We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfern Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenfern Guest House
Save
You added Glenfern Guest House to your Saves list
2 Drumkinnon Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Balloch B&B and Inns
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very welcoming and accommodating host. Great location. Good value for money. Highly recommended. Very close to restaurants, pubs, good walks, beautiful scenery and other awesome attractions. Host is very knowledgeable about local attractions

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This guest house is perfectly located for explore the Loch Lomond and Stirling. The owners are lovely (we have loved your breakfasts, Frank!!) and the house is cosy!

Everything was perfect!

Silvia and Sergio

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This stop was en-route from Lands End to JohnO'Groats on our bicycle. All our accommodation was prearranged by Peak Tours so we did not select this B & B however we were very impressed with the location, amenities, rooms and friendliness of Frank. On arrival having ridden for approx 75 miles we were very tired and ready for a hot shower, dinner and an early night. Frank met us in the yard, took our bikes and locked them in his shed, showed us to a great room, informed us where to eat within easy walking distance, took our wet riding clothes and dried them for the following day and made sure we were connected to wi-fi. Our room was extremely comfortable, quiet which allowed us to have a good nights sleep ready for another big day on the bike. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent for cyclists and Franks knowledge of the local area and further afield was impressive. We would certainly recommend this B & B for any traveller.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Glenfern B and B offers the ideal location to explore Loch Lomond. It was the first B and B that we saw, on arriving in Balloch. Perfect as a base.

Susan and Frank made us feel really comfortable, so much so, we decided to stay extra nights. They both offer a warm and frendly service. The rooms are cosy and after an enjoyable day of sightseeing, we had no problems sleeping. In addition, Frank made sure with his exceptional local kowledge, that we were aware of the more interesting places to visit. He provided us with maps and brochures, which were so helpful.

Breakfast was enjoyed in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Others guests that we engaged in conversation, had been going there for years, which speaks volumes.The breakfast was very enjoyable and always the offer of more, if required.

This was our first experience to this part of Scotland and it won,t be our last. We wll certainly be staying at Glenfern, on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just got back from here and once again the service and welcome we got was excellent, great food, superb welcome and care, spotlessly clean. Used this as a base with friends on a motorcycle trip to see the area, We were given adice on great roads and places to visit by Frank, his local knowledge is great. Safe off road parking for our motorcycles and I would reccomend to any bikers that want to visit the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a lovely short break at Glenfern. From first contact with Frank via phone, I found him friendly and helpful with extensive knowledge of the area including the transport details from Glasgow. We were collected by car from station even though it was only a 5 minute walk!

The room was clean and spacious with good sized single beds with TV, WI-FI, toiletries and coffee/tea making facilities. A delicious full cooked breakfast and /or cereal & fruit was served between 8.30 and 9am each day.

We were also able leave our bags at the B&B after checkout to explore the country park & castle before heading back to Manchester after lunch. Will definitely return and will recommend to others looking for a comfortable, good value place to stay in Balloch

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A neat and clean B&B that we would happily use again. Frank's local knowledge made us change our plans and we're glad we did. We followed his recommendations for cycle paths, cafe's and eateries and we had a great time. A genuine, nice man and a comfy B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenfern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Guest House

Address: 2 Drumkinnon Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenfern Guest House is situated in the delightful village of Balloch, where a warm and friendly welcome awaits you from the owners, Susan and Frank Deans. Their wish- to make your stay in this beautiful spot as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. The Guest House is just a short stroll from the southern shore of Loch Lomond, in Scotland's first National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenfern Guest House Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenfern Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.