but lomond shores just a 10 min walk away had plenty to see and do. Brilliant aquarium was well worth the money (make sure to get a voucher from reception for reduced price). Great play park, lovely shoreline for feeding ducks and funfair, etc for kids.
We could have picked cheaper accommodation but feel what we paid was absolutely worth it. Had extended family over for a takeaway one night and plenty room for all 6 adults and 3 kids.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Lomond Woods Holiday Park.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our pinelodge and appreciate your feedback.

Lomond Woods is ideally located for visiting Lomond Shores and we are glad to hear you made the most of the local area.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to this holiday park and unfortunatly we were rather dissapointed this time, we were not given the caravan i had stated we required when we booked but the staff who are a real credit to this park did everything possible to try and rectify this even though in the end nothing could be done. We had also booked a deluxe model this time and although it was nice i wouldnt call it deluxe, there were stains on the carpets, the shower only had one setting which was jet wash or it vibrated and banged and the kitchen had a table and chairs in it with four mismatched chairs of which one was collapsing.
Last year we booked the model below which was an endrick and it was beutiful a lot better caravan.
Our problems aside this is a lovely place which is ideally situated at the entrance to loch lomond and the shops or attractions of the nearby towns like Balloch and Dumbarton, It is also right next to the A82 which is the main route up loch lomond or down to Clydebank and Glasgow, so be aware if you get a caravan on that side of the park it can be very noisy with traffic.
All in all a nice park, very clean, well presented, nice location and the staff make you feel really welcome and even though we had a few problems this time we would still definatly return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Lomond Woods Holiday Park.

We are sorry to hear that your second visit to the park did not live up to your expectations. We do not always guarantee to be able to meet requests for specific units but we do try to accommodate guests as much as possible.

We have just updated our Lomond Deluxe caravans in the last couple of months to brand new, luxury caravans. Although the previous Lomond Deluxe caravans were a couple of years old, we are disappointed to hear that the caravan was not up to our standards of cleanliness and that you experienced some maintenance problems.

We are delighted to heard that your issues on this visit have not deterred you from returning. On your next visit, we would like to offer you one of our NEW Lomond Deluxe caravans at an Endrick price. Please contact reservations to arrange this.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Thank you so very much for a perfect holiday. Stayed six nights in one of your caravans, which was better than some expensive hotels I have stayed in. Was there with a friend and he just loved every minute. There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about Lomond Woods. For me it is just like a little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review about Lomond Woods Holiday Park.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our caravan holiday home and that it was 'perfect'. We continually strive to achieve high standards and appreciate you taking the time to tell us that Lomond Woods 'is a little peace of heaven'.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have visited this site and still love it. The pitches are a great size and well spaced from each other. The toilets and showers are clean and tidy and the twice I used them, the cleaner was there so they are well looked after. The site is really handy for walking into Balloch where there are plenty restaurants and lovely walks. Very friendly staff and certainly a site we will come back and visit time and time again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Lomond Woods Holiday Park.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have stayed with us previously. Customer satisfaction is of great importance to us and we appreciate your positive feedback on our facilities, cleanliness and customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for a week in a Firs Lodge - these are raised up, towards the back of the park. The lodge was very roomy, clean and modern. There are two bathrooms for three bedrooms. The park is well maintained and the pitches for caravans/motorhomes etc seem to have plenty of space.
A great location with a few minutes walk to Loch Lomond and slightly further into Balloch, where there is a station.There are restaurants and small supermarkets also within walking distance.
There was a problem with the electricity while we were there, but it was an electricity board fault and the ranger was very helpful. It didn't spoil our holiday and we would happily stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Lomond Woods Holiday Park.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Firs Lodge. Customer feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your visit.

We are sorry that you had an issue with your electricity during you stay but we are glad to hear that it did not spoil your holiday.

We hope to welcome you back to Lomond Woods in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lomond Woods Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Woods Holiday Park

Address: Tullichewan, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lomond Woods Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Woods Holiday Park Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomond Woods Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.